We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracefull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gracefull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. The food is good and great room service options. Close to the centre and in walking distance to Darling harbour, Circular Quay and the Rocks. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Look for special deals o the internet that includes wi-fi and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Feleciavh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and are recommending us to other travellers as well.

We also offer a Triple B package which includes, Bed, Broadband and Breakfast which can be found on our website.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    662
    157
    43
    26
See reviews for
129
572
94
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south coast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Grace is easy to find and a great location to city sights. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable bed and great shower. Staff were very efficent and friendly with phone enquiries prior to our visit aned just the same on our arrival and check-in. Breakfast was delicious. We made a great choice, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ours was on the 7th floor and we didn't have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear beanandeasy,

I appreciate your time taken to write a feedback on the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay and found our team members to be friendly and accommodating.

Hopefully this good word will be shared with your family and friends as well. We do look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location is fantastic with only a 5 min walk to the CBD shopping area or 5 mins to Darling Harbour. The service is fantastic and very helpful. The rooms them self are very outdated and very small. Our bathroom was a shower over bath, and not much bench space. The room was small and felt dark and old. The bed was comfy and the room clean, althought he carpet looked very old so didnt feel clean. The buffet was terrible, the worst I have eaten. Eggs after 2 requests werent cooked hard, tomatos were like mashed tomatos, the mushrooms were like cold tinned champigions. No service for coffee / tea - you help yourself. Juice was left empty had to ask for more juice. Other than the location and service this hotel doesnt have much to offer unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Frequentoztravellers,

Thank you for taking your time to write a feedback on The Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Please allow me to apologise for we have fallen short of your expectations during your recent stay especially during your breakfast in the hotel. Rest assured your comment has been shared with our Executive Chef and the Restaurant Manager for a review.

The Grace Hotel does provide our guests with newly refurbished Neo King room with a luxurious walk-in shower. Some of the hotel rooms face inward to the atrium which are a lot quieter, however if guests prefer rooms facing out on the street can be requested upon check-in.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and hopefully we are able to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

For me, the location was ideal, close to Darling Harbour and George Street. The rooms are big with good workspace, and a comfortable bed. The front desk staff are super friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast buffet is better than average, and the seafood buffet they serve mid-week was fantastic and great value.
The internet didn't really work in the rooms, so I spent more time than normal in the lobby where the wi-fi was perfect. Apart from that, the hotel bar is lively and they have good pub grub. Also, a couple of nice after-work bars just across the traffic lights.
Nice place, good ambience and good value too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DougPeris,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and writing a feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read your positive feedback especially that you were able to experience our warmth hospitality. The Grace Hotel is very fortunate to be situated in such a prime location near the main attractions in the Sydney CBD.

I am very disappointed to read however, that you had difficulties with the wireless internet connecting in your room and this resulted in you utilising the internet in the lobby. Please note that the hotel rooms offer guest cable-connected internet as well as wi-fi.

Once again, thank you for you feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Grace Hotel is my preferred hotel in Sydney CBD for business and pleasure. It is close to Martin Place, Cockle Bay and an easy walk to Darling Harbour and The Rocks. The hotel also has a lot of interesting history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DavidArmidale,

Thank you for taking your time to write a feedback on our hotel.

I am very glad to read that the Grace Hotel is the chosen hotel for your business and pleasure accommodation whilst you are in Sydney. Hopefully this good word is shared with your family and friends as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and i spent 5 nights at the Grace Hotel in April. We stayed in a premium King room and breakfast was included each day. We also decided to have the seafood buffet on one of the nights as well. Room was extremely spacious and modern and clean. House keeping do a great job in the presentation of the rooms. Buffet breakfast in the brasserie was first class, everything was hot and fresh with a lot of time put into the presentation. The seafood buffet was very nice but could do with more options but overall very good. Staff were all pleasant and friendly and the place has a good feel to it. I stayed in many top hotels and this is up there with them. I have no hesitation in recommending The Grace Hotel to anyone, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to write a feedback on us.

I am very pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to dine in our Grace Brasserie for both breakfast and dinner for the Seafood Buffet.

Thank you for recommending us for other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed on business. Perfectly acceptable homogenous hotel room, on the large size for Sydney. My request for a quiet higher floor was accommodated, and I was not disappointed. Comfortable bed, roomy shower/bathroom, friendly staff. Room service food options and prices were reasonable, and the food was fine. Breakfast buffet also fine. The management could consider upgrading the very small and slightly tired gym on the top level if they want to appeal more to the business traveler. Lack of free wifi is disappointing. Please consider providing this for guests in the public area foyer at least! Overall a nice hotel, lacking any real pizazz but offering all the basics at a good standard that one expects when staying in 4 star CBD hotel.

Room Tip: Higher courtyard facing are quiet but as a consequence have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.