We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint luxury in trendy Pott's Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Save Saved
You added Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Sydney B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint luxury in trendy Pott's Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent a couple of days at Simpson's in Pott's Point before a cruise out of Sydney and LOVED it. Quiet, comfortable and tasteful B+B in a lovely neighborhood of unique cafes, shops and services. Breakfast in the sunroom always a great way to start the day, with loads of helpful information from Keith and Ree. This is a real gem and especially nice for a solo traveler.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this period home so if you have large suitcases you might request a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We remember our nice Vancouver visitor.

Yes, we also think that "Simpsons" is perfect for the solo traveller, as we can more easily interact with our guests than one can in the anonynimity of large hotels.

Of course we understand that many guests prefer, or need, the facilities of modern chain hotels, but for those who would like to sample living in an attractive, interesting neighbourhood, rather than in the C.B.D., then Potts Point, and "Simpsons" might just suit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    136
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
457
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay at Simpsons was very enjoyable. They catered for all our needs and were so accommodating with the children. They were helpful and happily gave us any information about Sydney or the surrounding area we needed to make our visit even more worthwhile. I would recommend anyone to stay at Simpsons. The rhubarb, apple and raspberry compote at breakfast was delicious!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Glad that these guests enjoyed their stay with us, and I am please to say that their children were very well behaved. (as were their parents!!).

Again, we were able to point them in the right direction, especially for things of specific children interest, like the Aquarium, the WildLife World, Madame Tussauds, Taronga Zoo, ferry rides to the beaches of Manly and Watsons Bay, the Australian Natural History Museum and the Powerhouse Museum, the Maritime Museum (with its Russian Submarine and Australian warship to inspect), and of course the beautiful Botanic Gardens on the walk into town.

Sydney does have a lot to appeal to people of all ages, and we do enjoy making suggestions to our guests so that they can get the most out of their time in this lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Simpsons Hotel for the weekend, everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. It felt like arriving home to the a stunning mansion, the beautiful lounge the vast array of books, the soft lightening...bliss. We were greeted in the morning by the wonderful Keith and Ree, and they helped us plan a stunning day seeing Sydney at its best.Their tips on where to go made our stay extra special. I highly reccomend staying at Simpsons Hotel, it was one of my favourite places ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Wow Alishis!

Thanks for those great compliments!

Yes, we are lucky to live in Potts Point, and have our lovely historic old home.

Glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to show you some nice places to visit in this great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was in Sydney for business and absolutely loved this B&B. It was like being at home, but better.
I arrived in the late afternoon and was very warmly welcomed by Ree who showed me around and helped me with directions to the gym I wanted to go to. The room was comfortable with wifi, and even though the house was fully occupied, it was really quiet. I have several food allergies, but I had plenty of choices for breakfast - oh and taxis are abundant less than 1 block away. Overall I had a great stay in a lovely home. This is now my first hotel/B&B choice for when I travel to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We do enjoy hearing that guests have enjoyed their stay, and that they want to come back.

We are pleased that we have a lot of regular guests.....it is always rewarding to hear back from a returning guest.....that is the very best recommendation!

We are also pleased that Lisa liked our complimentary buffet breakfast. Nothing lavish, but a good healthy start to the day, with many choices of juices, cereals. breads, fruits, cold collations, and best of all, Marie's very popular home-made rhubarb and raspberry compote!

And yes, a new and very popular gym has just opened up the road, to supplement the larger "Fitness First" chain at Kings Cross. Potts Point is a very convenient local neighbourhood, with most facilities readily on hand, including supermarkets, laundries, corner stores, phamacies, banks, etc. to name just a few, as well as a myriad of great cafes and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Simpsons has incredible character and is a beautiful place to stay. We spent 11 days there and loved every one of them. It certainly felt like we were staying in a home not a hotel. From the moment we arrived Keith or Ree provided advice and guidance to maximize our enjoyment in Sydney and Damien always had a great breakfast ready for us. They listened closely to our interests and always had suggestions to keep us busy throughout our stay. Ree suggested we did not really need a rental car during our visit and she was absolutely right. Our frequent walks down to Woolloomooloo wharf and then across the incredible Royal Botanic Garden to downtown or Circular Quay was a real highlight of our visit. We would recommend Simpsons without reservation!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We well remember these great folk from Canada!

They are quite correct that the walk into the city is a real highlight, especially if one goes through the Royal Botanic Gardens.

Marie works in the city, near the historic Strand Arcade, and she walks each morning 20-minutes door-to-door! Coming back is a little more exercising, with the 116 steps up to Challis Avenue!

Sydney is better explored without a car, particulary using the excellent ferry service over to Manly or to Watsons Bay (from where one catches the convenient bus to Bondi Beach), or to the other harbourside subsurbs of Mosman, Balmain, etc.

The only outing where a car is helpful is to go north to the National Park, but even then the train to the Hawkesbury River is a convenient alternative, and catch the "Last Riverboat Postman" ferry boat to help deliver the mail to the "water access only" riverside villages is a unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

For our second visit to Sydney we wanted to stay in a small hotel and found Simpsons. A very good choice! Keith welcomed us in a very nice way and immediately made us feel at home and provided us with valuable information for our visit to Sydney. Nice authentic rooms with modern facilities like good beds, wi-fi internet access and a good and clean bathroom.

Potts Point is a great location for a stay in Sydney. The popular sites as the Opera House and Harbor Bridge are close (20 min. walk) and a very nice Sydney district Paddington is also very close. And for the party people: King Cross is literally around the corner without noticing this when you stay at Simpsons.

Knowing all this Simpsons would have been our first choice for our first visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: The Victoria room is the room with a glimpse of the city. Or as Keith mentioned: " The only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
What a kind Review. We would like to think that it accurately describes both us, our lovely old building, and the convenient and eclectic Potts Point neighbourhood.

Potts Point sems to have something for everyone, sophisticated boutique shops, restaurants and bars, and yet is still an easy 20-minutes stroll into the City, along the Harbourfront, and through the Domain Park or the Royal Botanic Gardens. And for the "night-owls", it is also within easy walking of the nightlife of Kings Cross and Oxford Street .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our second trip to Simpsons and we were immediately made to feel at home by Keith. On our last visit we had some issue with road noise at the front of the house and had therefore gone for a rear room this time. It turned out to be a great decision as we had 5 peaceful nights!
The position in Potts Point is simply perfect; close enough to the CBD to walk in through the park, a relaxing morning jog to the Opera House, and surrounded by all the great food and wine that Potts Point has to offer.
We would like to see a little care and attention being lavished on the rooms (a quick repaint etc. would go a long way) and some of the room furniture is well past its use-by date.
However, we will certainly be back next time we're in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We always love to hear from returning guests! The very best recomendation!

We don't normally hear any concerns about traffic noise from the front of the hotel, as we are set back from the road, and Challis Avenue is not a major thoroughfare.

Generally the house is pretty well insulated, both from extremes of temperature, and from ambient noise, being of triple-brick construction

The rooms at the back may be a little quiter, except on Wednesday mornings when the Recycler bottle-collectors sometimes make more noise that one would think possible! But I suppose that we are in an urban environment!

Maintenance is always on ongoing issue in old house (this one 120-years old). Whilst we do try to keep on top of things, sometimes the odd painting gets behind, and some of the furniture could be described as "shabby chic" although certainly servicable and comfortable.

We hope that our guests will forgive these occasional shortfalls, and hopefully keep on visiting to see ongoing improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.