We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a few nights - excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15%Off Superior Room Rate
Ranked #95 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for a few nights - excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights last week. The apartment was small but perfectly clean and had all the necessary inclusions. Bathroom could do with a refresh but was spotless. Desk service was very friendly and helpful.The big big plus for this hotel is its location - just up from George Street and close to all the shopping and attractions. Walking is a breeze. It is also close to two train stations which is a bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear GregLee1955,

Thank you for glowing review regarding your stay in Metro Hotel Central. It is of great assistance to us to get honest reviews from seasoned travelers. We always try to offer good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and we are glad that we succeeded this with your stay.

It is true that our hotel's location is excellent for all travelers visiting Sydney. We are close to a plethora of attractions, restaurants, shops and transport options.

I will forward your feedback to our team for their review.

We will be all looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    81
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
52
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent location.

Near to Thai Town. Good food around the area.
Walking distance to Central train station and Chinatown.

Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Room is big enough for two person and clean.

The only one which is missing is the complimentary internet access.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Zattie,

Thank you for your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the positive comments regarding your stay.

Regarding your feedback about the internet charges, please note that the hotel offers online packages for guests who book their accommodation in advance. These packages include complimentary internet access for the duration of the stay. For your next visit, feel free to contact our friendly reservations team to get more information about our offers. We are always happy to assist!

I hope that this reply has assisted you with your concerns. We will be looking forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, easy to walk down to Sydney Harbor and great location for shopping. Only taxi I caught was from airport to hotel. Hotel is clean and average, well priced for such a central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear LMN90,

Thank you for your latest stay and review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation in the city, combined with a friendly and polite service.

I will make sure that i will forward your feedback to all the relevant departments for their review.

We will be glad to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Close to CBD, Darling Harbour etc. And nearby Central Station (and car rentals). We had a (small) triple room with three separate beds. Fairly priced (compared with the other CBD hotels). The people from the reception were very kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Henry W,

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and for your kind comments regarding our staff. Thank you for your stay and time taken to leave your review.

Our great location gives access to all the attractions in the city and makes us a great option for both business and leisure travelers.

We will be looking forward to have you stay with us again during your next visit in Sydney. For all further feedback feel free to contact us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenning Valley, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were travelling with our teenage son so it is not always easy to get three people in a room and everyone gets a bed instead of one on a roll a way. Three comfortable single beds in a clean room for $70 a head, good value. Staff were friendly and the parking was only a short stroll up Pitt Street. The hotel is located near central and right across the road from the Capitol Theatre. We purchase mymulti passes for just over $20 and that entitles you to all travel on bus, train, ferry and light rail for the day. Light rail station is the next street over. We get the light rail to Darling Harbour, ferry to Circular Quay and then it's Watsons bay, Manly or the Zoo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Bob B,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for the comments left. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time in Sydney and that you found our property a good value for money place.

It is true that our location is really convenient for public transport access as we are very close to buses, trains and the light-rail lines.

I will forward your feedback to our front office team for their information. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had a lovely view of a brick wall, bathroom very small with toilet crammed in beside shower and you had to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper which was directly behind you on the wall. Water was leaking on the floor from the toilet and had been for a while by the look of the tiles. Only one for 2 people and no table, had to request 2nd chair. Poor tv reception. Apart from that, great central location to everything Sydney has to offer.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jodie 1964,

Thank you for your review and stay in our hotel. We are delighted that you have had a good overall experience and enjoyed our hotel location.

Rest assured, I will make sure that our maintenance will check the room that you mention for any unreported leaks and rectify any issues immediately.

Regarding your view comments, it is sad that as a City hotel, not all our rooms have district views. We always try to accommodate requests for street facing rooms, but due to limited availability we cannot guarantee these rooms to everyone.

I will forward your feedback to all relevant departments for their information. For anything further feel free to contact us at feedback @metrohg.com.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really good value. great location, brekkie ok will stay here when travelling to airport from now on. Will recommend to my clients too.
Very surprised that it has a pool :) We couldn't see if there was a spa. Next time we will definitely bring our cossies.
Small comfortable rooms, The decor was quite nice with red accenting touches.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the time taken to leave your feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your latest visit. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service and feedback always helps us improve. I will forward your remarks to all our relevant departments for their review and consideration.

We are now looking forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, 12-story hotel; close to Chinatown, Darling Harbor, Queen Victoria Building & 500m from Central railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.