We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BLUE Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BLUE Sydney to your Saves list
BLUE Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a room on the west wing over looking the marina and the Sydney skyline (book that wing. East wing is not as pretty) Beautiful.
The rooms were very well appointed, quiet and comfortable. Wonderful location outside of the downtown , CBD noise and hustle & bustle. The staff were gracious, courteous, polite and helpful in every way.
Visit the Frisco hotel for dinner. Within easy walking distance. Downstairs can be off putting.
Head upstairs and sit on the balcony outdoors.

Room Tip: Book the west wing for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
32
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic venue to hold 2 days of executive meetings and a vision planning day for our team. What an amazing venue and the location was inspirational for our team. Kristy our events manger was excellent to liaise with and Reinga our host for our meeting room was exceptional, nothing was too hard to help us with, the staff were friendly and so helpful in all areas of the hotel, the rooms were luxurious. Food -5 star, coffees which is always important were perfect and choice of dinner locations was excellent. We will definitely look at booking this venue again.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel offer great views one of the navy ships or botanical gardens, city skyline a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a beautiful hotel. We came here on our honeymoon and what a great choice. They comped a bottle of champange and some fresh fruit which was a nice surprise. We didn't ask for anything, they just brought it up. From the first moment you walk it's stunning. Very friendly and prompt staff. We barely got out of our cab and we were already being helped with our luggage! The rooms are good sized and the view is nice. It's crazy they have ipads in every room-our only issue was that the internet was not working for us for some reason. Again, they comped us the wireless internet so we could use our phones. We used them quite a bit to look at things to do, places to go etc., otherwise it wouldn't have been a big deal to go without internet. Breakfast buffet is good in the morning, and drinks are great in the evening

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alex H,

Congratulations on your recent wedding!

We love the fact you chose Sydney to honeymoon, and moreso that you chose to stay with us at Blue!

We certainly do have a few service stars on the team right now. I will be using this example to highlight to the whole team exactly what we strive for with every guest's stay with us.

I am truly pleased that the team were able to make such a special time for you so enjoyable. I do hope we see you again at some point in the future.

I wish you all the best for a happy life together.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

GEE WHIZ!
I must say, I didn't have many expectations of this hotel after hearing a few mixed reviews however!! I was extremely surprised with what turned out to be an amazing Sydney escape.
The staff are incredible... from the moment I hopped out of my cab I was greeted by the most Charming gentleman, he grabbed our bags and swiftly escorted me to reception.
The Hotel is Uber cool 'warehouse' style.
The Pier which the hotel is nestled on is home to some of Sydney's best restaurants, China Doll is a must!
I found out during the stay that the hotel was under new management, this makes sense as you can really tell they are making some changes to what use to be a standard hotel.

The only feed back or criticism I would give them is that the room was a little tired.

If you want somewhere that is super cool, best location and super model staff STAY BLUE.

Thanks Guys I will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear happyaddy,

Thanks for this awesome review!

I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us at Blue. Thank you so much for mentioning the team. The hotel is indeed under new management and there are a lot of fresh faces. I will share this feedback with them to highlight the great work they are doing.

if you love the hotel now, wait until we refurbish in a few months! It is going to be pretty A-mazing indeed!!

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are back in town.

Until then, take care.

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean, comfy and quiet at night! Didn't hear a thing which is unusual for me . Really awesome place, great staff and in a lovely spot on the water with restaurants and cafés below highly recommend! And would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Anna D,

Thanks for the awesome review, and also for choosing to stay with us at Blue. I am thrilled you had such a great stay and a peaceful night's sleep.

I will pass on to the team the great feedback about them too. We love hearing that from our guests!

I do hope to see you again soon in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start by saying the staff at BLUE Sydney were very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early, expecting to have to leave our bags and come back later when check-in opened but a room was available and they were happy to check us in straight away. I would say that ear pieces and radios they are forced to use are a bit ridiculous - so pretentious and unnecessary! You'd think they were in the secret service!

The communal areas and the building itself are amazing. The bar, breakfast area, and reception really are exceptional - spacious, modern, tastefully designed. Very cool. We thought it was a real shame that these spaces don't seem to be utilised to the fullest. We stayed Sunday to Thursday and the bar was only open to people who had pre-booked afternoon tea. They have a fabulous bar that they never use! It could easily be a local hot spot given the number of great restaurants located on the wharf. On the day we arrived the weather was terrible so we wanted to spend time at the hotel planning our itinerary for the next day and as wifi is free in the communal areas we thought we'd head to the bar, have a coffee etc but that was not possible. I've never stayed in a hotel of this size, in a major city that doesn't have the facilities to offer guests drinks, tea, coffee, light bites etc at all times of the day. The lady at reception did say she would make us some tea if we wanted it but it wasn't something they usually offer. We felt a bit uncomfortable and went back to our room instead.

Unfortunately the rooms are really shabby. We stayed in one of the loft suites. It was very spacious and well appointed but it was tired and in real need of refurbishment or at the very least a deep clean! The furniture was a bit worn out and tatty. The window sills were really dusty, the walls were marked by the window shutters and the shower was really grubby (see photos). It just isn't good enough for a hotel calling itself a "luxury boutique hotel". The iPad in the room is a very nice touch and very useful. It was a bit annoying that you couldn't switch it off though as the screen light stayed on continuously.

Wifi on the iPad is free in the rooms but you have to pay if you want to use your own devices in your room. (It is free in the communal areas though.)

I believe this hotel has recently been sold and taken over by a new company. I hope they plan to spend some money on improving the rooms. We would not stay here again if improvements were not made.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate. We had breakfast here once during our stay and it was very good. No complaints.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for your review of Blue, and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent Sydney visit.

I am very pleased that the staff all looked after your needs and that you found the property well laid out and impressive.

I am sorry to hear about the areas though that disappointed you. I will be addressing this with the team.

You are correct in that the hotel has recently been sold. Ovolo took over in November and I have come on board as General Manager for the new phase of the property. The company will indeed be under-going a significant refurbishment of all rooms and common area spaces in a couple of months. After this the hotel will trade under the Ovolo name. Those familiar with the brand know that means a lot of inclusions for ALL guests included in your one room rate. These include Wi Fi, breakfast, mini bar, happy hour, self-laundry, 24 hour gym and more!

I do hope to see you again in the future after these changes when hopefully your negative views of the hotel can be turned around.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Book a Junior suit facing the pier, it has a nice view of Sydney skyline in the evening. The hotel is build on a wharf so it a different experience from the rest of the city hotel. Location is at woolloomooloo so it a short walk across the park to hit city center. Excellent start point for jogging across the national park to hit Sydney bridge and back.

Room Tip: Please choose the pier side room and junior suite is very cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nicholas T,

Thank you for choosing Blue for your Sydney base recently. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time.

To clarify for other travellers, I do believe it is the Marina rooms that you are referring to. These are the ones that face the city skyline.

The Woolloomooloo Wharf is the longest wooden structure in the world, and it actually turns 100 years old this year. A very fitting time for a facelift to the hotel to inject some fresh life into her bones!

I do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property with the reliability, consistency and attentive service of a major business hotel. Each of BLUE’s 100 Guest Rooms, including 33 stunning Loft Rooms, retain the authenticity and charm of the historic wharf building while providing the latest in modern luxury and accommodations. Each room features unique characteristics of the original heritage-listed wharf, modern decor and a view of either the eclectic Woolloomooloo Bay Village or the sensational Sydney Harbour foreshores. Recent Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 9 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in Australia in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 11 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in South Pacific in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 Conde Nast UK, GOLD LIST includes BLUE Sydney - 2011 Australian Hotels Association award for Excellence – WaterBar, BLUE Sydney- 2010 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award selects BLUE as the ‘Top Hotel in Oceania’- 2010 World Travel Awards London – BLUE Sydney awarded ‘Australia’s Leading Boutique Hotel.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLUE Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.