We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of our 3 week Honeymoon in Australia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BLUE Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BLUE Sydney to your Saves list
BLUE Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Stoke- on- Trent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Part of our 3 week Honeymoon in Australia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We had a loft suite wow very nice and very clean. The hotel is amazing on the whole. Reception and door staff very friendly and helpful. Good customer service. One little comment we had breakfast included which was a good breakfast but the staff weren't that helpful on the first morning and we were not sure what to do or where anything was. However would recommend and would stay again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
23
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Oaks NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Blue Sydney for our 10th wedding anniversary and we could not be happier. From the second we pulled up at the wharf we were greeted with smiles and offers of assistance and our check in was a breeze. The room we stayed in was divine and the view was spectacular. I cannot compliment the staff enough on their friendly attitude as we made our way around the hotel. From the reception staff to the housekeeping staff, we could not fault them. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location is fantastic. My husband and I walked into the city for the day and came back to relax in the comfort of our room before heading out for dinner. Our room was more than just a place to sleep. I also want to add that the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Thank you Blue Hotel Sydney for making our anniversary special.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our experience here was an absolute delight!
From the call to ask if we could leave our bags as we were early and were told our room was ready and we could check in. Discovering I had left my phone in the car that had been valet parked, it appeared in about 5 minutes with a smile. The front desk staff are excellent, the porters really helpful and friendly and the rooms and facilities made our anniversary weekend away a totally great event.
Thank you to you all you and your hotel is a great place to be.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lynne L,

Thank you so very much for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted that Blue was able to make your anniversary visit so special.

I greatly appreciate the wonderful comments regarding the staff, and will be sure to pass this on congratulate them on a job well done!

I hope we can see you in a year's time for your next celebration.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

keep coming back to this hotel, the rooms are really nice and modern. Always super clean, location is great. What sets this hoe apart is the great service from all staff. Always feel very welcome every time I come to Sydney on business

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Lollipops83,

As a repeat guest I truly appreciate your continued patronage, and your efforts to post this lovely review.

It delights me when I hear this type of feedback. Not so much about the property, but moreso about the staff. I truly believe it is the team that make the difference to most guest's stay.

I will be sure to share this with them, and thank them for their consistently good service delivery.

See you next time!

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I recently stayed at this beautiful hotel, located on the historic pier in woolloomoolo wharf. I flew in from New York City and had a wonderful check-in experience after 24 hours of travel. My room was immediately ready and had a lovely view of the harbor and botanical garden. All dining experiences on site were fantastic. I especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the service staff were very friendly. The location was perfect for easy access to all CBD functions and tourist attractions alike.mAs an American that travels quite frequently (both domestic and international), I'd highly recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues. It's obvious this place is quite well-run. Great job, BLUE!

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you for your 'Perfect' review!

The team and I love hearing this type of feedback, as this is what we set out to deliver to all guests on a daily basis. It also means a lot coming from such a seasoned traveller such as yourself also. Traveling often myself, I know it can become hard to make a 'wow' impact after you have stayed in so many strange beds around the world.

I hope you had a lovely time in Sydney. I hope that we are able to welcome you back again to Blue at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennant Hills, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a room with a view over the water where the navy ships dock, the room was quite large, especially the batroom and was very comfortable with good amenities including an iPad which contained details about the hotel. Excellent location if you like a walk around to the Botanical Gardens, Art Gallery and Mrs Macquarie's Chair. Lots of historical information to read about the original purpose of the Finger Wharf. There's plenty of good restaurants to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner and to suit all budgets. All in all a good experience and looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Gordonn526,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent Blue experience. I really appreciate you taking the time to do so.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, the spacious rooms and great restaurants on our doorstep.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really nice to be near the botanic gardens. Pleasant walk to the opera house. Rooms comfortable. Appreciate that rooms and entry included parts of original structure the building.
Interested to see what the forthcoming refit will be like.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Linbinpin,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

Our location certainly is a most convenient one as a base for anyone's Sydney visit. Just a short stroll to the CBD, Circular Quay, Potts Point and more.....and with some of Australia's best restaurants on our doorstep too!

Our upcoming renovation will be something quite special. It will be very modern yet incorporating the heritage features into the rooms and public spaces. I must say we are very excited about it.

I do hope you come back after that to experience the changes for yourself.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property with the reliability, consistency and attentive service of a major business hotel. Each of BLUE’s 100 Guest Rooms, including 33 stunning Loft Rooms, retain the authenticity and charm of the historic wharf building while providing the latest in modern luxury and accommodations. Each room features unique characteristics of the original heritage-listed wharf, modern decor and a view of either the eclectic Woolloomooloo Bay Village or the sensational Sydney Harbour foreshores. Recent Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 9 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in Australia in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 11 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in South Pacific in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 Conde Nast UK, GOLD LIST includes BLUE Sydney - 2011 Australian Hotels Association award for Excellence – WaterBar, BLUE Sydney- 2010 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award selects BLUE as the ‘Top Hotel in Oceania’- 2010 World Travel Awards London – BLUE Sydney awarded ‘Australia’s Leading Boutique Hotel.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLUE Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.