We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quest's apartments on Parramatta Road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adara Camperdown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adara Camperdown to your Saves list
Adara Camperdown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23-33 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia (Formerly Quest Camperdown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Quest's apartments on Parramatta Road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Quest Camperdown has two complexes, one on Missenden Road and the more up market Quest Executive Apartments at 108 Parramatta Road which is about 200 metres from the Missenden Road property. The rooms are studio apartments with kitchenettes. The bathrooms only have showers. The property is easy to access from the city being on the corner of Parramatta Road and Lyon Street, but beware that there is no right turn into Lyon street when approaching from the city. Parking is a shared surface car park located across the street behind the apartments with access of Lyon Street. Adjacent street parking is tight and we usually race in and check in and get keys and code for the carpark and then once parked take up luggage to our room. Its a very handy hotel if visiting the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and you can avoid hefty parking bills elsewhere and leave you car in the carpark till you are finished.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise if you are located on the Lyon Street side, but it is easy to ignore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review for Quest Camperdown!

We do have 2 fantastic complexes within 200m away from each other. In our Missenden Road's complex, we have the larger full serviced apartments that are ideal for long stays guests and in the Parramatta Road's complex, we have the modern executive apartments that are equipped with kitchenettes and common laundry room complimentary for all guests use.

Both complexes are very much accessible to the RPA hospital as well as the University of Sydney. Buses directly outside both sites also provide convenient access via a 10 minutes ride into the city.

We are glad that Quest Camperdown caters to your needs and look forward to welcome you back again!

Thanks.

Kind regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
27
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

While reception was unmanned when I wanted to check in and no-one was answering the phone, once I found someone the experience was great. The rooms are small but fully kitted out with everything you need - great little kitchen, lovely fresh bathroom, TV positioned directly in front the bed (yippee) and a little balcony to boot. Regular buses go past the front door and 15-20 minutes later you are at the Opera House with all the other tourists. Don't forget crazy and eclectic King Street either, just a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with this feedback. Direct feedback from our past guests in a pivotal part in ensuring that we continue to further develop our property and continue to grow.

You are right in saying that we are in prime location for Sydney visitors. We hope that you had time to ensure some of the attractions in close proximity. (We are within 10 minutes from Sydney CBD.)

We are glad that you found your recent stay in our executive apartment to be a suitable option for yourself . The executive apartments are equipped with kitchenette facilities and in some rooms, a nice little balcony for those who likes to sit and relax in the open.

In relation to the reception being unmanned, I will certainly pass your feedback on to all front office staff members as at the time of your arrival, they may have been attending to another guest. we hope that you did not have to wait too long and are thrilled that the service given when they were with you was satisfactory.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay here each month as we visit the RPA and travel six hours each way.

On our last visit I had to stay in the hospital for six days leaving my wife looking to stay somewhere.

We weren't sure from day to day how long I would need to stay and my wife was quite upset. Luckily nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they held a room each day till the doctor had seen me.

This is an older property but clean, comfortable and a lot of rooms are refurbished. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this property.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Quest Camperdown is very conveniently located to the Royal Price Alfred Hospital, in fact quite a number of our guests often stay with us for the same reason and we understand how important it is to be flexible with our guests, due to the constant changing appointments at the hospital.

Our staff are well aware that some of our guests may be having a particularly difficulty time, especially when a family member is in hospital and we aim to make to stay with us as ‘stress free’ and easy for you as it can be.

We are thrilled that this is reflected in the interactions that the front office staff have with our guests and look forward to seeing you next time, hopefully for a leisure stay.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a lovely little hotel in a convenient location. It was in immaculate order and very comfortable. Close to reasonable meal options - great little Korean restaurant just up the road to the west.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It’s great that you have given such positive feedback!

Indeed, we are very lucky to be in close proximity to quite a few nice restaurants. We look forward to welcome you back again to Quest Camperdown.

Please feel free to contact us if there's anything else that we can assist!

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovley time but a lot of trouble with the interenet everybody there was lovley and I thoughly enjoued our stay would go back definitely.It is a self-catering apartment with lovley vetoes and a nice central location perfect for b buses trains and other transport it also has a car park below which is well contained

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.

It’s great to know that you enjoyed the service provided from our staff. Here at Quest Camperdown, we strive to be the "home away from home" for all guests.

We are also glad that you have enjoyed our self catered apartments and fantastic location.

On the internet issues that you have encountered, we have passed them on to our Information Technology team to look into and hope that you experience a speedier internet connection next time.

Please feel free to contact Robert Alam, our new property manager or myself at T: 02 9028 7900 should you require any further assistance.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The upkeep of this apartment was not impressive. The Kitchen benchtop was damaged and on first impression you thought you may have just walked into the slums. Otherwise the kitchen was well self-contained for your own cooking. If the owners can not repair the similar laminated benchtop it's incorrectly priced for value. The apartment had overall accessibility to the street and walk out to the pool was very handy for a quick dip, and relaxation. Apartment did not have air-conditioning in the bedrooms however a reverse cycle air con was available in the lounge/living area. Laundry and bathrooms well maintained and clean.
It was within walking 50 -100 metres near the RPA hospital, Sydney University Colleges and a short stroll to King Street Newtown where many cafe's and restaurants can be found. good coffee outlets and Deuss cafe nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms (2 br apartments) near the pool are very accessible to the outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our property to work and continue to improve.

It’s great that you mentioned how conveniently located we are in relation to the Royal Price Albert Hospital, universities and King Street. (Also within a ten minute drive to the Sydney CBD) We are very lucky to be surrounded by such an array of coffee shops, nightclubs and the hustle and bustle that Sydney has to offer. I hope that you were able to find the time to enjoy some of this during your stay.

You have also highlighted a few other areas that we will pass on to be actioned by our housekeeping team. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as feedback is one of the best way in us to continue to strive for excellence. In addition, Quest Camperdown is also undergoing its next round of refurbishment to the Missenden Road site and we will be excited to have you back once refurbishment is complete.

Meanwhile, please feel free to contact myself or Robert Alam, our new property manager at 02 9028 7900 when you next stay stay with us at Quest Camperdown as we will ensure that you will be well taken care of.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was not clear from the booking site that we would be staying across Paramatta road and not opposite the hospital. Our room on the second floor at the back was tiny; it smelled of smoke; there was a 'click/clack' sofa but you really had to sit on the bed to see the TV; the kitchenette comprised a sink, microwave, toaster, jug and small fridge; the bathroom was adequate. We had expected the usual one bedroom apartment we had enjoyed previously in other Quest apartments around Australia. Parking was back at the other property and was extremely limited. Our room lost power for about 90 minutes as did the rest of our floor. No explanation was given nor any apology. Staff were friendly but this experience left us disappointed and possibly a little less tolerant than usual - hence this review. The bed was clean and comfortable and the banging of pipes or doors only an intermittent annoyance. Lighting was dreadful and this appears to be a trend with economical low voltage globes - only a problem when natural light is limited I guess!

Room Tip: maybe inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharine B, Manager at Adara Camperdown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the confusion that you have experienced. We have recently had a change in management and are currently reviewing our front office procedures to ensure that stronger communication and confirmation are followed up with guests. This will help ensure that our guests are directed to the right site and informed of any downtime in services.

We are glad that you have found the kitchenette and bathroom useful for your stay and our reception team being friendly. We endeavour to provide a high level of service to our guests and will love to welcome you back to experience our true level of service.

Please feel free to contact me direct on 02 9028 7900 if there are any other areas that I can be of assistance.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Sharine Boey
Quest Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adara Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Camperdown

Address: 23-33 Missenden Road | Camperdown, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia (Formerly Quest Camperdown)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adara Camperdown 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adara Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adara Camperdown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.