We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - and still recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second visit - and still recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Simpson’s is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel. If you want swimming pools, saunas, 24 hour room service and rooms which are all identical, then it will not be for you. The rooms are all furnished in a style in keeping with the character with the property. It’s all immaculately clean and you really do feel like you’re stepping into another world, especially after a day of sight-seeing around thoroughly modern Sydney.

The team really makes you feel welcome although, unless there’s a reason to get in touch at other times, you may only see them as you arrive, leave and at breakfast. There is a real attempt to make your stay in the city memorable and, at breakfast, the owners are happy to chat and recommend hidden gems or out-of-the-way places to visit. Although this may be the only time you see them during the day, for me, it’s one of the most memorable parts of any stay here.

Simpson’s is ideally placed for a walk through the Botanical Gardens to Circular Quay and the Opera House/Bridge. It’s on a side street close to the restaurants and bars of Kings Cross but just far enough away so that the noise from them is a distant hum.

This was our second stay at Simpson’s (we were there for Mardi Gras) and, if we’re lucky enough to get back to Sydney, we’ll be looking to stay again.... which says it all really.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I just had a look at Edward's previous Review, and was very gratified to see the heading:

"If I ran a B+B, I'd want it to be like this one!" How pleasant, and how complimentary.
Thankyou Edward!

We do enjoy giving advice (if wanted of course) about things to do, and places to go in Sydney, especially for first-time, or infrequent visitors. Between all of the "Simpsons Gang", we have worked out a few places to go that will leave some great memories of Sydney!

Especially thankyou guys for staying a second time. This is the ultimate compliment to a hotelier or an inn-keeper ("bed-and-breakfaster" doesn't quite have the same cache!).

We hope we may see you in another few years!

Cheers.....Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    145
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
500
69
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our first impression of Simpsons was a good one,the website is good, the booking was efficiently handled and the handsome building is in a good location in Potts Point which is in a lively area in walking distance of the parks, Art galleries and central shopping area. Our room was a good size with an en suite shower room and a comfy bed and pillows although the furnishings are a little "tired".However,as our stay progressed we were won over by the friendliness and helpfulness of both owners and staff who could not have been more willing to offer advice, and also by the delicious buffet-style breakfast. We are happy to recommend Simpsons of Potts Point!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We remember this lovely couple from London. Unfortunately their flight from Melbourne was delayed by bad weather, but they eventually made it to us!

They seemed to enjoy very much their time in Sydney, and we are glad that they found us helpful, and especially that they liked our small, healthy buffet breakfast!

I often say, it is not just us at "Simpsons" that can help to make the stay in Sydney enjoyable, but it is our guests themselves.

We are very blessed to have interesting people stay, who often have gone to the trouble of finding us, rather than simply pressing the chain hotel button.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Australia and our first port of call was Simpsons. We stayed for 6 nights and were really impressed with the quality of our room, the warmth of the welcome and the attention given to making our stay as enjoyable and productive as it could have been. Potts Point is in a great position for exploring the city and we were able to walk everywhere. We would have no hesitate in recommending Simpsons to any of our friends. Indeed later in our visit we discovered that an Australian friend had stayed there and commented most favourably about the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
What a nice, sincere Review.

We remember this lovely couple form Bath (incidentally, what a beautiful, historic town is that? The only person that I heard who did not like it was Queen Victoria!)

These guests have kindly commented on all the matters that make Potts Point such an attractive place for us to live and, we feel, for others to visit.

Thanks for your kind words!

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at stylish Simpsons, having had the hotel recommended by Aussie friends who had previously stayed there. We were not disappointed in the slightest. Our bedroom was spacious, well equipped, comfortable, cool and quiet (other than for a noisy cockatoo in the morning!); the continental breakfast was fine, the location was spot on for touring Sydney and, above all, Keith and Ree were great hosts - very helpful and knowledgeable about restaurants, trips, transport and all things Sydney. Further plusses were a surprise bottle of champagne and chocolates put in the room when they found out it was Pam's birthday, and that we could park the car in the courtyard in front of the building for the duration of our stay without charge (having asked them before we arrived). No fault found - a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thankyou Deian and Pam for your kind words, and for your Aussie friends for recommending us!

Recommendations are the best, as all faults (if any!) have hopefully already been disclosed, for no unwelcome surprises for the new arrivals!

Deian is quite right, those magnificent, big white cockatoo parrots can be very damn noisy! They also quite destructive, pulling branches off trees, and even eating timber window sills! However, it is wonderful to see them, and a proliferation other beautiful birds right here in the city.

We also get the Flying Foxes (bats!) coming over from the nearby Royal Botanic Gardens, and we occasionally see the large Ibis wandering around, who must have lost their way from the Gardens!

Thanks again.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just spent the weekend at the Simpsons with 4 old university friends for a 20 year university reunion .It is gorgeous. Not plastic and exactly the same like those 5 star hotels that feel sterile and cold. If you know about "Karen Brown" guide books then you will know what I mean when I say that, if Karen Brown came to Australia , she would love this place! Karen Brown books only recommend special , unique and gorgeous accomodation. Well this is exactly that!
Keith is charming and polite and will give you local advice if you want it.
THe hotel is situated in a groovy part of Sydney with great cafes and restaurants.
Our 2 rooms were big and clean and had personality.
You feel like you are in a friendly place and I was able to grab extra cutlery and plates and glasses for our cheese and biscuits, champagne feast . I just popped down to the kitchen area and was offered anything I wanted.
THis place is classy!!

Room Tip: we had room 10 .Bright. clean federation style big bathroom. no bath , just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Penny!

We remember you fun girls for your re-union and glad that you all had such such a good time !

Thanks for your kind words!

Do come back and visit us again soon!

Cheers....Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I finished up our honeymoon with a 4-night stay in Simpson's. The first thing that strikes you is the beauty of the building, both inside and out. Our room was large and comfortable, with a range of legal caricatures hung on the wall. The drawing room downstairs was a real oasis of tranquility, with the coffee table groaning under the weight of books and comfortable armchairs to curl up in. Our hosts, Keith, Marie and Ree were impeccable - friendly, gracious and accommodating, they couldn't have made us feel more welcome. Simpson's is an absolute gem - a wonderful memory for us to have concluded our honeymoon with. If we ever make it back to Sydney we'll stay at Simpson's for sure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thankyou Davey for your warm and heartfelt response.

We are really pleased that this was such a pleasant finale for your honeymoon.

All of our small "Simpsons" gang do try our best to make your stay at our little hotel a memorable one (hopefully for all the right reasons!)

We know that our old house is not perfect and, within the limitation of its age and size, we do try to continually improve, but for those who do not need the extensive facilities of a large chain hotel, swimming-pool, gym, conference rooms, bars, etc., we think that "Simpsons" offers something unique.

As I frequently say, the Potts Point area is a wonderful, eclectic neighbourhood, that is regarded as one of the most interesting and convenient areas to live, yet only a short, and pleasant stroll into the City, along the Harbour Foreshore and the Domain Park, or through the beautiful Botanic Gardens to the Opera House.

Thanks again for your kind words Davey, and we would love to welcome you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Sydney. It is akin to having your own Victorian house in the bubbly suburb of Potts Point. We stayed in the beautiful 'Clou Suite'. Yes, the 'd' of cloud was missing from the door sign but who cares? The spacious room with its huge comfy bed, feature stained glass of the enormous window and well-equipped bathroom with spa bath provided all the space, atmosphere and style that we required for our personal accommodation. However, add to that the library/sitting room with all the books, antique features and stunning polished wooden floors, the carafes of help yourself sherry and port, a free-to-use internet-linked computer and the general ambience of the place and we found it to be the perfect base from which to enjoy the delights of Sydney.

Of course, then there is the conservatory where breakfast awaits every morning - fruit juices, cereals, yogurt, dried friuts, fruit compote, nuts, cereals, cold meats and cheese, boiled eggs, a wide variety of breads and muffins, freshly brewed coffee and tea. How much do you want for breakfast? It was very good.

Ree, Stuart, Damian and Marie are around whenever you need them for help and advice about your stay at Simpsons, local or special restaurants, sight-seeing and travelling around Sydney or whatever you need. And the house is easy walking distance from central Sydney. In Potts Point itself we took our hosts' advice and thoroughly enjoyed the local restaurants, again all within easy walking distance.

Stuart met us when we arrived at about 8am. We had been travelling from the UK for over 24 hours and were invited into the conservatory for coffee (and breakfast if we wanted it) where we discovered that our room was already prepared for us and, by the time we had finished our coffee and had a chat, our bags were already upstairs. What service!

Some reviewers have commented about decor and refurbishment needs. All properties of this age require constant and gradual care and attention. Our own house does. But, for me, the kindness, warmth, and hospitality of the place and its owners far outweigh any trivial bits of replacement grouting that might be needed.

I strongly recommend Simpsons as a great place to stay and we will certainly return ourselves on a revisit to Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Wow! What a wondeful Review!

Even if only half of it was true, even I would stay at "Simpsons"!

Seriously though, that is a very thoughtful and generous response. We really do appreciate it when people take the time to post a Review, especially when it is as kind as this one.

We would like to think that this summarises all the good points (and a few of minor faults?) of staying at "Simpsons"!

I, Keith (aka Stuart!) really do enjoy working at "Simpsons" and the tourist industry, showing guests the best our beautiful city has to offer. I know that we are not perfect (as some of the more critical Reviews will show) and sometimes we don't always get it right, but when we do, and receive such a warm and heartfelt Review like this, I feel all "warm and fuzzy" inside!

Thankyou Akrivos. We would love to welcome you back to Sydney on many occasions!. And there is certainly a job here as our permanent publicist !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
1.6 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#5 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.