We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for a stop over but not ideal for a weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Talavera Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Leeton
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A good place for a stop over but not ideal for a weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a funny sort of place. It is part of the Macquarie University Management School and the staff were like work experience kids. The rooms were funky, clean and very modern and was ideal for us as we arrived there early evening, went to a function nearby, went to bed late and checked out early the next morning. We saw no other guests at all and the atmosphere of the whole place was like a city office block on a Saturday afternoon. We got a reasonable rate on Wotif which was much lower then other nearby Hotels which was a influencing factor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Very nice play to stay for a conference. Rooms are smallish but modern and clean. Basic but nice breakfast. Parking available and close to public parking. One of the quitest places i have stayed at in Sydney

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Located in a quiet side, this hotel is great for those who want a clean room with free Internet access. Getting into the hotel is pretty tricky and car park is far from the hotel - it can be a problem if you have to walk with boxes and bags. However, there is a place to set down and pick up. The room is furnished ok and the bathroom is clean but is small. There is a nice lounge chair in every room which is great if you want to do some reading. And there's self-service laundry facilites. There's also an in-house restaurant. Easily accessible to Macquarie University.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Service from front desk was average - messy area behind reception with a heap of archive boxes stacked on top of each other - not very "executive" or 4 star. The receptionist did not look very experienced or polished - not the professional image I was expecting. The room was surprsingly clean and modern and the location not too bad. Airconditioning very loud in room.

Liked most the modern decor in room

Liked least the fact the car park was so far from the foyer (no porter). Had to walk about 400m in the rain and dark to get back after parking. Receptionist said there was a short cut through event centre but was probably locked and if I didnt want to park in car park which was far away I could leave my car on the street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

An interesting place to stay that was full of surprises for our stay.
We booked through wotif.com and there was really no indication that the hotel was part of or attached to the Macquarie School of Management, the only real clue would have been the MGSM in the name, but there was no explanation of the name, or it's proximity to the university. This was a surprise, but wasn't particularly a bad thing, we stayed on the weekend and the place was very quite - Did not run into any other guests or students.

The room itself was very tasteful - better than we were expecting with fresh looking furnishing and appointments, checkin was friendly and checkout was trouble free.

The location was quite good, and close to just about everything you may need.

There were just two things we were not overly expecting and probably expected a bit more from. Firstly the room's air conditioner - Loud is an understantement, it sounded like a truck running along the road at full noise, this was apparent to us, perhaps largely related to the 40 degree weather during our stay, the aircon though was very very good, keeping us super cool despite the high outside temp. The gardens and surrounds were very nice too - although check-in and parking made it clear that you were at the university.

The second downside was the onsite parking. It was not particularly close to the room, and required a fairly long walk, it was also not particularly secure.

On reading this review it might sound a little negative, but that's not my intention. We were pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the room and really enjoyed our stay.

We would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This is an exceptional hotel for a solo business traveller needing to access the North West Suburbs of Sydney.

This is my choice of hotel in Sydney when travelling on my own. This is a good executive hotel with good service, great facilities and friendly staff. There are few Sydney hotels with free internet, free parking, realistically priced restaurant and such good rooms.

The hotel is part of the Macquarie Graduate Business School meaning campus type buildings and the hotel on the edge of them. My experience has been a very quiet hotel. If you are looking for a party hotel, this is not it! If you are wanting very clean, very new and very quiet location - this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Beautiful peaceful surroundings overlooking small lake in the sculpture park.
Room pretty small and basic, with a 'ledge' off the side which is advertised as a balcony.
Staff in the restaurant were not very competent - only about twenty other people in the restaurant, yet I had to wait over an hour for my food because they were 'too busy'.
Front desk staff rude and not very helpful in all aspects of dealing with them. Most notably I asked to leave my bags there during the day after I had checked out - after much huffing and puffing, staff member eventually grunted 'ok'. Returned that afternoon to find my bags not locked in the luggage room as requested, but sitting out in the open in the bar area. Excuse was that I had not put them in the luggage room myself and they shouldn't be expected to do it. Not bad considering they'd made the effort to drag my bag (which contained my laptop) out into the bar, right past the luggage room.......
Probably great for older people, but if you are young expect to get treated like a second-class citizen.

  • Liked — Proximity to MacQuarie Uni campus and quiet surroundings
  • Disliked — The staff, without question
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 99 Talavera Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgsm Executive Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.