We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe inspiring building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BLUE Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BLUE Sydney to your Saves list
BLUE Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Croyde, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A rather amazing space, by the Wooloomooloo quay, this converted wool shed is magnificent. It is a grand place to stay. The desk staff were helpful, and went beyond the call of duty to find a rental car on a busy weekend. The concierge gave us a valuable insight into whre to eat and visit.

Room Tip: This hotel offers rooms overlooking the quay, the navy yard and the street. The are priced according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
34
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Check in was slightly delayed, counter staff was polite and hospitable. Got the loft suite, spacious room with great amenities. Big bath tub with luxurious toiletries. Bed is big and comfortable with different linen and pillow to choose from upon request. There is iPad avaiable in the room and it was really informative. Hotel facilities were great, nice looking swimming pool.

Quiet and beautiful at night in the wharf, unique structure. Walkable distance to King's cross. Harry's café de wheels just beside the hotel (the pies were delicious!)

Overall a very pleasant experience. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Cnyest,

Thank you for your "beautiful" review!

I am thrilled you had a ball in Sydney whilst staying with us. The pies can be a little addictive at Harry's, we try and ration ourselves so we don't over-indulge.

I am sorry about the delay at check in, however I am pleased that the staff addressed this immediately and it did not impact on the remainder of your stay.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived late and had a few problems to begin with, but they were all resolved promptly and to our satisfaction. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it very relaxing. The hotel is quite impressive and very tastefully done. Staff were also very attentive and went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay. Our room was spacious and view was wonderful.

It's the attention to detail and personalised service that makes a 5 star hotel memorable, and Blue achieved that. I understand the hotel has recently changed hands and is undergoing refurb's, so we look forward to returning in the future to see the changes, as I'm sure it will be even more impressive.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Jsmith83,

Wow, what a review!

I am very humbled by the string of excellent reviews of late. It is very encouraging for myself and the team to know that we are heading in the right direction.

You are correct in that the hotel has recently changed ownership and management. We do indeed have an extensive refurbishment in a few months time and we do anticipate that the new product offering will certainly deliver a WOW factor.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back after this period. I look forward to also hearing your feedback on the changes then.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Its not just a hotel, its a genuine Sydney experience you MUST have. The hotel is located within a historical Sydney wharf, unlike a boring hotel building you can see anywhere in the world. We had a large west facing room overlooking Sydney City / Harbour. Immaculately clean, whisper quiet rooms, staff that couldn't do enough to help and surrounded by some of Sydney's best rated restaurants. Located 5 mins walk into the city centre or Opera House via Botanical Garden / Hyde Park. By far best value for money in Sydney 5 star hotel market.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Dousty,

Thanks for dropping by and leaving such great feedback about your stay.

Naturally I do love this type of feedback, particularly the comments about the staff. I do try and ensure that I have the right people on my team to deliver such high levels of service. I will certainly pass this feedback on to them.

I hope you do choose to stay with us again on your next Sydney escape.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a room on the west wing over looking the marina and the Sydney skyline (book that wing. East wing is not as pretty) Beautiful.
The rooms were very well appointed, quiet and comfortable. Wonderful location outside of the downtown , CBD noise and hustle & bustle. The staff were gracious, courteous, polite and helpful in every way.
Visit the Frisco hotel for dinner. Within easy walking distance. Downstairs can be off putting.
Head upstairs and sit on the balcony outdoors.

Room Tip: Book the west wing for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Rob C,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently, and also for your lovely review.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. Our location is indeed one of the main benefits we offer to our guests. A short stroll to the best that Sydney has to offer including the Botanical Gardens, Potts Point cafes and restaurants, the Opera House, Harbour and more.

I greatly appreciate the feedback on the team and their service delivery going above and beyond. We have recently had some additions to the team, and I am so proud of the high standards they are setting for our guests.

I do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fantastic venue to hold 2 days of executive meetings and a vision planning day for our team. What an amazing venue and the location was inspirational for our team. Kristy our events manger was excellent to liaise with and Reinga our host for our meeting room was exceptional, nothing was too hard to help us with, the staff were friendly and so helpful in all areas of the hotel, the rooms were luxurious. Food -5 star, coffees which is always important were perfect and choice of dinner locations was excellent. We will definitely look at booking this venue again.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel offer great views one of the navy ships or botanical gardens, city skyline a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MEJ05,

Thank you so much for choosing to have your recent event here with us. I am thrilled that all went to plan, and that the team delivered above expectations on the day.

Kristy and Ray are both such assets to the hotel. I thoroughly enjoy working with them, and it is feedback like this that reiterates the reason why I do!

I really do hope to see you again in the near future, whether it be for a work function, or a personal weekend getaway.

Thank you so much for the feedback.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a beautiful hotel. We came here on our honeymoon and what a great choice. They comped a bottle of champange and some fresh fruit which was a nice surprise. We didn't ask for anything, they just brought it up. From the first moment you walk it's stunning. Very friendly and prompt staff. We barely got out of our cab and we were already being helped with our luggage! The rooms are good sized and the view is nice. It's crazy they have ipads in every room-our only issue was that the internet was not working for us for some reason. Again, they comped us the wireless internet so we could use our phones. We used them quite a bit to look at things to do, places to go etc., otherwise it wouldn't have been a big deal to go without internet. Breakfast buffet is good in the morning, and drinks are great in the evening

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Alex H,

Congratulations on your recent wedding!

We love the fact you chose Sydney to honeymoon, and moreso that you chose to stay with us at Blue!

We certainly do have a few service stars on the team right now. I will be using this example to highlight to the whole team exactly what we strive for with every guest's stay with us.

I am truly pleased that the team were able to make such a special time for you so enjoyable. I do hope we see you again at some point in the future.

I wish you all the best for a happy life together.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property with the reliability, consistency and attentive service of a major business hotel. Each of BLUE’s 100 Guest Rooms, including 33 stunning Loft Rooms, retain the authenticity and charm of the historic wharf building while providing the latest in modern luxury and accommodations. Each room features unique characteristics of the original heritage-listed wharf, modern decor and a view of either the eclectic Woolloomooloo Bay Village or the sensational Sydney Harbour foreshores. Recent Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 9 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in Australia in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 11 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in South Pacific in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 Conde Nast UK, GOLD LIST includes BLUE Sydney - 2011 Australian Hotels Association award for Excellence – WaterBar, BLUE Sydney- 2010 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award selects BLUE as the ‘Top Hotel in Oceania’- 2010 World Travel Awards London – BLUE Sydney awarded ‘Australia’s Leading Boutique Hotel.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLUE Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.