We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clever Conversion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BLUE Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BLUE Sydney to your Saves list
BLUE Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clever Conversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed a 4 night break from pre-Christmas madness here. The room was well appointed and beds comfortable, the bathroom huge with separate big bath and shower. Walking distance from Potts Point, the Opera House and with bus access to Central station and Circular Quay. Next to Naval base so an interesting side show of shipping and a vast array of high end restaurants along the wharf made to a fun few days.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are quieter when functions are underway. Probably not suitable for disabled or el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having recently experienced Blue Hotel for several nights, we are switching from our usual 4.5 star CBD lodgings and making Blue Hotel our preferred accommodation supplier for all Sydney business travel. The rooms are large, quiet and contemporary. The staff were friendly and supportive and, with so many great restaurants nearby, the Woolloomooloo location served us well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A hotel this excellent is definitely worth recommending to friends and business associates.

T Barrot, Concept Logistics (Australia) Pty Ltd

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked a last minute deal through an online service, calling hotel directly did not yield a cheaper price. Reception Staff also gave misinformation about breakfast, we were informed the hotel does not do breakfast yet it is there in the hotel restaurant.

We booked the deluxe pier view loft, and the room itself is quite large with two separate living areas and a second toilet.
The Bathroom however is not, in fact very squashy, and i would not like to attempt a shower if I were over 6 foot, the ceiling is that low.

The view out of our Window gave straight on to Harrys Cafe De Wheels, and the service station in Woolloomooloo, so 'pier view' was a bit of a stretch. However, the location itself was great for our purposes, and it is a quick walk into the city, Mrs Macquarie chair, Botanical Gardens and the Opera House.

Downstairs from the hotel, on the pier are many classy restaurants teeming with people, yet none of this can be heard from inside your room. These provide good lunch and dining options if the hotel restaurant doesn't take your fancy.

Staff were helpful, and courteous. Room was clean and tidy, common areas also clean and tidy.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location within walking distance of the city, the harbour, botanic gardens and Kings Cross. Fantastic views back over the city from the one side of the hotel. The rooms are large and well equipped. Service was good. The pool and gym are nice - once you've found them (no signs!). Gripes? No free WIFI in the rooms - whilst there is supposed to be free WIFI in reception it was really poor......the only other thing lacking really is any outdoor space, however there are plenty of good restaurants on the wharf right outside and you are on the edge of the botanic gardens.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent overall and particularly perfect service from the staff
Special mention for Karen and Billy, there are exceptionnal
Remark made by specialists, wiife Former Program Director In Lausanne Hotel School,
Husband CEO of a private Hospital in Switzerland with over 600 staff members
I would have hired them with no hesitation
m.walther@lasource.ch
Bad remark : No free WiFi in rooms

Room Tip: On the water and view of the boats, and city central
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Michel W,

Thank you for you lovely email and this review following your recent stay with us at Blue.

With all due respect - I am glad you are not in Australia - I don't want to lose Billy or Karen!

As I stated, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your Blue experience. I hope we are able to look after you again some time in the not-too-distant future.

In regards to the Wi Fi....watch this space!

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Blu by accident and what a lucky accident it was. Maybe it is slightly away from the Sydney center but the rooms could not be nicer---modern, large, great amenities. The renovation of the old wharf is spectacular and the service impeccable. if your plans take you to Sydney, you cannot do better than the Blu

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Frank R,

Thank you so much for your review pertaining to your recent 'unexpected' stay. I am delighted that you were greatly pleased with our beautiful property.

Whilst the hotel is still indeed very nice, it will become AMAZING next year once our multi-million dollar refurbishment is complete.

I hope you can visit us after this and see what an awesome property we will become with great inclusions for all guests and extra services on offer.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

stayed here for a 4 day business trip to Sydney and I would stay here again, the rooms were spacious and clean with huge bed and good facilities. The main plus point is the location and the resteraunts that run down the side of the hotel, wonderful food and a great atmosphere. I didn't like the charge for wifi and the shower did leak all over the bathroom floor but those are my only 2 complaints. Overall a nice hotel, the room was cleaned spotlessly every day and I had a comfortable stay,

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam T, General Manager at BLUE Sydney, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Kay009,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Blue whilst visiting the Harbour City.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the location of the property - we love it too! I agree the rooms are a generous size, and the view from the Marina View rooms I think are definitely upgrading to.

I am sorry about the leaking shower, I hope we were able to resolve this for you if reported.

Next year will see the property undergo a multi-dollar refurbishment that is going to be very different and very exciting. I do hope you are able to visit us after this transformation.

Sincerely,

Adam Taloni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property with the reliability, consistency and attentive service of a major business hotel. Each of BLUE’s 100 Guest Rooms, including 33 stunning Loft Rooms, retain the authenticity and charm of the historic wharf building while providing the latest in modern luxury and accommodations. Each room features unique characteristics of the original heritage-listed wharf, modern decor and a view of either the eclectic Woolloomooloo Bay Village or the sensational Sydney Harbour foreshores. Recent Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 9 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in Australia in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 11 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in South Pacific in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 Conde Nast UK, GOLD LIST includes BLUE Sydney - 2011 Australian Hotels Association award for Excellence – WaterBar, BLUE Sydney- 2010 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award selects BLUE as the ‘Top Hotel in Oceania’- 2010 World Travel Awards London – BLUE Sydney awarded ‘Australia’s Leading Boutique Hotel.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLUE Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.