We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #94 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in the Metro in Melbourne several times. This Sydney hotel was disappointing. We booked what was described as a " superior" room. To me it was far from it. For it to be superior, I'd expect a shower cubical and not a shower over bath with a curtain. Also the toilet was almost impossible to use for a large build person. Good job I wasn't 6 inches taller, I'd've had no chance. Also the rooms where very tired looking. I would stay again, but it would be nowhere near my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear BarneyBFC,

Thank you for the feedback left regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our rooms did not meet your expectations. All our rooms were refurbished less than one year ago and the feedback we generally get is quite positive.

I will forward your review to the hotel management team for their information.

We wish you all the best with your future travels.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    104
    72
    17
    8
See reviews for
49
73
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 nights here on a recent trip to Sydney to see the Lion King. We booked via Wotif.com.au and found the whole package very well priced. Room was clean, quiet and nice. As we arrived from early flights it was great that we were able to check in early. They did not have the room we booked - that was a communication/email problem - but immediately found us another which was very suitable. The staff at check in/out were efficient and friendly.
Only a 10 walk to Darling Harbor, Central Station, Paddy's Mkt, Chinatown and opposite the Capitol Theatre. It's not too far from a walk to the Rocks either.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Fwharry,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the review left. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and your time in Sydney.

It is true that our hotel is in a great location for all travelers to Sydney for work or leisure.

We will be happy to see you again during your next visit in our city.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at the Metro. The check in was super fast and the location is great as it is close to lots of eating places and across the road from the Capitol Theatre. It's located in Chinatown so you certainly won't go hungry.

We had a Superior Room which was located on the 11th floor with a double bed and a single bed. There was a door to an adjoining room. In that adjoining room was another couple and it was as if they were in our room. We could hear everything! The room itself is ok but a bit small. It looks likes its been renovated and the bathroom renovations were a bit dodgy. There was a tiny single rectangle basin (I suppose it was fairly new) but washing your face or trying to fill the kettle was a bit of a challenge.

At night time you could hear the 'revellers' in the street coming back from their night out so it certainly isn't a relaxing place to stay.

Downstairs in the main lobby the wingback chairs and the lounge suite has certainly seen better days. The wingback arm rests are all worn away and the lounge suite was scratched - not a first great impression really and unfortunately it's these things that visitors will notice and form an opinion.

If you were staying for an overnighter and didn't mind the noise, location wise it is great but if you wanted rest and relaxation, I'd consider somewhere else.

The double bed is a bit firm and the pillows rather flat.

Transport is close by and you can also walk to Darling Harbour in about 10 -15 minutes. If you wanted to walk to Circular Quay it's more of a walk but doable.

Don't think it would be my hotel of choice for my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Pina W,

Thank you for your recent visit in our hotel and for the feedback left. I am glad that you have overall enjoyed your last stay in our hotel, our location and service provided during your stay.

As you mentioned, all our rooms have been renovated less than a year ago. I am sorry that there were noisy guests next to you during your stay. The hotel has a no noise policy that our staff strictly enforce when informed. For your next stay, feel free to contact our front office if you have issues with noise in your room and our friendly staff will be happy to assist.

In regards to your feedback about our lobby areas, I would like to inform you that a soft refurbishment is under review. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant departments for their information.

I hope that this reply has assisted you with your concerns. All the best for your future travels.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had the most fun time in Sydney, Australia. We travelled from Vancouver, Canada to visit our son in Australia. This Hotel was the most helpful and kindest place to be. We were very nervous travelling a long way and understanding the transit system. Sony went above and beyond by printing out directions and giving us many suggestions of places to visit while we were in Sydney. This Hotel is Family priced, in perfect location in the heart of Sydney, close to everything including shopping and the Central Station. We would stay at this property again upon arriving in Sydney. Many thanks to the staff. The room was clean, quiet and we had all our amentities we needed!

Room Tip: Any room is fine, it is a very quiet hotel and comfortable hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Cupcakes413,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that your stay was pleasurable and that you had a nice time in our city.

We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service and it really helps when we receive such positive feedback.

I will forward your feedback about Sony to him for his information.

We are looking forward to your next trip in Sydney and to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a recent trip to Sydney to see the Lion King. We booked via Wotif.com.au very well priced. Room was clean, quiet and nice decor, the staff were efficient and friendly. Only a 10 walk to Darling Harbor, Central Station and opposite the Capitol Theater. Will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Bundy88,

Thank you for your recent stay with Metro Hotel Central and for the valuable feedback left regarding your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you had a great time in Sydney during your visit here.

It is true that our hotel is located in an excellent area of the City. We are close to most of the attractions that Sydney has to offer. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport and surrounded by a plethora of restaurants and shops.

I will forward your feedback about our staff to our front office team for their information.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us. For any further comments feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My daughter and I have just spent 3 days here while staying in Sydney. We went to see the Lion King which is at the Capitol Theatre, so close just a cross the road, so ideal. Room wasn't on the large side but still plenty of room and very clean and tidy. Nice decor and good television etc. Beds very comfy. Lighting a bit on the dark side as with many hotels, but still ok. Bathroom was a good size and excellent lighting in there. Nice to have a room with bath and shower. We needed the bath each night to soak sore feet! Plenty of walking around all day! Very central to Paddys Market, Powerhouse Museum, World Square Shopping Centre, Central Station, Town Hall Station etc. As well as many shops nearby and restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good pool on roof top, not that we got to use it in the end. We spent too much time out and about. Buffet breakfast a reasonable price and a good variety of hot and cold foods. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Strickes,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Central and for the time taken to leave your feedback. It always makes us feel good when we receive positive feedback from seasoned travelers!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel location and overall stay experience. It is true that we are located in a perfect location for visitors to the City regardless if they are here for work or leisure.

I will forward your feedback to our departments for their review. We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here with friends to go see a show at the Capitol. Straight across the road so very convenient and also close to China town, transport etc. The room was small but well maintained and very quiet for such a busy city area. All was clean and tidy and service was friendly and quick. I'd definitely recommend this as accommodation for anyone wanting to stay in this part of Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Areeni,

Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is ideally located across the street from the Capitol Theatre and many of our guests are currently here for the Lion King play.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your latest stay with us. I will forward your feedback to our team for their review.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, 12-story hotel; close to Chinatown, Darling Harbor, Queen Victoria Building & 500m from Central railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.