We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for the location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This was one of those "mystery" deals that turned out well. The hotel is above average - clean, quiet, nice staff, fresh apples every day. The room rate made the deal well above average. I had to extend my stay and the front desk offered me the same rate as the "mystery" rate - bonus! The location was excellent for walking - the Darling Harbour recreation zone, King Street Wharf food/drink area, the CBD and down to Circular Quay and the Rocks. Difficult to access by car given the tangle of one way streets, motorways and bridges. The hotel room was nice and quiet though. I would recommend it for city business, but not for anyone who doesn't like (or can't handle) walking hills, steps etc. Small lobby with limited seating - if you are waiting for transport/meeting. I don't think it would suit kids...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    494
    137
    34
    25
See reviews for
262
459
41
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

It was our 10th wedding aniversary, we picked up a great rate on wotif.com, the hotel is in a great location, but is actually very ordinary.

Staff were friendly enough, but did not go out of their way.

Room was tired and showing large amounts or wear and tear, with a soft upgrade things would look a lot better.

Breakfast in the resturant was excellent, the hotel was booked to capacity, items were running out and on occasion it did take time to refill the juices etc.

Check out was seemless.

The hotel is currently in our opinion an average 4 Star property but has a lot of potential with an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbour150, Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear JetVortex,

Thank you taking the time to share your experience of the hotel and congratulations on your anniversary!

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. Your comments in relation to the standard of our rooms will be taken into consideration for any future product improvement plans.

Most importantly your impression of the team as been friendly, but perhaps not taking the time to anticipate and truly create a memorable stay is one which is clearly identified as opportunity for improvement.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,

Paul Seaman
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is located within a 6minute walk to Darling Harbour (and the hop on hop off bus stop) and a 10min walk to the George Street (shopping, dining, sydney tower). If you are there over the weekend...then the weekend market can be a 20 min walk from the hotel.
The staff is helpful and the food is good too though we landed up eating more at cafes and dining places around Opera house, George Street and Darling Harbour.
The rooms are abso neat and clean and spacious enough though you have to keep in mind its not luxurious. We stayed on the 5th floor though initially we were checked in on the first floor. But we changed the room cos they were on the road, noisy and cramped.
Def recommend cos of location. We were lucky to get a great price for this kind of hotel and location.

Room Tip: do not accept rooms on 1st floor....those are right on the road and it gets noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We booked this hotel the morning that we were going to arrive with a mystery deal and got a pretty good bargain!! We arrived very early and lucky we were able to check in. I'm not sure we would have stayed here if we didn't get it at the price we did (almost half price)
Our room was lovely and tidy.
Only a few issues, the bathroom was a little bit old looking and stains on the tiles. The lift was seriously slow just after we checked in and we ended up sneaking into the service lift. We aren't to snobby so we didn't mind! We just want to enjoy the sun down at the harbor!!!
Beds were fabulously comfortable after 2 days of heavy partying - they were just what our bodies needed!! The bath tub was fantastic also- perfect length for the tall person!!
We splurged and got an in room movie (just a new release) it was slightly pricey but enjoyable all the same. We didn't use the restaurant or any of the other facilities but I'm sure that they would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Located just adjacent to Darling Harbour, this hotel is located in between a number of major roads. If your looking for a quite hotel, look somewhere else. This hotel hotel has been refurbished, but the overall standard of cleanliness and care are lacking. Its a tired Sydney hotel that does not represent what a Parkroyal use too.

However the breakfast offered a grest selection of food and beverages.

If your desperate for a central city location, just don't expect a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbour150, Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Tree 1234,

Thank you for your recent review on the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the central location of PARKROYAL Darling Harbour and our Breakfast offering.

My sincere apologies the presentation of your room did not meet the expectations of a PARKROYAL Hotel. Rest assured this is not in line with our standard and it is feedback such as yours that provides us with an opportunity to rectify such shortfalls.

Once again thankyou for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to a PARKROYAL Hotel in the future to re-affirm your confidence in our product and service.

Kind Regards,

Paul Seaman
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel has had a name change to the ParkRoyal, I think it may have been Crown Plaza. The rooms are large-ish, some with harbour views. I stayed 3 nights for a conference. The 3rd night I dined in the restaurant which serves very ggod and reasonably priced meals. The bar downstairs is a little pricy but comfortable and the staff are very pleasant. Breakfasts were of high quality ebven if the cogffee was typical of all hotels. Not great! The hotel is quiet, even though it is adjacent to main roads, and is an easy walk to Darling Harbour via elevated pedestrian bridges. Apart form a great place to access conferences, its very close to the IMAX cinema and everything else that Darling Harbour has to offer. If you're from out of town and want to stay here I suggest a GPS to find the street if you are driving yourself. Otherwiswe there's planty of taxis and they line up for you in the morning from about 6am. Thoroughly recommended for business or pleasure travellers. The parking is a bit pricey at $AUD45/per nightr but cheaper than most car parks around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room. Its a little more expensive but great views. These rooms face west so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the Parkroyal for 2 nights at the end of our Australian holiday. The room was beautifully appointed and surprisingly spacious. We also had breakfast included in our room rate; the buffet provided a broad range of hot and cold options and was very good. The hotel is well located for the amenities in Darling Harbour and Chinatown, plus lots of cheap dining options nearby. There is also a cheap laundry located around the corner from the hotel on Bathurst St.
The only issue we had was in the bathroom. The shower overflowed into the rest of the bathroom and we had to do a fair bit of mopping up when it was used. The shower is a wet room design and the lip between the shower floor and the rest of the bathroom was not sufficient to stop water from spilling over the top.
Overall would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good, reasonably priced hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.