We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B in a great suburb of Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good B&B in a great suburb of Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a nice 2 night stay here, but somehow didn't get the same personal experience as most people reviewing here. We arrived at 5.30pm and there was a letter at the entrance so we checked ourselves in. I still don't know whether we met Keith, there was a gentleman in the kitchen in the morning but he didn't say much at all. Ree introduced herself in the morning but was very busy. Other than that the location is great, the house is beautiful and the continental breakfast was nice. Not sure how this B&B gets to sit on top of Tripadvisor's list of best Sydney hotels though, but all in all a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We remember this nice family from Ballina, but are sorry that they feel that they did not "get the same personal experience" as others.

I note that Marie and I were away on the two-night weekend that thay stayed, so unfortunately I did not get to meet them personally. I have spoken to Ree, our friendly live-in manager, who was on duty that weekend, and have reviewed the quite extensive correspondence. I see that we gave advice on restauarants and procedures etc, and that the guests advised that they would be arriving between 2.00-2.30.pm. that Friday afternoon.

If possible, we like to know our guests approximate arrival time, as being a small family business we sometimes have to be out running errands, etc., and we do like to be here to greet our guests personlly if we possibly can.

On this occasion, Ree did wait in until 5.00pm., but then had to go to the supermarket for the breakfast provisions the next day, and she left a friendly. courteous note with room directions, local map, etc.

Damien was on breakfast duty that weekend, which I see was one of our busiest on record, not only with a complete full house, but also some families, including this family of four, so the Breakfast Room was buzzing!

Even if busy, we do try to be as personal as we can, but I am sure that most people understand that it is not always possible to talk to everyone all the time.

However, I am glad that this family otherwise enjoyed their stay with us. And as I have pointed out before, it is not us who rate ourselves,but rather our guests, and we feel grateful that so many of these guests have enjoyed their time with us, enough to write all the interesting and informative Reviews (with warts and all!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    140
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
479
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Simpsons is a large Victorian building with lots of character. The rooms and lounges all have high ceilings and are beautifully decorated and furnished. The location is an interesting alternative to the city centre or The Rocks. Our research showed those areas to be too noisy at nght and so we decided on Potts Point and Simpsons. We were not disappointed.
The location is a charming part of town not far from Kings Cross. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within a short walk including a great Italian at the end of the street.
A 10-minute walk brings you to the Northern end of the botanical gardens which provides a delightful stroll down to the Opera House and Circular Quay. Another attraction just a few minutes away is the Wooloomooloo Wharf. This is the largest wooden construction in the world and houses many good bars and restaurants.
The host, Keith, was a mine of information and was very willing to help and advise. He took the trouble of learning all his guests names and made us feel very welcome.
The only criticism I had was that only a continental breakfast was available and that had only a limited selection.
If you are driving to this place, a sat nav would be a great help as Sydney is a bl***y nightmare to drive around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thankyou for kind words, which summarise the Potts Point area and our location well.

There is no doubt that Sydney traffic(like in any big city) can get very congested. On ourconfirmation e-mail we do give fairly concise directions on how to get here by car (and other means of course). We have tandem parking for about four or five cars in our semi-circular driveway, and we do not charge for parking.

Sorry to hear that these guests were not as enthusiastic about our small continental buffet as most Reviewers. We do make it clear that are not able to offer any hot food, but for those who want a traditional "bacon and eggs" style, there are three or four cafes within 100-metres or so that serve a wide variety.

Our breakfast offers a healthy start to the day with a choice of fresh and preserved fruits, juices, choice of breads and cereals, ham, tomatoes, boiled eggs, cheeses, etc. that seems to suit most guests. It is complimentary (in other words we do not charge extra for it), and as I mention, for those guests that need something more substantial there are numerous cafes within a short stroll (which are also fun for "people-watching"!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had no idea there was such an oasis in the middle of Sydney! Location is perfect - if you want to stay in the immediate area then all your gastronomic, cultural and social wants are very well catered for but only a short distance away are the wonderful restaurants of Wollomolloo and all the delights the botanical gardens, circular quay and the Rocks offer. The style and ambience of the hotel make you feel spoiled on arrival and our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable - I was a little concerned that it was a bit too nice for my 13 year old son but he felt at home and was made very welcome by Ree. In short, Ioved it and am planning a return on my own to recharge. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thankyou for that enthusiastic Review.

Yes, we feel spoiled to live in such an interesting and eclectic area, yet only 20-minutes stroll to the middle of the city.

Certainly Potts point is a good alternative for those who do not need all the facilities, or would like a change from, the large chain hotels.

At "Simpsons" we try to make our guests feel at home, and to enjoy all that our great city of Sydney has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

After a lot of research on tripadvisor I picked this nice B&B and I admit it was really a great choice!
The B&B is hosted inside an old historical building in redbrick. It has a beautiful cozy atmosphere that makes you feel like at home. There is a warm living room with sofas and fireplace where you can relax after your day around, drink some brandy or check emails on the complimentary computer at disposal for guests. Rooms are spacious and nice. With their own fireplaces, huge double bed and a sofa. The bathroom is quite new and has all the comforts.
Breakfast is included and is prepared by the owners and served in the dining room. It is quite rich. you can have eggs, cheese and ham, bread with butter and jam selections. During breakfast they are also very nice and help you to organize your day in Sydney suggesting the best places to go, the most delicious restaurants, nice itineraries etc.
The B&B is in a nice street quite calm with beautiful buildings. One block before the B&B there is a good italian restaurant, Fratelli Paradiso. Good but expensive! At the corner with Mackleay Street there is a convenience store and on the same street is full of restaurants, supermarkets and indian and thai take aways.
The B&B is located in a nice panoramic point. On Challis avenue, if you go down till the end of the street, there are some steps down that bring you to Woolloomoolloo. With my husband we walked every day from the hotel till Opera House and Circular Quay. It is a 15-20 minutes nice walk through the botanic gardens and the bay but if i have to be very honest, if you are lazy and don't like to walk,maybe you should check for more options in circular quay area.
We loved very much this place, we strongly recommend it and we enjoyed the authentic warm aussie hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We remember these lovely Italian guests who seemed to enjoy their time with us, and the Potts Point area.

Thay are correct that it is very pleasant 20-minutes stroll into the city. But be warned that on the return journey there are 116-steps (however, there are only 58 if you take them two at a time!). About 500-metres away, opposite the large "Woolworths" supermarket there is the 311 Bus-stop that takes about 10-mins. into the city, or taxis are usually fairly plentiful and take about the same time and cost about AUD.10.00-12.00.

All the rooms at "Simpsons" are different, some larger than others, and all have different features.. A couple of our "Superior" King-rooms on the first-floor have the original marble fireplaces (although we are not allowed to light them!) and more traditional decor. Then we have our smaller, more cosy Queen-bed "Dormer" attic-style rooms, with more contemporary decor, on the second-floor (note that there is elevator!!).

Our lovely old Heritage-listed house was built in 1892, for Member of Parliament, and was converted cleverly into a boutique hotel in 1988. Marie and I took over in 2000, carrying out sympathetic redecoration, and furnishing with interesting items and paintings. We enjoy sharing this "olde worlde" home with our guests from both Australia and various other countries. Being 120-years old, the house is far from perfect, with the odd paint chip here and there, and we do not have the state of the art decor of modern chain hotels, but all the creature comforts are provided to hopefully make your stay in Sydney enjoyable and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at Simpsons of Potts Point 4 nights in October 2012. Choosing among the myriad of hotels in Sydney isn’t that easy. But travelling to Sydney in October 2012 our eye caught Simpsons of Potts Point, because it reminded us of a beautiful boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia. Like that it is an old historic house (well, old for Australia) with nicely appointed rooms, a large lounge area with library. Staff is very, very helpful and accommodating, with lots of suggestions for things to do while in Sydney. Breakfast may seem simple, but it was fresh and of good quality. And we certainly didn’t miss anything.
The hotel is located near the entertainment district of Kings Cross, with lots of restaurants. It is also within walking distance of Kings Cross station, and convenient for walking to Sydney CBD, harbour and Opera House through the Botanical Garden. Simpsons would most certainly be our destination if and when we visit Sydney again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
A very nice summary from these American guests.

Yes, our lovely old house is quite unusual for Sydney.....it is one of three that were designed by the same Architect in about 1890. One other is now an European Consulate in the next suburb, and the third is still a private home (of a former Australian Prime Minister) in Woollahra, again a very nice suburb a few miles to the east.

We are in an area full of interesting restaurants and cafes, boutiques and shops, yet only about 10-15 minutes stroll to the bars and nightlife, and interesting shopping, of Kings Cross.

Best of all, the harbour is right on our doorstep. One day last year a mother whale and her calf were cavorting just down the steps at Woolooomoolloo....most unusual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at Simpsons several days prior to cruising out of Sydney. We arrived before check-in time after a long flight from the eastern U.S. and were offered a place to store our luggage and the use of a shower. Rhee, also offered us breakfast which was a nice touch and appreciated. The property is in excellent condition and very clean. Our room was on the top floor which required us to lug 4 heavy bags up several flights of stairs. We had the dormer room which is large and well appointed. The shower in the en-suite bathroom was incredibly powerful and made showering a real treat. The daily breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and some really nice crumpets - a first for these Americans. Keith was helpful in giving us directions as well as things to do and places to see. The only quibble I had and it is a minor one is the weak, intermittent signal of the WIFI in our room. All in all this is a great place to stay in the city with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The dormer is spacious with very good A/C and a fantastic shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate those positive comments. Thankyou!

One disadvantage of our lovely old home is that there is no elevator, and the dormer-rooms are on the second-floor, up two flights of stairs!

However, when Damien or I are around, we are always happy to help with luggage.

The WiFi generally works pretty well throughout the building and there is a repeater on each floor, which occasionally need "re-booting". This is of course, a simple and quick thing to do whenever we notice it! Possibly that was the problem when these guests were here. Both the computer in the front lounge, and the WiFi are complimentary.

We are glad that these guests enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast. And those English crumpets are delicious, especially with butter and honey, and / or peanut butter (hugely fattening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Reasonable location within walking distance of Sydney CBD through the Botanical Garden. In a nice area with cafes, restaurants, supermarket and launderette and access to public transport (bus and metro) quite close.

The house is lovely with a tastefully furnished sitting room. Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Free wifi was also good.

The owners were very helpfully and efficient. They gave good advice on what to see and do to make the best use of your time in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We are glad that these English guests enjoyed us and our Potts Point area.

They are quite right that this is a convenient place to live or to visit, with all the neighbourhood conveniences, as well as a myriad of interesting restaurants and cafes.

And Marie and I, Ree the Manager, and Damien our morning helper, do enjoy giving advice on things to do, places to visit, etc., to help our guests get the best out of their time in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.