We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Read the TA reviews and booked Simpsons way back in early 2013 for our Sydney stay for Ashes. We had the Albert Room and were very pleased indeed. Lovely large comfortable room and one of best comfy hotel beds ever we've slept in. Damian, Ree, Keith & Maria were so lovely & helpful. We had a great crack with them all as we had our little pal Botts in tow who was also staying at Simpsons. We certainly had fun over a delicious breakfast which set us up for the day. So nice to stay in a beautiful home full of character & charm as opposed to a sterile business style hotel.
Loved Potts Point as a location , great eateries and very alive . Easy access to CBD & Wooloomooloo short walk away .
Any downsides - only one - will be a few years before we are back !!
Tks for looking after us so well Simpsons

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We well remember this great couple who were here for the Ashes! What fun we had with them and their friend, with great banter at breakfast !

"Simpsons" can be a good place to meet fellow travellers, and we know of several friendships that were made over breakfast in the Conservatory, or a glass of port in the lounge! It is just that sort of place!

Thanks for the Review!

Cheers....Keith and the "Simpsons" gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    139
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
478
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Simpsons over the Sydney new year period and had a fantastic time. We arrived early in the day hoping simply to drop our luggage off but were welcomed and told our room was ready early which was great news as we were in need of a sleep after an early flight. The room was clean, light and well maintained with a comfy bed and powerful aircon. The daily breakfast was more than we expected and beats the average continental style offering. The staff were friendly and helpful and the house itself full of character and history. We also enjoyed the location, walking distance from circular quay and close to train links via kings cross. We will definitely plan to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Those magic words to an Innkeeper's ear ! ......"Will definitely stay again" .....

It is a great compliment to us when guests return, and comforting to know that they genuinely enjoyed their time at "Simpsons" !

And Marie is especially that they found our healthy breakfast buffet surpassed their expectations!

Thanks again for taking the time to review us. Much appreciated.

Cheers....Keith and the "Simpsons" gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

An absolutely charming hotel in a vintage home overflowing with the smell of fresh lilies. You can relax in the leather coach with a glass of port. The abundant breakfast buffet in the sunroom is wonderful. The hotel is in a trendy neighborhood with upscale restaurants half a block away and it is close to the Botanic Gardens and town. We loved the walk down the steps, around the quay, across the gardens to the Opera House and Circular Quay. It is way more pleasant than staying in a high-rise hotel downtown. We would recommend this to all our friends. A very important "extra" is how helpful the staff were, giving us advice about where to go, photocopying maps and itineraries for us. We would never have experienced the great views from Manly Beach or Watson's Bay if it weren't for Keith. Many thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thankyou for such a pleasant Review!

We do enjoy helping our guests to get the most out of their time in our beautiful city, as well as our interesting Potts Point nighbourhoood.

I am glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views from both North Head and South Head, and there are also some great walks around the Harbour.

Thanks again for your kind words!

Cheers.....Keith and the "Simpsons" team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Simpsons of Potts Point is a lovely hotel which kind of brings you back to an old-world feel. We loved the quaint furniture sets and rustic designs, especially that in the conservatory. It was simply marvellous to have our breakfast every morning seated under the cover of the glass panels in air-conditioned comfort. It is also very conveniently sited and we could walk from there to all the attractions and facilities around. Keith and Ree were warm and most helpful with all the suggestions of where to go and what to do. We truly enjoyed our stay there and it left us with fabulous memories of Sydney and her people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
What a lovely Review!

It is always pleasing when you read a review from someone who so obviously enjoyed their time in Sydney, and at "Simpsons".

Yes, the weather has generally been very pleasant over the Xmas/New Year period, and it is nice to sit and read the papers in the early morning sunshine.

Yes, all of us here do try to give useful advice on what to see in this lovely city, so it is rewarding when that is successful, and has given good memories to this couple.

Thank you for thaking the time to review us.

Cheers....Keith and all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely small hotel where you are made to feel very welcome and at home. Ree and Keith are really friendly and welcoming and very willing to help and offer advice on places to go and things to see. Our room was very comfortable, clean and beautifully presented. 5 minute walk to the restaurants and waterfront and Woolloomooloo and 10 minutes to the Botanic Gardens. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Yes, we do feel that Potts Point is very well situated, a pleasant stroll into the City, and very close to numerous restauranats.

We have just had the wonderful New Year's Eve fireworks, the largest specacle ever, and are pleased to say that our guests all seemed to have enjoyed them.

Just 100-metres down the hill from our front-dorr is one of the best places to watch them.

Every best wish to all our past and future guests for a happy and healthy New Year!

Thankyou for supporting us during 2013.

Cheers ! Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was recommended to Simpsons by a work colleague in Bristol, England and it proved to be everything they said. I needed somewhere for a 1 night stay whilst visiting Sydney for 2 days and also researched B&B's and the obvious city hotels and was really pleased I stuck with the recommendation. On arrival on the first morning Keith spent half an hour with me giving me a walking route for my first day and a trip further afield on the ferries for the second day. Both were an excellent way of seeing the best of Sydney in 2 days: the botanical gardens, opera house and ferry terminal are all within a walk from Simpsons. Ditto all the other comments about comfort and breakfast - a real treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello Ruth!

Thanks for taking the time to write.

We are pleased that our recommendations for the waking tours went well. We do have a couple of special ideas which give visitors a good idea of our beautiful City.

We are pretty full at this time of year, and we have sent a number of guests on these walking tours, who all seem to enjoy them.

Cheers ! Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Simpsons of Potts Point is a lovely small hotel set in an historic house in an attractive upscale area. Our room was large, comfortable, and well appointed; a nice breakfast is included; and there are wonderful restaurants just steps away -- we ate in the neighborhood all three nights and were very satisfied. The owners could not be friendlier or more helpful. We walked to Sydney's main sights from there without any trouble, and there is public transportation as well. One caveat for older guests: the stairs at Simpsons are long and there's no lift. Overall, however, Simpsons provided a great experience in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thankyou for that kind Review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed all those items you mentioned.

But yes, we have no elevator! Whilst we are usually here to help with luggage, do request a ground-floor, or first-floor room if you have a problem with stairs!

We have three rooms on the ground-floor, six on the first-floor, and our three Dormer (attic-style) rooms on the second-floor (the top-floor).

Last year, when we visited Copenhagen, we were e-mailed by the hotel to tell us that our room was on the fifth-floor, and there was no elevator, nor anyone to help with luggage, so they told us not to bring ANY luggage (I think that they were joking!).

Cheers ! Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.