We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A delightful, private bed and breakfast in the heart of Potts Point. Short walk to the Botanical gardens, Domain and Opera House. Keith and Ree are charming hosts, only too pleased to assist in your travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks Ross!

Succint, and to the point.

And we also think we are a "delightful little boutique bed and breakfast hotel" ! Thankyou.

As previously stated, we are in a great location.....as "Conde Nast" once said:

"Potts Point is the place to stay when you want to be in the City, but don't want to stay in the City".

Thanks again.

Cheers.....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    136
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
457
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is very special it's a place of great heritage and has been renovated to a very high standard with all antique furniture nice big rooms and a huge plus for us which is unusual was the size of the TV we could actually see it without our glasses,the bed was lovely and comfy with nice soft pillows the air con worked when we needed it anothe plus there unlike the CROWNE in Perth which could not be used until 5 pm what a joke.Although breakfast is only continental there's everything there you could want and it's buffet style so you can get as much as you like so no problems.REE is on hand it seems like 24/7 should you require anything.So that being said what are the negatives our bathroom was freezing and car parking can be a problem but don't let that put you off staying at the Simpsons just once in you life if you are going to Sydney not quite 5 star but sure is close thanks for the memories A & A

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou Khancholan!

So glad that you liked us (and more than Crowne Perth!!)

Also pleased to see our little breakfast buffet got the 'thumbs up"!

Sorry that the bathroom was freezing? If I had my time again, at home, I would have installed underfloor heating, and I think the same for "Simpsons"! Whilst Sydney never gets really cold, compared to many other world cities, it can certainly be pretty damn cold when you get up early on an August winter morning!

With parking, we have room for four/five cars, parked in tandem in our semi-circular driveway, and sometimes we need to do a little "juggling", but we always seem to get it sorted!

Thanks again for your positive Review!

Cheers.....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

One of the best hotels you can book for your stay as a tourist in Sydney. Very friendly owners, who take some time for their guests to give them very good tips for their stay in Sydney. Especially the explanation for a round-trip by foot and by bus to the beaches nearby was verry welcome. So we were able to visit bondi beach, walk to bronte beach, visit watson's bay,... it was a beautiful day (december 2011)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We remember this lovely Belgian couple, who were determined to get the most out of their stay in Sydney with us earlier this month.

They were keen walkers, and the weather was kind (we have had a wonderful warm winter, but need some rain!), so we sent them off each day in a different direction, and got a full report the next morning!

We must say they passed all " the tests" with flying colours, and were not obliged to help with the washing-up ! (the "Simpsons penalty" for failing the geography examination at the end of the stay!)

Thanks for your kind words.

Cheers.....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week vacation in Australia with Sydney as our location and Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel our base. Travelling with me was my partner and my 2 teenage daughters.

We stayed in the 2 'dormer' rooms on the top floor of this charming old-style house that nestles in leafy Challis Avenue amid the rather bland apartment blocks that surround it. Potts Point is a great location for exploring the city on foot and further afield by car (there is limited free parking on site). It is a 30 minute drive from the airport, but only a 25 minute walk from the downtown area, and 40 minutes will have you at the steps of the Sydney Opera House.

Potts Point has a good selection of restaurants, twee clothes and art shops and a supermarket. It is however neighbours with the Kings Cross district that is raucous, edgy and somewhat seedy, fine during the day, but can be a little intimidating at night.

Simpsons hotel is delightful. It reminded me of a Cotswold country house hotel. Decorated in a Victorian style, classical music playing discretely in the common rooms, eclectic art on the walls and book cases creaking with interesting reading. However under the skin, Simpsons is thoroughly modern, a discrete but efficient entry system ensures security while not impeding your comings and goings, the plumbing is super efficient, with no loss in pressure of hot water at busy times, large flat screen cable TV in the rooms and wireless broadband (ok, the wireless coverage is a little slow and spotty but if you want super fast, there are plenty of cafes with this, or maybe you should be staying in one the bland corporate hotels down town). Both our dormer rooms had comfortable beds and good quality linen and towels. Cleaning service was discrete and efficient.

One of the real high-spots for Simpsons is just how friendly all of the staff are. Keith (the owner) and Daniel who deals with the breakfast catering are both particularly helpful and interested in their guests. Within a day, they knew our names and greeted us warmly every morning. The staff are super-helpful with tourist suggestions too, especially useful when you have two easily bored teenagers in tow. The breakfast is superb, delicious and unhurried.

Staying for 2 weeks in a hotel, you can really get the sense of how well it works, how efficient and how genuine the people there are about their guests. Simpsons really ticks the boxes, this is a perfect base to come back to after a weary day being tourists.

This is not some budget B&B, there are plenty of these on offer in Sydney, but a proper quality boutique hotel experience, much more interesting than a 4-5 star chain hotel (which the price is comparable to) and I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are a little noisy in the mornings although if you sleep with windows open, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What a thoroughly thoughtful Review. Thankyou for taking the trouble to go to such detail, and obviously very carefully considered.

We well remember this lovely couple, and their delightful teenage daughters. They were no trouble and considerate at all times. I had no idea that we were being observed so thoroughly, even analytically!.

It is true that two weeks in a small hotel would certainly show up any flaws or weaknesses, and I am thoroughly chuffed that we got such a good "report card". I wonder if the British "Hotel Inspector" would be so kind!

Sincere thanks for taking the time to give such a thorough, and factual Review. We very much appreciate it..

Cheers.....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is an old house (very stylish) located on a hill over the ocean.
Positive points: friendly hosts, nice price for a hotel not far from the center (20min by walk), stylish rooms, well equipped, very quiet at night, numerous restaurants nearby, breakfast was included. I got a better room than the one I had booked as well. Considering the high hotel prices in Sydney, this hotel was not expensive when compared to big hotels in the city center.
Negative points: mostly some leaks (tap, shower) which would require small repairs, but nothing major. Overall the house needs a bit more maintenance.
Overall a very nice experience that lasted a week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Sebastian!

Thanks for your kind words.

Especially concerning the question of value for money, after the comments in the last Review!

Yes, maintenance is a major question in an old house, now over 120-years old. Whilst we do our best, there always seems to be something needing doing! I rely upon the housekeeping staff to mention if something does not seem right, but there are always items we overlook, or haven't got around to tackling! It is usually me, dragging the chain!

Overall, we like to feel that the ambience of our dear old house makes up for a few paint chips, etc., here and there, and that Guests will forgive us a few idiosyncrasies, in return for a comfortable stay in a great location, with a friendly team to help make their stay in Sydney memorable.

Again, Sebastian, thankyou or your well-thought words, and gald you enjoyed your week with us.

Cheers.....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very friendly hosts. Extremely well located hotel . Room was spacious but the bathroom had a number of problems and given the price per night which was similar to a five star hotel we were rather underwhelmed . We could not shower on the first night due to malfunctioning shower head and taps . The problem was promptly fixed the following day but overall the bathroom was very shabby and needs urgent updating. We were not offered any recompense for this rather inconvenient issue !!
At half the price the hotel would have been reasonable value . They should probably call themselves a B&B rather than boutique hotel and charge accordingly . Very hard to recommend at this price point. Breakfast was included but it was very basic. We would give it 2 stars only . At the prices they charge I would suggest a top hotel would deliver better value .

Room Tip: The rooms vary enormously . Suggest you ask for photos of available rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
WoW!

This was a surprise Review, written by the guests the day of their departure, and quite unexpected, as they seemed to enjoy their stay.

Yes, they informed me the first morning that the shower-head had dropped down, but it was was easily tightened by hand by me. I was unaware that they felt they could not shower. They did not say that to me in the morning, nor did they request any "compensation"!

These guests had booked through an agency on the internet, and we were therefore unable to discuss room requirements, or price, with them.

I think they are a little unfair to call the breakfast "basic" but I suppose that is very subjective. As can be seen from most of the other Reviews, the majority of our guests seem to enjoy the healthy choice.

I am sorry that they felt we did not offer them good value, but again that is subjective, and most other guests seem to have a different view. They did not refer to our complimentary car parking, which they used, and which I see the City hotels are now charging up to $50.00, per day, not to speak of breakfast and WiFi charges in addition to the basic room rate.

We will just have to take solace with their complimentary opening remarks, and try to rectify any of their criticisms, as far as we can.

Keith and the "Simpsons" gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Simpsons Hotel is an historic home which has been lovingly restored, with an eclectic mix of vintage and antique. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in, the pre-stay communication from owners Keith and Maree was outstanding - instant and comprehensive, manageress Ree was an absolute delight, Damien in the kitchen makes the best plunger coffee(seriously) our room was large with a sofa and side table. Shower great, blackout curtains really effective. Lovely sitting rooms at the front of the hotel. Light-filled breakfast room and the continental breakfast was wonderful - I had fresh fruit (lots of lovely fruit compotes and yoghurt there too), juice, toast with cream cheese, smoked
salmon, capers and cracked pepper. Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou Aussie Traveller!

We do love those kind words.

We are not perfect ( but yes you are I hear you say!), but we do try to give an enjoyable overall stay to our Guests.

We cannot compete with the large city hotels on facilities, etc, but we do try to offer guests a peaceful stay, in a much loved old mansion, with personal service and a convenient location.

Thankyou for all the positive comments.

Keith and the gang at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.