We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places I've stayed in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“One of the nicest places I've stayed in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Tired of the the "I could be anywhere" feel of Stamfords / Hiltons / Four Seasons Marriotts? Well this is a great antidote, unique heritage feel, close to the action & given location, very quiet. Highly recommended by a Sydeysider... will be going again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thankyou Paul for your kind words!

How good to receive good Review from a Sydney-sider!

Yes, "Simpsons" is unique in Sydney. We may not have all the features of the large chain hotels with swimming pools, gymnasiums, etc., but we do offer a warm, friendly atmosphere in a lovely historic mansion, with all the necessary creatur comforts, and situated in one of the most sought-after, and convenient, neighbourhoods in Sydney.

Thanks agin for your enthusiastic Review.

Cheers.....Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    135
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
88
442
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was cozy and comfortable stay. Nice rooms, super friendly staff and owners. Great location to reach all famous places of Sidney by foot. Fast wi-fi and pleasant part - it was free.
We just loved the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We receive a lot of European guests, especially with the warmer weather here, and the chilly Northern Hemisphere autumn and winter just around the corner.

Today we have cloudless blue skies, a pleasant 24-degrees, and I can see all the sailing boats skimming acoss Sydney Harbour for the amateur Spring yacht races.

Some of our guests have borrowed beach towels, and are heading off to Manly and Bondi beaches for a dip in the Pacific Ocean! The water is still a little cool, but is rapidly warmig up.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at "Simpsons" and our convenient Potts Point location. Also glad that we helped with your stay....and that you appreciated the free WiFi !

Why is it always the expensive chain hotels that charge (and usually charge a lot!) for WiFi.? It should be something that is included automatically as a hotel feature!

Thanks again for your kind words!

Cheers....Keith and the "Simpsons" gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Simosons when we spent the weekend in Sydney for the International Fleet Reveiw. We found the room lovely and comfortable with many homely touches. It was a really nice change from the big hotels we usually stay in, much more personal. The hosts were so helpful and friendly and breakfast very pleasant. This is in a great location, lots of restaurants and shops locally and only a short walk to the harbour.
We will definitely be rebooking when we go to Sydney again : )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thankyou Janice for your kind words.

Wasn't that just a wonderful weekend in Sydney?

Whilst the Fleet Review Centenary was something quite unique, there always seems to be something special going on around the harbour. Sydney is indeed blessed to have such a geographically scenic location, and we do seem to take advantage of it, especially with the warmer weather now coming!

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Sydney, and at "Simpsons", and especially pleased that you will be coming back. We do appreciate returning guests! Thankyou for your Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights here on a recent trip to Sydney to meet up with a long lost relation and her husband. It's an elegant B&B in an old building with an interesting history that has been extensively renovated. The lounge and ding room are beautifully decorated, with antique furniture, an open fire and complimentary sherry and port! My friends and I also sat here and enjoyed our complimentary bottle of champagne. My room was quiet and comfortable.

Potts Point an excellent location from which to explore Sydney, (we walked teach day hrough Wooloomooloo and the Botanic Gardens on our way to the ferries or the Rocks). There are many restaurants nearby (we enjoyed dinners at the Mcleay Street Bistro around the corner and Sardines across the road) and the (in)famous King's Cross is just up the road.

An excellent breakfast with a wide range of cereals, toppings, ham, cheese, smoked slamon, boiled eggs etc is included and served in an attractive conservatory. The hosts are very pleasant and helpful.

I was fortunate to get a good deal on the price through wotif so that might be worth looking out for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thankyou for that thoughtful Review.

We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our small, but healthy breakfast buffet!

You also mentioned a couple of our favourite local restaurants (two of very many!), and glad that they also lived up to expectations.

Potts Point is renowned for its great choice of cafes, little bars and restaurants, and we once counted that there are forty within a five-minute stroll from "Simpsons"! We are spolied for choice.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again!

Cheers.....Keith and the "Simpsons" team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had such a lovely time at Simpsons, the building is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms are lovely and breakfast divine! Hospitality by Keith and co is second to none. Awesome location with great cafes and restaurants on your doorstep but still lovely and quiet. It is great value for money and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
What a cheery Review!

So glad that you found all to your liking. And you are right about our location. Potts Point is a great, eclectic neighbourhood, with lots of interesting bars, cafes and restaurants, as well as all the neighbourhood conveniences of banks, laundries, florists, delicatessens, and interesting little boutiques, gift-shops, etc.

And yet, we are only a pleasant 15-minutes stroll into the C.B.D., along the waterfront and then either through the Domain Park to Martin Place, or through the beautiful Royal Botanic Gardens ro the Opera House.

So glad that you would stay with us again. Hope to see you soon.

Cheers.....keith and the "Simpsons" gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and I and father and mother in-law stayed for four nights. Brilliant location, the mix of quaint and different Potts Point and the more edgy Kingscross. Ree and Keith are excellent hosts going to great trouble to find out about activities guests might be interested in. Parking at the hotel is a bonus too.

The downside was the tired beds in both our and my in-laws room; beds that have big dips in them where people most frequently sit and lie. The result was that three of the four of us had back ache each morning. We brought this to the attention of management early on; no doubt it will be fixed but my advise is to check how old the mattress is in your room!

The cupboards also need some work... doors that overlap and do not close properly. This is a grand property that needs some loving care.

That all said, worth the stay. Thanks for a great time overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks Barry, for your frank Review.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. As you say, we do try to make a real effort to plan ideas for our guests to get the most from their stay at "Simpsons" and Sydney, which is not always possible in the large chain hotels.

And yes, we were very concerned when the issue of bed comfort was raised, and I personally inspected them. There was no doubt that one of the Queen-beds did have some spring relapse on one side. The other bed I could find no fault with.

However, in line with our view that bed comfort is the most important factor in hotel stays, we have ordered new beds for both rooms.

Our supplier for many years has been the Industry specialist A.H. Beard (they have been producing superior hotel beds since 1899 !). We do have a regular progamme of replacement, but that bed must have slipped through the net. We do apologise for that.

As you will see from the many Reviews that most guests find our beds very comfortable, and recently we had a guest ask for the name of our supplier, as they wanted to buy one!

We are very fond of our lovely old home, and do our best to keep her up to scratch. However, sometimes there are items which just cannot be replaced without changing the ambience, or without major work. We hope that most of our guests will forgive some of the patina of age, in exchange for the overall charm of our historic mansion, situated in the wonderful Potts Point location !

Thankyou Barry for your other kind comments. We hope that you come back again soon and try the new Beard beds !

Cheers....keith and the Simpsons gang !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

6 of us stayed in 2 rooms overnight last Friday for the start of the Navy Review Celebrations on the harbour and were not disappointed. It's a character filled B&B in a very central location. Good restaurants are very close and Ree, the host , is friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks Guys!

What a wonderful weekend in Sydney that was! Amazing Harbour display of warships and tall ships!

We are glad that you all enjoyed your time at "Simpsons" and our wonderful Potts Point neighbourhood!

Hope to see you again sometime!

Cheers....Keith, Ree, Marie and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.