We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and gorgeous stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great and gorgeous stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A family weekend in Sydney was completely enhanced by our stay at Simpsons.

Ree was more than acommdating and extremely pleasant. I was in Room 9, my Daughter and Son in Law up on the second floor.
There is a lovely sense of history as you roam around this gorgeous Gallery, complimentary Port or Sherry in hand. There is a warming fire in the parlour, and a library to browse.
A fabulous unfussy breakfast completes the deal. Delicious cereals, toast , smoked salmon, fruit... Certainly enough to set you up for whatever your day brings.

I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Sandra!

Thanks for your kind comments.

Again, very pleased that our breakfast hit it off with you.

We do try to vary it with healthy choices.

We are not able to servve a cooked breakfast, but for those who need fried eggs and bacon style, there are many great local "people-watching" cafes. Even our faithful regulars like a change from time to time, and have Italian coffee up at "Fratelli Paradiso", or "Spring" across the road.

Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers.........Keith and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    137
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
90
467
63
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a wonderful stay. My mother had booked two rooms, and we arrived not knowing exactly what we'd find - what a delight!
The house was spotless, the breakfast delicious and Ree was accommodating and helpful. The room was spacious and quiet. Can't wait to book another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Quoth!

Again, a succint and lovely Review. Thankyou.

Glad that you liked the breakfast, and that you enjoyed Ree's company, who looked after things for us while we were on our annual holiday. Thanks Ree.

Cheers.........Keith and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding serivce right down to personalised booking confirmation emails. Ree is an absolute delight.

Very warm and homely rooms. Breakfast was healthy and filling.

Great location with free parking seals the deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Michael!

Succint and to the point.

Glad that you liked us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks for taking the time to wriye.

Cheers.........Keith and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here on a whim for a Saturday night in Sydney. When ringing the hotel, they bettered the rate on Wotif, so I splurged on a King room. The room was beautiful and very spacious with a balcony overlooking the quiet street. Bed was super confortable and bathroom (with a bath) was clean.
A brisk 30-minute walk through the Botanic Gardens and the Domain (with borrowed umbrella) took us to our cinema booking at the Dendy Opera Quays, and then we returned to Potts Point to meet family dining at The Fish Shop - just a few steps from Simpsons!
We enjoyed a better than most continental breakfast which included a large variety of breads, plus sliced ham, smoked salmon and boiled eggs. Oh, and the rhubarb was delicious.
We were able to stay and read the papers for an hour in the sitting room after our 10.00 am checkout, as it was too wet to go on our planned walk arounf Potts Point.
We had never stayed in this part of Sydney before but will definitely be back here to relax and explore.

Room Tip: King room with balcony overlooking Challis Ave was large and beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Suzaane!

What a super Review!

You have mentioned all the plusses that we try to inform potential guest about the wonderful Potts Point neighbourhood. So glad that you found us, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

And also thanks for amplifying the breakfast details. The vast majority of our guests find the healthy choice a good start to the day.

However, for those who need the traditional English cooked breakfast, bacon and fried eggs, etc., there are numerous great little cafes within a short walk.

Cheers....Keith and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent stay at Simpsons Hotel at Potts Point. The hotel has a Victorian look, breakfast provided was also really good. Owner Ree was hospitable and accommodating to us. Location is also near to King's Cross Station (about a nice 10-15 mins walk). I enjoyed the stay there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thankyou Damien!

Even though you did not award five stars throughout, I am very glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us!

Especially pleased that you enjoyed our healthy, continental breakfast buffet.

Keith and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Simpson's for two days on our way back to Colorado after a visit with friends in Mooloolaba. I must say I made the right choice. This is a lovely place with a gorgeous sitting area where we could enjoy a drink, use the computer and just relax. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the bathroom was equally so. I loved strolling the neighborhood and found an outdoor market just a few blocks away. We ate in several excellent nearby restaurants and explored the numerous small shops. We thought the cost was very reasonable considering the much higher price for hotels in Sydney. Oh, and I can't forget to say thanks to Ree for her hospitality and expert advise.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What a nice Review.

We do try to give guests an enjoyable stay, and it is always rewarding when we seem to succeed.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Keith Wherry and the Simpsons gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent 5 days on my own here at the end of a long 2 1/2 month trip of a lifetime to New Zealand and Australia. The guest house is ideally situated in a peaceful road at the end of which are some great neighbourhood restaurants and local shops. You are within spitting distance of the harbour, Kings Cross and Potts Point and within a 10 minute walking distance of the harbour (albeit back up a long set of steep steps though taxis are plentiful if you run out of energy). The guest house is beautifully decorated and felt very homely after a long trip away. My room at the top of the house was spacious and comfortable and though of continental style the breakfast choices were tasty and varied. What made the place though were the management and staff who spent a large amount of time helping me make the most of the sights of Sydney and booking Theatre performances for me. I was there over Easter and feeling a long way from friends and family and its silly but the little touch of an Easter Egg on my breakfast plate was thoughtful touch much appreciated.

Room Tip: Dont go for an attic room if you are not fit enough to manage 3 flights of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thankyou for those kind words.

Yes, we do try to help guests see the most of our beautiful City, and the weather at Easter is traditionally the best time to visit. We are glad that you liked the Easter eggs!

As I often say, it is our guests that make "Simpsons" such a pleasant place to stay. Most of our guests have taken time to find us, and to check out our Reviews, and our Website Photos and Video, so usually they have a good idea of what to expect before they arrive, hopefully our positives, and maybe a few shortcomings here and there (although we do try to minimise those, as much as we can!).

Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Cheers...

Keith and all of us at the "Simpsons"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.