We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall comfortable and friendly but value?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Talavera Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2113, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overall comfortable and friendly but value?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have stayed here a few times for business. On the whole, it is a good place to stay if you have business immediately nearby - otherwise, I think for the price, you can do better elsewhere in Sydney (e.g. my recent stay at the Meriton Apartments on Pitt St right in the middle of Sydney was cheaper, while still being a very good property, and I regularly stay in North Sydney for much less as well). However, if you do need to stay in this area or on the Macquarie campus, I recommend this property over the Travelodge Macquarie as the rooms here are more luxurious and the staff are far better trained. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and clean with very modern decor and updated bathrooms, and the 'lake' view is pleasant (lots of birds, sometimes kangaroos). On this stay, my mattress was saggy and I found it uncomfortable, perhaps it is time it was replaced. The airconditioner was a bit too noisy, but as it was a warm night, it was a bit too warm in the room with it turned off. Breakfast is good with cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, juices, yogurt, as well as a hot buffet, although on this stay, there weren't enough people to offer the hot buffet and although you could order the same food separately, I hadn't planned around waiting for food to be cooked (and the gentleman in the restaurant was a bit slow at bringing out the menu and letting us know the situation regarding the lack of buffet - I had already started eating something else). Although I don't like their coffee machine, they can sometimes be convinced to make you a proper coffee out the back. I think the restaurant is pretty good for a restaurant in a hotel on a university campus (some grumbles from vegetarian colleagues about the limited veg options). If you are without a car, the campus is a bit dark and isolated at night, although it is not a long walk from the train station and the Macquarie shopping centre is also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Lake rooms have a relaxing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, Kent
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent stay and value for money. You get free WiFi as part of your stay which is hard to find in Australia(150Mbps!). Free access and use of the business computers / printer.

Free access to the gym and surrounding park. Breakfast is great, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, pastries ou can order from the menu cooked items if you like. They hae free coffee/latte machine in reception.

Also guest laundry is free and has washer / dryer facilities. (Just need to purchase some detergent. I purchased mine from macquarie shopping centre- Woolworths store for €3)

The rooms are cosy, with a flat panel tv, kettle, steam iron and board, towels and power shower.

Room service is only an extra $4 on top of the bill from the on site restaurant Lanchans.

The hotel also offers a free shuttle service in the mornings for the surrounding Macquarie area.

Train station is only a 10 minute walk as well as the Macquairie shopping centre.

Personally I would recommend a stay here. I stayed for 14 nights and had no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had to attend a one-day conference in North Sydney, and rather than drive to an from Canberra in a day, we thought we'd split the seven hours of driving over a weekend, finding a place to stay overnight. However, on hunting around, it looked like any hotels that were both affordable and conveniently located would be chains situated along the main roads, and in Sydney that can be very noisy indeed. One otherwise acceptable establishment had the Pacific Highway in front and the railway behind!

This one looked a bit of an oddball. Not a chain, apparently part of Macquarie University. But the reviews were positive, so we gave it a try.

Very glad we did! The hotel is situated just off a main road, under the Sydney airport flightpath, but the rooms are well insulated and the outlook onto lawns, bushland and a lake more than makes up. Birdlife is plentiful and it is a treat to just wander around, resting the eyes in all that green!

The rooms are a little on the small side, especially in the bathroom area, but no more than any chain. They are modern, neat, efficient and clean, each with a small balcony. Sitting outside with a cup of coffee, watching the ducks lead their fluffy family past, is a pleasure.

Checkin went very smoothly, the restaurant breakfast was good value, especially with Jay Jay looking after us (though I got the impression that if there was a crowd she would be overloaded) and the comfy lounge chairs with fresh newspapers were an extra bonus. There is a small bar, but we didn't indulge, instead travelling a few minutes to a Thai restaurant, where the food was delicious.

Parking was through a boomgate, with a bit of a walk back to the hotel, but some guests parked in the "turnaround" near the entrance, which was okay as there was plenty of room, or out on the frontage road, which is what we did on returning from dinner.

Overall, I loved it. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the rooms fronting onto the lake view. We had room 212, so Rooms 201-220 and 301-320 would be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

The room here are great but I wish I could say the same about the food good prices but the quality I'd very disappointing dry over cooked fish for dinner dry over cooked eggs for breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great hotel, excellent location and very helpful staff. Breakfast was very good with great variety. The grounds were really lovely, only downside was the noisy birds in the morning

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location if you have to visit the Macquarie Uni or offices etc in North Ryde. It is often cheaper than Travellodge next to it.
Very modern interior, clean and parking is free. It does have a restaurant but I haven't tried the food there. Normally I just walk or drive to the Macquarie shopping center which has a variety of restaurants.
Gym is very basic but it does have a treadmill, bicycle and a rowing machine and a multi functional weight trainer.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed for graduation of family member. Squeezy for two people - designed for the solo conference goer or visiting academic. It looks like a rubbish blond brick motel but the rooms are way more stylish than that and the food is surprisingly good! The vista is over a lake with water birds and sculpture - misty morning very pleasant and short stroll to the graduation ceremony (done with just the right amount of pomp and modernity).

The university has great grounds and most people took good advantage following the ceremony with picnics and walks. A hidden resource only 20mins from city centre by train from the uber modern station at the university.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 99 Talavera Road, Sydney, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgsm Executive Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MGSM Executive Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.