We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Grace Hotel is my preferred hotel in Sydney CBD for business and pleasure. It is close to Martin Place, Cockle Bay and an easy walk to Darling Harbour and The Rocks. The hotel also has a lot of interesting history.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear DavidArmidale,

Thank you for taking your time to write a feedback on our hotel.

I am very glad to read that the Grace Hotel is the chosen hotel for your business and pleasure accommodation whilst you are in Sydney. Hopefully this good word is shared with your family and friends as well.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    537
    126
    36
    24
See reviews for
100
477
83
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and i spent 5 nights at the Grace Hotel in April. We stayed in a premium King room and breakfast was included each day. We also decided to have the seafood buffet on one of the nights as well. Room was extremely spacious and modern and clean. House keeping do a great job in the presentation of the rooms. Buffet breakfast in the brasserie was first class, everything was hot and fresh with a lot of time put into the presentation. The seafood buffet was very nice but could do with more options but overall very good. Staff were all pleasant and friendly and the place has a good feel to it. I stayed in many top hotels and this is up there with them. I have no hesitation in recommending The Grace Hotel to anyone, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to write a feedback on us.

I am very pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to dine in our Grace Brasserie for both breakfast and dinner for the Seafood Buffet.

Thank you for recommending us for other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed on business. Perfectly acceptable homogenous hotel room, on the large size for Sydney. My request for a quiet higher floor was accommodated, and I was not disappointed. Comfortable bed, roomy shower/bathroom, friendly staff. Room service food options and prices were reasonable, and the food was fine. Breakfast buffet also fine. The management could consider upgrading the very small and slightly tired gym on the top level if they want to appeal more to the business traveler. Lack of free wifi is disappointing. Please consider providing this for guests in the public area foyer at least! Overall a nice hotel, lacking any real pizazz but offering all the basics at a good standard that one expects when staying in 4 star CBD hotel.

Room Tip: Higher courtyard facing are quiet but as a consequence have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now and would happily recommend it as the rooms are comfortable, well presented and have everything you would expect. The location is ideal for CBD business or as a central base for a Sydney city break. Close to numerous transport options and restaurants. The building was apparently Inspired by the neo-Gothic Tribune Tower in Chicago and I particularly like the Art Deco architectural style. I have yet to eat at the restaurant or utilise its pool facilities. As long as you avoid the hairdresser which I believe is run independently but is based at the hotel you should have a very nice stay.

Room Tip: High rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely restoration of the old Grace bros. building, Staff were excellent, initial mix up on room was fixed quickly and graciously, excellent buffet brekkie, concierge was very helpful especially after we got a flat tyre thursday arvo before good friday he found us a place to have it repaired. It is a great location, rooms are clean and functional (not big ).

It is a little pricey (thats Sydney though, overpriced) but we got a good deal including breakfast by booking early through a seperate site! Parking is an issue and overpriced (Sydney again :) ! Small pool, spa and Gym were used

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Air Con didn't work in my room and it was freezing and after numerous complaints and being told it was fixed they finally moved me to a new room. For the new room they room key didn't work and the TV had reception issues and that was the best room they had available.
I have stayed here a few times and held conferences here and it has been good but it seems to have gone down hill since last time I stayed.
I've had a terrible night and after almost 3 hours I am still waiting for the issues to be resolved - not the way I had planned to spend my night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Grace is a hotel that we will without doubt use each time we return to Sydney, the service is very efficient, from entering the lobby, to front desk check in or help from the concierge the service is superb, rooms are clean and generous with space, beds are big and comfortable, lifts are quick so no waiting around making small talk waiting for one to arrive. Breakfast at the brasserie is a bit pricey but good quality food, and you are so central to a variety of eateries from across the road, to Darling harbour or the Rocks all within a ten minute stroll. Rooms are well soundproofed, we never heard a peep from anywhere. Only downside was no complimentary wifi internet, a bit of a pity, so just relied on my cellular hotspot instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.