We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well run, nice location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Court Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Victoria Court Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Court Hotel Sydney
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   122 Victoria St., Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Sydney B&B and Inns
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“well run, nice location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

nice location though the tourist buses call Kings Cross "the red light district". It's actually a charming neighborhood. Very well run B&B with friendly staff. My room and bathroom was smallish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    85
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
14
111
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.
Room is spacious and clean
Location is good - withing easy access to all sightseeings
Breakfast is very basic - but bonus taking into consideration room price
Staff isvery helpfull
Good value For money
Will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I am a travel agent and have traveled extensively for many years...this is one of my favorite homes away from home! Location, ambiance, friendliness, price, comfort...Vistoria Court has it all. You will have only one regret; that you have to leave so soon.

Room Tip: don't miss a stroll through the park to the Botanical Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

my wife and i stay for 3 night during our trip to australia. this is the first time we are in this country and the staff is very helpful and give us information about the city and good restorant not far away.

the room is clean and lovely and we have peaceful rest. the location is very good and still quiet. next year we come again with our daughter and her husband.

we like the old world atmosfere at the hotel, like 100 year ago. we like walking around all day long.

thank you for a wonderful time and see you next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. We stayed there for a week on our honeymoon. Good location and comfortable for us to go sightseeing, shopping and dining. Many restaurants throughout the neighbour hood.

The room was clean and staff very good. Good sleep in a quiet room. The red Bus is near.

Rates are very reasonable and the room comfortable and clean. This is great for those who want a good location and cosy hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Victoria Court in Sydney and we would go back again and again. It is so convenient to public transportation - the train station is just a few minutes away, or you can turn right out of the hotel, walk down the street and find a huge flight of stairs which takes you immediately to the harbor area and the Central Quay. Of course you do have to walk by the Australian Navy, but they won't bother you if you don't bother them. By taking this route you also walk smack dab into Harry's Pies on wheels, a Sydney landmark. Just a few minutes further and you are in the Domain and onwards to views of the Harbor, the bridge, and the famous opera house all the while walking through the Sydney arboretum. But I digress, the Victoria is a three storey building, and as its name suggests is Victorian by design. The street is quiet, has a number of small restaurants and convenience stores, and enormous sycamores loom on every corner. These trees are frequented by flocks of sulphur crested cockatoos. Just one block away is a hub of stores and restaurants The rooms are well appointed, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet is good. No cooked food, but certainly more than adequate. One small down is that there isn't an elevator and if your room is on the third floor the stairs can prove challenging after a day out sightseeing. The staff are very obliging and will take your cases up and down for you. In all, we wouldn't stay anywhere else, this hotel has charm.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter of course, better views are in the front, but remember this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Victoria Court for two nights in May and had a really nice time. The staff is extremely friendly, we were given a nice welcome when we arrived, and our bags were carried up the stairs for us as we were on the second floor! Great value for a hotel in Sydney. Our stay included breakfast which was nice - a variety of cereals, juices, fruit, toast. Our room was supposed to have just a double bed, but we got upgraded to a king, which was a really nice surprise! The location was amazing - just up the street from Kings Cross Station. A few reviews remark upon the neighborhood, but in my opinion it was very safe. And if you're staying with young kids and don't want to pass by the few shops with "adult themes" just exit the station through the Victoria Road exit. The hotel is on Victoria Street after all, which is a quite beautiful street. We very much enjoyed our stay there and will definitely be staying there again if we get to privilege to visit Sydney in future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Court Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Court Hotel Sydney

Address: 122 Victoria St., Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Court Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Court Hotel - a small historic boutique hotel - whose charming terrace house dates to 1881, is centrally located on quiet, leafy Victoria Street in elegant Potts Point; the ideal base from which to explore or do business in Sydney. It is within minutes of the Opera House, the Central Business District, Oxford Street and beaches. Many of Sydney's finest restaurants are within walking distance. Friendly and personalised service is offered in an informal atmosphere and amidst Victorian charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Victoria Court Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Court Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.