We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert Plant concert and Sydney getaway :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Robert Plant concert and Sydney getaway :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely restoration of the old Grace bros. building, Staff were excellent, initial mix up on room was fixed quickly and graciously, excellent buffet brekkie, concierge was very helpful especially after we got a flat tyre thursday arvo before good friday he found us a place to have it repaired. It is a great location, rooms are clean and functional (not big ).

It is a little pricey (thats Sydney though, overpriced) but we got a good deal including breakfast by booking early through a seperate site! Parking is an issue and overpriced (Sydney again :) ! Small pool, spa and Gym were used

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    609
    143
    40
    24
See reviews for
121
536
88
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Air Con didn't work in my room and it was freezing and after numerous complaints and being told it was fixed they finally moved me to a new room. For the new room they room key didn't work and the TV had reception issues and that was the best room they had available.
I have stayed here a few times and held conferences here and it has been good but it seems to have gone down hill since last time I stayed.
I've had a terrible night and after almost 3 hours I am still waiting for the issues to be resolved - not the way I had planned to spend my night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Grace is a hotel that we will without doubt use each time we return to Sydney, the service is very efficient, from entering the lobby, to front desk check in or help from the concierge the service is superb, rooms are clean and generous with space, beds are big and comfortable, lifts are quick so no waiting around making small talk waiting for one to arrive. Breakfast at the brasserie is a bit pricey but good quality food, and you are so central to a variety of eateries from across the road, to Darling harbour or the Rocks all within a ten minute stroll. Rooms are well soundproofed, we never heard a peep from anywhere. Only downside was no complimentary wifi internet, a bit of a pity, so just relied on my cellular hotspot instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is excellent, I stay there every month for work, the staff are excellent and everything is quick and easy! The rooms are clean and homely. The Gym, pool and spa are excellent located on the roof with a nice view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the only hotel in Sydney that I have returned to for repeat stays. My stay this time was for 5 nights. I love the art deco elegance of this hotel and it is always a hassle free stay. The staff are attentive and helpful, breakfast plentiful with a good selection, rooms clean and comfortable and it's a short walk away from the lovely Queen Victoria Building. I walked daily to Darling Harbour in the sunshine, and taxis are right at the front door.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We initially chose the Grace hotel as my partner has a fascination with all things Art Deco, and the exterior and lobby of the hotel certainly does not disappoint. The service was brisk but very friendly and the history of the building was quite interesting.

Upon reaching our room we found it to be modern and largely interchangeable with every other 4 1/2 star hotel we have stayed in. This is not at all a negative, but if you were expecting the Art Deco theme repeated within the rooms you will be disappointed. We booked a non-smoking room facing away from York street on one of the higher levels and found it clean, in good condition and blissfully quiet.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, literally a few minutes walk from Wynyard station which is directly accessible from the train that leaves Sydney Airport. It is also close to the Queen Victoria Buiding and if you choose to walk like we did about 20 minutes from the Opera House by foot.

The breakfast buffet is straight from hotels you find in SE Asia - omelette any way you want it along with a variety of sides that any traveller used to staying in 4-5 star hotels in Thailand or Malaysia would find instantly recognisable. I was neither impressed or disappointed by the breakfast - I guess I have eaten this sort of thing too many times. Still, there are plenty of other places to eat within minutes of the hotel if this is not your thing.

In all I would happily stay here again as the service and location made the stay seamless. I could not fault any part of the hotel and the price we paid was in accord what you would expect to pay for this type of hotel in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The history of this building is wonderful and you couldn't get more of a central location. The public area decor was excellent and the rooms were nice and homely, if a little tired.
However it just felt a little less impressive than it should have. I'm not sure why, maybe it was the staff who did what was necessary and nothing more. For a hotel of this standard and price, it is not unreasonable to expect free WiFi is it?
I loved the building and the history but think I'll probably look elsewhere next time as it is a bit too pricey for what you get (or don't).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.