We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 182 hotels in Sydney
atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

everything was perfect area, location, except no free internet we bought a phone service for $30 with 500 minutes anywhere in the world and 500 mb of internet that was plenty for us it lasted for our 12 days trip

Room Tip: ask for higher floor and away from the main road because it get noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    582
    137
    39
    24
See reviews for
116
521
85
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just had the loveliest stay at The Grace in Sydney.....We couldn't fault anything....great staff - very very helpful. So handy to everything and we couldn't have asked for more ! We had occasion to ask for advice from the Concierge Desk twice and both times with different Staff - each of them a delight - thanks - we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here on business.
First the positives - the building is wonderful, and the location is great, right in the middle of the CBD, a couple of blocks from Darling Harbour.
That's where the positives end.
We arrived to be ignored by one staff member and then served by another who proceeded to tell us how he didn't like working there and asked about what we did for a living and said he would rather be doing that. Fat chance.
Being in the middle of Sydney of course it's impossible to get a car park, so Grace stings you $45 for their valet parking, which isn't so much a valet service as it was one little man running around trying to jam as many cars into a basement as he can(we had to wait to park, then wait even longer to get our car out).
The rooms were obviously once fantastic but are now run down and not so clean. Many of the surfaces are worn or dirty(see pictures).
The thing that really annoyed my in this place was that they charge $25 for internet. This is criminal and shows just how far behind the times they are. I will never ever stay there again(and will go out of my way to make sure nobody in my business does) due to this fact alone.
This place is so money hungry they don't even give you a toothbrush - which was another source of annoyance because I had forgot mine.
They charge like a 5 star hotel but provide 2 star service.
Avoid this place - as another reviewer here has written if you are going to pay this much money you might as well stay somewhere where you are overlooking the harbour in a place where they actually care about their customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear hoteltron,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our hotel.

I am very disappointed to read that your recent stay had not been satisfactory and that we have not met your expectations. Please allow us to apologise for the lack of customer service experienced and certainly will look into this matter internally as well.

The car parking facility which opens for public, Plaza Parking is operated by a separate entity and unfortunately they do not offer a valet service. However they do offer our in-house guests $45 discounted car parking rate for 24-hours access instead of the full price $65 overnight cost.

In regards to the internet cost of $25 per day, our management is currently reviewing this matter to provide better levels of service and experience for guests staying with us.

Once again, thank you for your time taken to write this feedback.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fantastic service....beautiful old world charm with modern options....staff were amazing...rooms if you can secure a corner king suite were fabulous and even standard rooms are plush..I loved the attention to detail and the marble bath... Writing desk for business was a nice touch...

Room Tip: Corner king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night with friend. Location is fabulous but no view. Loved the lap pool and spa. Our room was very nice. Breakfast was fabulous. We got our room on last minute.com secrets so we got a good deal. I probably wouldn't pay the $ they want on most web sites though. Love all the pubs and bars surrounding. Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here one night with the kids for a little weekend away, the room was good side and the beds was very comfy, the kids loved the indoor pool and spa, hotel restaurant food was well priced, and enjoyable as was the Breakfast buffet, would recommend for a little overnight stay in the city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Grace for work and it's a great location in the middle of Sydney but it does feel a little soulless. If you're going to pay that kind of cash get somewhere with a view of darling harbour.

Also I got the room service and it was pretty bloody average particularly given the prices.

Can't fault the staff and the room very comfortable and quiet and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.