We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpson's Hotel - convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simpson's Hotel - convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Simpson's Hotel in Potts Point 2 nights in mid-November 2012. The first day we had just arrived in Sydney from the USA and since it was still only mid-morning we weren't able to get into our room - not a surprise, we didn't expect to. But we were graciously welcomed and left our bags in the common room. The hosts provided advice on how to walk into the main part of the city and offered recommendations for the restaurants on Challis Ave. and just around the corner on Mcleay St. - a notable plus to the location, lots of great restaurants right there. The walk to the waterfront took about 30 min., we dawdled some in the Royal Botanic Garden - bird watching, just 'cause you're in a city doesn't mean you have to put your binoculars away! After wandering around the waterfront for a while and having some lunch at a bakery who knows where, we walked back to the hotel for a bit of a nap. We appreciated the quietness of the neighborhood. Late afternoon the hosts booked a table for us at a restaurant across the street and shared some thoughts about what we could do the next day - in addition to the obligatory tour of the opera house. We ended up taking a "hop on-hop off" bus tour of the city and were able to pick up the bus just around the corner - very convenient. Breakfast both mornings was very nice with a wide selection; we only had continental - not sure if cooked was on offer, maybe. When preparing to leave we chatted with the hosts regarding our plans and even though we were headed down to Melbourne and thence to the Great Ocean Rd., they had recommendations for us about routes to take and interesting places to stop, some of which we took advantage of and which we appreciated. The room at Simpson's was spacious, clean and quiet. A balcony looked out over Challis St. and owing to the plantings along the front of the hotel, we seemed to be somewhere other than in a major world city. Probably could have found less expensive accommodations but probably none as comfortable and with such pleasant, caring hosts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thankyou for this well thought out Review, and for the kind comments.

There is no doubt that Potts Point is a convenient and interesting neighbourhood, and we never tire of the lovely walk along the Harbour and into the City.

We are glad that these guests enjoyed some of our recommendtaions. It is certainly helpful to have some local knowledge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    145
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
500
69
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My 10 day stay at Simpsons Hotel in Sydney was an absolute delight! The owners, Keith and Marie, and their staff were personable, helpful, and thoughtful, greeting each guest with a warm welcome and a cup of tea. Each day, they checked with their guests, giving useful suggestions & maps, and information.
The continental breakfast was ample (including homemade rhubarb, rasberry, apple sauce) and my room and bath were charming, spacious, and comfortable. The hotel retains its charm as an old mansion (about 1882), but, of course, is fully modernized.
On New Years Eve, they gave me a bottle of champaigne & hosted a party for the guests at another lovely home - to see the magnificent world famous fireworks.
Such Fun! So Gracious! I will certainly return to Simpson's Hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
What a gracious lady was this lovely guest from Michigan. We thoughly enjoyed every minute of her stay, full of interesting stories and experiences. We do hope that she comes to visit us again.

She had several friends who live nearby, and it was fun for us to see them showing her around our lovely city, and local neighbourhood.

Julie was a great adventurer and we enjoyed each morning hearing her thoughtful opinion on the latest, of many, local restaurants that she dined at the previous day. One of the benefits of staying in Potts Point is the very large choice of great restaurants and cafes, to suit all tastes and budgets.

There is no doubt that Australia has, of recent times become more expensive to visit, as a result both of the depreciation of the U.S. dollar (and of most other major currencies), compared to the AUD., and also the high wages that are paid in the hospitality industry. However, there are still plenty of great restaurants, bars and cafes that offer good value, great local and local atmosphere, and we can help by pointing guests in the right direction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found Simpson's at Potts Point on the net along with many other B&Bs as we searched for a place to stay during our visit to Sydney. Somehow, Simpson's leaped out at us and subsequently we found ourselves coming back again and again to it till we finally decided that this was the place for us - and we were not disappointed. From the word go we had the most wonderfully friendly and charming experience ever. We had a cute dormer room and the hosts were perfect - saw to our every comfort without being seen themselves. Ree and Damien made us feel settled instantly and were very helpful in giving us directions. Breakfast was sumptuous without being heavy and the room was cosy and fitted with everything we might have needed. Quaint, old-worldly, completely charming and brilliantly located. Definitely worth many more stays...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thankyou for this thoughtfully written Review. We enjoyed hearing the compliments!

We would like to think that these guests description accurately summarises our lovely old home, the great neighbourhood that we live in, and our (hopefully) helpful staff !

"Simpsons" is not for everyone, as we do not have all the facilities, nor the state of the art decor of the large chain hotels in the C.B.D., but we hope that the ambience of our Victorian mansion and that of the Potts Point area, and our personal service, make up for any other perceived deficencies!

We are glad that most guests seem to enjoy their stays with us, but as we note from some of the slightly negative Reviews (luckily not too many!), there are some aspects of "Simpsons" that do not suit everyone. We do welcome constructive criticism, and try to address any of these issues as far as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived to be greeted by Keith with his old fashioned gentlemanly manners and attention to detail and given the guided tour of the hotel we knew we were in for a great stay! The delightful sitting room at front of house with complimentary sherry and brandy and great collection of books to the quaint dining room at rear of the house, serving up lovely breakfast each morning to our room with old fashioned furnishings and fittings complimenting the house - all very impressive. The highlight was being invited to the Chef Damiens place to watch the New Years fireworks - was a lovely thing to do. And finally - location, location! One of the best streets to be based in at Potts Point - restaurants and bars very close and good walking distance to Sydney Opera House and Bridge etc. Highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
What a nice Review. Thankyou for your kind words!

This family had come all the way from Darwin, and met their mother from Canberra, so it was a real Family re-union, meeting half way across the country!

We are glad that they enjoyed our interesting Potts Point neighbourhood, with its eclectic residents and tourists alike, and its great little cafes, bars and restaurants.

A wonderful New York style cocktail and tapas bar, "Monopole", has just opened around the corner, as a welcome addition to other elegant, nearby, small bars like "Roosevelt" and " Velluto" and "Bootleg".

No shortage of eateries or "watering holes" in this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights from 27 Dec. Keith and Ree and also Damian were all very helpful giving tips of where to visit during our stay. Friendly place and a nice personal touch especially as we stayed over New Years and were invited to a neighbourhood party with a view for the 9pm fireworks.

Lovely house and the neighbourhood is full of nice little restaurants and quite buzzy. Easy abd scenic to walk into Sydney (about 25 mins to Circular Quay by foot) and also lots of taxis around. Nice room and decent bathroom but we thought it was expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We well remember this nice young couple from London.

Daniel was especially helpful in giving us tips on how to get the most out of our i-Pad with Google Maps of Sydney, so we hope that soon we may be proficient enough to practice on other guests!

New Year's Eve in Sydney is certainly a lot of fun, but unfortunately it is the busiest peak season, and accomodation is certainly expensive, even more so for overseas visitors with the high exchange rate of the Australian dollar. However, as someone once said, hopefully the memories will live on long after the cost is forgotten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Top location, great service, nice clean rooms, a little bit old fashioned, and unfortunately not the most welcoming of hosts. Overall its a great Hotel, but quite pricey for what you get. I would recommend this hotel on location alone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
This Review has us somewhat mystified, and we cannot remember the particular guest, apparently a businesswoman travelling on her own.

We certainly agree with her comments about location; Potts Point is very well situated. As Conde Nast once said, it is "the place to choose when you want to be in the City, but don't want to stay in the City"!

In relation to costs, yes there are certainly less expensive neighbourhoods to stay in, but because of its convenience and other attributes, the price of real estate here is very high, probably the highest in Australia, and that of course is the prime factor in costs.

The comment that concerns us most is that we were described as: "not the most welcoming of hosts"! We do not know whether Elizabeth is referring to myself, Keith, or to Ree, our live-in manager, or maybe to both of us! Either way, we are very sorry if we gave that impression, as we regard ourselves as quite the opposite, and do try to be very welcoming. However, we shall just have to try even harder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Simpsons for 3 nights in November. Although our room was fairly a decent size and the bed comfortable we thought for a five star rated guest house that the overall standard of the furnishings were somewhat aging and there were a number of irritating maintenance issues. The bathroom was quite old and worn and the windows rattled so badly that we had to "fix" them with pieces of paper. The noise of the dustbins being put out every morning at 6am or so and then the garbage truck at 7am or there abouts does not allow for late sleep ins.
The continental breakfast was adequate and on a positive note it is in a very convenient area for site seeing Sydney. Management and staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: I cannot give any advice as our room was not a good one and certainly the one (which was ours) overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We well remember these guests from South Africa !

It was quickly apparent to us that "Simpsons" was not their kind of place !

They indicated on arrival that they normally stay in Five Star Hotels, and that there must be some mistake with their room, one of our larger "Superior" King-bed rooms. We offered to release them from their booking, and to help them find a five-star chain hotel in the city.

However, after they settled in, they seemed happy enough, and on no occasion did they express any further complaint about their room, otherwise we may have been able to move them elsewhere.

We do not claim to be a "Five Star Guesthouse". It is our guests who rate "Simpsons", not us.

We are a lovely old mansion, in a great neighbourhood and, we hope with friendly and helpful management! Yes, our rooms are not ultra-moderm, but they are clean, and comfortable, with all modern conveniences to give our guests a pleasant stay. Most people forgive the odd fault of old age, and generally love the patina of our 120-year-old home.

I am sorry that the garbage removal (the recyclers on Wednesday morning, but never before 7.00.am., can make more noise than they should!), caused them concern on their last morning. I rememeber a particularly stormy night which may have made the windows rattle, but normally there is a purpose build rubber spacer there for that purpose.

We are sorry that they found our complimentary breakfast buffet merely "adequate", as most people enjoy that healthy start to the day. As we constantly remind people, we are not able to provide a hot cooked breakfast, but for those guests that do need that, then there are several excellent cafes within a few minutes stroll that will provide a "bacon and eggs" style of meal.

Following through on their "positive note", we are glad that they enjoyed the convenience of the lovely Potts Point neighbourhood, and especially pleased that they found us all "pleasant and helpful".

We do try our best, and hopefully succeed most of the time, as we are keen to ensure that our guests have good memories of their stay in this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
1.6 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#6 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.