We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, A GOOD HOTEL TO STAY AND VISIT SIDNEY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Sydney Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metro Hotel Sydney Central
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #98 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, A GOOD HOTEL TO STAY AND VISIT SIDNEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights. Great location (closest to the main street and tube stop). The rooms are cosy, pretty spacious and conveniently refurbished; moreover they are containing all you need for a pleasant stay and having also an high standard of clearness. The staff is very friendly and the ratio quality/price is really very good...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Gio1962car,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation and service in Sydney.

It is true that our hotel is just minutes away from all major Sydney attractions like Darling Harbour, Entertainment Center, Chinatown, Paddy's Markets, the city's dining and cinema districts and only a short walk for business guests to all major corporate and government offices, making it an ideal location to explore Sydney.

We hope to have you or your friends stay with us again during your next visit in Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    129
    139
    39
    31
See reviews for
64
105
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

For the price it was reasonable and when asked, the management put a new mattress on the bed to replace the 1920's one that was on the bed. The biggest problem was the noise late at night and early morning from the other guests (Asian girls) going from room to room and singing or talking. It was very noisy and hard to sleep. Could have been better but is in a good central location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear TheYAK,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the feedback left.

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your latest stay and we will be looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay here from 4 to 7 August 2013 at room 703. It's a double room but have one double and single bed. Room was nice, clean and well maintain. The best part is the location, very well situated in the central, very easy access to all transport, whether it's light rail, free shuttle or buses.
Breakfast not so good, the same everyday.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear DornaM,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation in Sydney CBD and we are happy to know that we have achieved this in your case.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here overnight on business, and was surprised by the low rate. However:
Tv did not work-picture but no sound.
The mattress was flat, hard and lumpy, but clean linen.
Staff cocked up my Internet order.
The thin walls made it very noisy.
Could not sit on the toilet straight owing to cramped bathroom.
Very central.... About the only good thing.

Next time ill pay a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Cheap&Cheerful,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your latest stay in our hotel. I am sorry to learn that your latest stay did not meet the high standards that we have set for our guests.

I have passed your commends to the relevant department heads to identify what went wrong and avoid similar issues in the future.

Please feel free to contact us if there is anything further that you need to raise.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and thought the facilities were very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great, close to Central Station and all the facilities you need. I had two issues. Firstly, with so many visitors from Melbourne it is important that they can watch the AFL on TV. 7Mate did not work, when I enquired the guy at reception told me that 7Mate has not worked at the hotel for 2 months. The second issue is the price of wi-fi, $15 a day?? Otherwise a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear CricketUmpire,

Thank you for your feedback and recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you have overall enjoyed your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central.

I will forward your comments regarding your TV reception to our maintenance department to check if it is possible to update the channel list.

Regarding the internet charges, please note that the hotel has offers online (in various websites) where internet is included in the accommodation for guests who prebook their stay with us.

I hope that this email has assisted you with your remarks. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for the lions tour i was surprised we got the room at such a competitive rate given how busy the hotel and city were.Great overall value, service from the front desk was excellent. Location is good really central, the room was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear James D,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the invaluable feedback left. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation option in the heart of Sydney CBD.

Our hotel is in an excellent location for business and leisure travelers alike. We will be happy to have you visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We got a late special on wotif for an upgrade to a deluxe room on a Saturday nigh for $140. When we arrived we were upgraded to a master suite on the top floor! The hotel was great for doing things down the Central end of town, eg the outlets at Haymarket, book store at Central and a short walk to the QVB. It was very well furnished and was very quiet, especially considering its so close to the train line. Will definitely stay here again, it would be a perfect place to stay if you were seeing a show at the Capital!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sall13h,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your last stay with us.

I will pass your comments to the rest of our team.

We will be looking forward to your future visits.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metro Hotel Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Sydney Central 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, 12-story hotel; close to Chinatown, Darling Harbor, Queen Victoria Building & 500m from Central railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Metro Hotel Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Sydney Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.