We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong booking, a nice apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adara Camperdown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adara Camperdown to your Saves list
Adara Camperdown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-33 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia (Formerly Quest Camperdown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Wrong booking, a nice apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Adara Camperdown has two complexes, one on Parramatta Road and the other on Missenden Road near the PRA Hospital. I thought I had booked an Executive Suite in the former, but I had booked suite in the latter. Turned out to be a good mistake as we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite and our new car was able to manoeuvre very easily in the basement car park. The suite was excellent and we really enjoyed our two night stay. Only concerns were that the two bathrooms need work to remove mould and the TV instructions are poor and we could only get cable channels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear StephenR285,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Adara, Camperdown.

The television system is currently being upgraded to make your viewing experience easier and more enjoyable, as we strive to do our best in accommodating for our guests requirements.
Thank you for your feedback, we will consider this for our future guests.

We are pleased that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Robert Alam
Property Manager
0290287900
ralam@adaraapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
27
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I've stayed at the Parramatta Rd complex about 6-8 times over the past couple of years - this was my first stay under the Adara name.
Good points: check-in seemed much faster / smoother, room was tidy, there were new additional bathroom goodies (toothbrush etc).
Bad points: Unless you're lucky enough to get a room back from Parramatta Rd, the rooms can be noisy. No Foxtel.

Wifi - good and bad. Bad that it costs $10 per night, but great that there's no limits, and you can ask for multiple logins for laptops / ipads etc. Overall, it's worth the expense.

I stay here when visiting Sydney University for work - perfect location (I can walk everywhere) and great location to eat out at a variety of restaurants.

I'll keep coming back :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, and up high
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Newtown/Camperdown are really lacking places for overnight stays. I think the Adara really caters for people needing to stay near the hospital but it is still quite handy to King Street. The interior of our room was bland and could really do with being painted a different colour...not green throughout...the bathroom looked a bit mouldy and had yucky water stains on the ceiling...just old and needs replacing...on the upside the bed was comfy and it was clean...which is all we really needed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Luka34,

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our convenient location to King Street, Newtown and that you found the apartment clean and comfortable. I think now is the perfect time to let you know that Adara Camperdown [Missenden Road property] has begun a refurbishment program. I trust we will be able to welcome you back to a refreshed apartment in the near future.

Robert Alam
Property Manager
0290287900
ralam@adaraapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed at two bedroom apartment with three friends for conference. Apartment was well appointed everything you need. Was put off cooking though as sign to say keep cooking on low as guests are charged for fire engine should to fire alarm go off. Indeed some other guest did set alarm off whilst we were there so they would have got over $1000 bill.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Ann and Alan H,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you found the apartment comfortable and value for money. Adara Camperdown is conveniently placed near the University of Sydney, RPA hospital and the shopping and eateries of King Street, Newtown. The fire alarm notice is posted in the apartment kitchen to remind guests to be mindful of always turning on the range hood exhaust fan to extract steam and smoke when cooking. NSW Fire Brigade charges a call out fee for false alarms. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adara Camperdown when you next require accommodation in the area.

Robert Alam
Property Manager
0290287900
ralam@adaraapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at the Parramatta Road complex for the first time since the Adara name has been on the door and although happy, you can tell the complex is starting to feel age.

The good things:
Location near hospital
Next door to an excellent cafe (Deus)
Close to Sydney City
There might be street parking available nearby.

The bad:
Noisy. Being next to a hospital, how could they have overlooked the fact there would be ambulances with sirens blazing driving past regularly. Had they never heard of double glazing?
Smelly bathrooms.
Stuffy rooms. Why do the windows only open 3cm in the upstairs rooms? I doubt Spiderman is going to break in here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The outstanding service, especially of Isabelle the receptionist, made our stay at the Missenden Road apartment a cut above the average. The rooms are quite spacious and immaculately clean.
Parking underneath was a bit tight, but well priced at $20 a night. The apartment was very well located, walking distance to Sydney University where our daughter was graduating, and across the road from RPA. Excellent restaurants line King Street, a kilometre or so away at the end of Missenden Road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, General Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Roger 255057

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at Adara Camperdown. Your kind words regarding Isabel have been passed on. I am pleased you explored the King Street strip and the wonderful array of restaurants on offer. I hope we may look forward to a return visit from you as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back when you next require accommodation in the area.

Robert Alam
Property Manager
0290287900
ralam@adaraapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 BR, 2 bath apartment on the top floor and whilst not cheap it was clean and spacious with pretty good service from reception. Nothing to complain about and overall a good experience. Parking was a little cramped and Wi Fi offered in the package.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert-Alam, General Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear MickandRina F

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased you were happy with the accommodation we provided and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Adara Camperdown again in the future.

Robert Alam
Property Manager
0290287900
ralam@adaraapartments.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adara Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Camperdown

Address: 23-33 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia (Formerly Quest Camperdown)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adara Camperdown 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adara Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adara Camperdown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.