We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BLUE Sydney

Save Saved
You added BLUE Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BLUE Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient for what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Taj Blue initially because our son returned to Garden Island last Saturday. Whilst we expecting a good hotel, we found it to be better than we thought. We had a loft suite which meant the bedroom was upstairs and the living area downstairs. This configuration gave at least the impression we were in a room larger than it actually was.

It was an easy 15 minute walk to Martin Place through the domain - not for everyone but relaxing for us anyway.If you are at least a little fit, the out of the CBD location shouldn't worry you.

Only one downside - but common to just about any hotel nowdays - is the hold on a credit card for payment. Fair enough that a hotel holds an amount to cover anything taken from the minbar or damage to the room, but it is now 5 working days and no release of the money. We are easily able to cover $100 but surely if a minibar item was taken it would have been noticed the morning of checkout. Similarly if we had trashed a room it would be immediately noticable. 2 working days SHOULD be adequate. It was at the last place I stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    193
    61
    26
    16
See reviews for
71
253
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriends for a hens weekend. The layout of our loft apartments was fantastic. The downstairs sitting area and powder room were great and the view was beautiful. It was great having the iPads that were provided to search where to have brunch etc.

We used the indoor pool and the water temperature was far too low, after shivering for 5 minutes we all got out and used the spa instead.

The restaurants in the complex were amazing, we had dinner at Otto's and it was one of the best dining experiences that I've ever had!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just finished a weekend at this hotel, very pleased to have chosen this place. The staff were very welcoming, professional and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms we more then expected clean with all lovely touches. We had not included breakfast however decided to try the buffet, which was beautiful. This will now become our Sydney hotel of choice. Thanks to all for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This beautiful iconic building makes you feel special from the moment you pull up. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with outstanding views from the windows. The pool, although a bit difficult to find is worth the effort, the gym well equipped and always plenty of clean towels and toiletries to hand. There's a wonderful atmosphere in the cleverly designed building and you never feel far away from the original use of the warehouse. The meals that we took in our rooms, breakfast and dinner were excellent value and for a special occasion the many restaurants situated along the pier can be recommended, especially against the backdrop of the Sydney skyline.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is really nice. Great restaurants are located in the same building on the waterfront including modern Italian cuisine in Otto and China Doll.

The boring stuff you expect from a chain hotel including stack of Taj Hotels books and offers in your room, even on your pillow. Building and location are with great potential, yet hotel now feels rundown by new management. City have just seen openings of few new exciting hotels, in light of these news BLUE did not feel special anymore.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel when I was visiting Sydney for work and we held a function here. The staff were very helpful, the building is amazing, our room was nice, and the location is great if you want to be close to the city but not right in the heart of it. The botanical gardens are nearby if you want somewhere to exercise during your stay. The hotel also has a gym and small indoor pool. We ate at The Larder restaurant on the outside of the building and the food was excellent. I have heard that China Doll is also a great choice. For breakfast the hotel only offered a buffet so I chose to walk across the road to Sienna Marina café and it was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As described in most other reviews, the hotel is located in an iconic building in Woolloomooloo, making the access to the key areas of Sydney very convenient (walking distance to the Botanical Gardens and the Opera House, 30min by taxi from the airport and 20min from Bondi).

The building however is not very functional: when we arrived and most of the rest of our stay the lobby was freezing cold (there is no heating); lifts are extremely slow, the gym and the swimming pool (small and not well kept) are in a remote and not easily accessible part of the hotel. Breakfast is served in a dark and cold part of the building and is pretty average in terms of quality and variety.

The performance of the staff throughout the 5 days we stayed there was shockingly poor: it was so bad that it looked like the hotel was run by a group of summer interns from a hospitality management school. We asked for suggestions on places around the hotel and often the staff member had to ask others as he/she had no idea. On a few occasions we asked to check for things and call us back and we were not called back but had to go to the front desk. When I complained on the fact that the room's beds were small and we wanted to change room I received a "That's the room you booked sir".

For these rates and for being part of the Taj group, it was overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BLUE Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLUE Sydney

Address: 6 Cowper Wharf Rd, The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly W Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Business Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — BLUE Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique property with the reliability, consistency and attentive service of a major business hotel. Each of BLUE’s 100 Guest Rooms, including 33 stunning Loft Rooms, retain the authenticity and charm of the historic wharf building while providing the latest in modern luxury and accommodations. Each room features unique characteristics of the original heritage-listed wharf, modern decor and a view of either the eclectic Woolloomooloo Bay Village or the sensational Sydney Harbour foreshores. Recent Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 9 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in Australia in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 BLUE Sydney features at No. 11 in the Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in South Pacific in the TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards- 2012 Conde Nast UK, GOLD LIST includes BLUE Sydney - 2011 Australian Hotels Association award for Excellence – WaterBar, BLUE Sydney- 2010 Conde Nast Readers Choice Award selects BLUE as the ‘Top Hotel in Oceania’- 2010 World Travel Awards London – BLUE Sydney awarded ‘Australia’s Leading Boutique Hotel.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BLUE Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Blue Hotel
w Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BLUE Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.