We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Court Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Court Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Victoria Court Hotel Sydney
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   122 Victoria St., Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redland City, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good boutique B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A way down Victoria Street, away from the decay of Kings Cross, is this charming boutique B&B hotel. It was within easy walking of distance of the Art Gallery - our purpose was to see the Archibald Prize and also it is only a short walk to Elizabeth Bay House and Harry's Cafe de Wheels. Staff were attentive to our needs and the included breakfast was sufficient to start the day off. High ceilinged rooms with a comfortable king bed were well maintained and adequate for our needs. Car parking is on a first come basis and is quite secure. We enjoyed an afternoon wine in the conservatory and also being able to use a very comfortable lounge to sit and read in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    112
    33
    16
    5
See reviews for
18
150
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had our 2nd stay here six months after the first. We asked for a quiet room and were given No 6, at the back, up a few levels of stairs! This suited us fine as Victoria Street seems to go to bed late and gets up early (on the border of Kings Cross)!

The room was adequate, all the usual facilities and a comfortable king bed (2 singles together?) but, like the rest of this small hotel, is now in need of some TLC.

The Manager, as usual, was more than helpful and did explain that renovations were currently being carried out, hence the explanation for the slight smell of paint along the stairs.

The continental breakfast was plentiful and varied and set in their charming conservatory which, at one end, is open to the elements and would probably be cold on a winter morning.

The hotel is close to Kings Cross station (5 - 10 minutes) and to the two sets of steps down to Woolloomooloo (Sp?) giving access to the walk across the Botanic Gardens, NSW Art Gallery, Opera House etc. The other way goes past the DOV cafe/restaurant (see my review), some lively backpacker lodges (and the occasional property with an interesting red light outside!!) and leads to the vices (and virtues) of the Cross.

Its pricing is also very good value considering its position (we got the same deal direct with the hotel as with the agents)

Room Tip: Any of the upper rooms at the back (we had Number 6 at the top)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We love this hotel. Stayed here 11 years ago and were greeted by the same man, Hans, that we met the first time!
The rooms are small but cosy. Tea making facilities and free safe. Nice TV and good A/C. Small shower and toilet en suite but adequate. 2 chairs, desk and bedside cabinet. Had a room at the back which was very quiet. Front facing rooms can be noisy at night. WiFi has to be paid for.
Continental style breakfast was fine and you could help yourself to as much as you wanted.
Staff were excellent and informative.
Excellent location. Lots of little restaurants in Victoria Street. Metro only a few minutes. Lovely walk to Botanical Gardens via the steps. Also Circular Quay is within walking distance although would recommend getting the metro back. Big supermarket just up the road and plenty of bars.
Hotel will arrange transport to airport as there are good shuttle services operating. Note that it can take about 60 mins during the day due to heavy traffic.
Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room for quiet or front room with balcony if you like to watch the student life outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subiaco, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria Court Hotel in Sydney for 4 nights at the start of April. We arrived in Sydney early in the morning and the staff kindly said they would look after our bags and put them in our room when it was ready. They also let us freshen up after our flight before we went out to do some sightseeing (much appreciated). We had a small but functional and clean economy room overlooking the courtyard where breakfast was served so we never had an issues with noise.The continental breakfast served in the courtyard was basic but good. The location was great for us as we don't mind walking. In fact, our morning walk was one of the most enjoyable parts of our stay - through the Royal Botanic Gardens with great views of Sydney Harbour along the way! A pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel reminded me of the small hotels you find in central locations in Paris. It was in a good location and we were fortunate enough to have a bedroom with a balcony looking out over a quiet leafy road during the day but a bit noisier at night. However as it was on the top floor (3rd) with the only access being by very steep stairs (no lift) it certainly kept you fit. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our bags were carried up by hand. On leaving we managed to haul them down the stairs ourselves. Breakfast was served in a small courtyard, it was adequate. All in all the hotel was pretty battered and worn but we had an enjoyable stay and the manager couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: We had to pay extra for a twin room, so if you want one be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at Victoria Court in April 2013. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped, the showers room was small but functional and clean.
The area is a bit noisy, especially on Saturday night, but the double balcony doors on our street facing room kept us quiet.
All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed for two nights late February.
Room size was fine but bathroom was very small and whilst I have come accross smaller bathrooms (IBIS Singapore) it was basically falling to pieces with shoddy patch ups.
The bed was very uncomfortable, a memory foam topper would help with this.
Management need to wake up and include internet in the price as it is a must for travellers and if you wanted it here the price was way too high.
Breakfast was as others have described, basic but when all said and done was adequate to give you a start to the day.
Unfortunately in the final analysis the bed and bathroom are the two most important things and neither were up to scratch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Court Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court Hotel Sydney

Address: 122 Victoria St., Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Court Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Court Hotel - a small historic boutique hotel - whose charming terrace house dates to 1881, is centrally located on quiet, leafy Victoria Street in elegant Potts Point; the ideal base from which to explore or do business in Sydney. It is within minutes of the Opera House, the Central Business District, Oxford Street and beaches. Many of Sydney's finest restaurants are within walking distance. Friendly and personalised service is offered in an informal atmosphere and amidst Victorian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Court Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Court Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.