We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
The Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night. Decent sized rooms and loved the king bed. The spa, pool and steamroom were nice, we managed to go early in the morning and had the spa and pool to ourselves which was lovely as they're not very big in size. Parking attendants were very polite and friendly, parking is $45 per night for guests of the hotel. The hotel is an easy walk to the Rocks and Westfield Sydney shopping mall. The reception desk could use additional staff as there was a very long queue at checkout. I enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovecupcakes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Travelled here as a couple (left the kids at home)! The premium room was spacious but had a small window, facing into the atrium, so zero view and dark inside. Wifi costs extra (and, at A$25 per day or $11 per hour it is a rip off), no free wifi in lobby even. Further, you have to buy an adaptor plug, they won't lend one to you.

Room was clean, and breakfast which was included was fine. Room rate was fair given other options in central Sydney. Best of all (and what drags this rating frm a 3 to a 4 star one) is the location to the City centre. Pitt Street Mall, Darling Harbour, QVB, the Rocks and Circular Quay all within comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZFam_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Most people would have to agree, you want class and comfort and you know the Grace Hotel will always come to the party!
My wife and I have stayed here on numerous occasions, due to fact that its close to CBD and the rooms are just so good.
Beds so comfortable as well!
Anyone who stays here, i feel will only say good things!
Breakfast, in Dining menu, all good and rather quick service!

Only Negative, which isnt major, the breakfast service is a little slow .

great work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful experience at the Grace. Although the room I was in was small, it had everything I needed – comfortable bed and very clean. Plus, it was super-quiet, which is probably due to it being an older Art Deco hotel that was built to last! I was in a low-level room with a view of York Street and barely heard any traffic at all.

Probably the best feature of this hotel is the location. Since it’s outside of The Rocks, it’s much cheaper than some other hotels, yet it’s still well within walking distance (10-20 minutes depending on your pace). As a bonus, it’s also within walking distance of Hyde Park and Darling Harbor - you couldn’t pick a better hotel for its geographically central location to all of Sydney’s attractions.

The hotel has a nice selection of restaurants in the local area….everything from McD’s if you’re “frugal” to mid-level Thai and Bavarian and high end steak houses. I chose to opt out of the hotel extras, which I thought were a little high. I’m way too cheap to spend 25 bucks for wifi and 35 for breakfast when I can walk a block to McD’s and get both for under 10 dollars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hootbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Grace in Sydney is in an old building tastefully decorated. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious with great beds.
Dining is fairly standard fare but for a few $ you can get breakfast at nearby cafes.
I would have stayed at this place more than any other hotel and one thing it lacks is personal service. I would have been asked 10 times whether I have stayed before. Reception is sullen, impersonal and very uninspiring.
In case you're wondering why I go back, it is close to work in Sydney and at short notice there is always a good rate on a room. I guess there is a clue about its popularity in the last comment.
Never noticed a tour desk. Gym is ordinary. Pub underneath does a nice meal.
Wish the service was better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our group stayed at the Grace Hotel a few nights and all of us loved it! The rooms are beautiful as was the lobby. We attended a Melbourne Cup party and loved the food and the wait staff! Everything was delicious and we never wanted for anything!

The rooms were beautiful and tasteful. I was wishing for more time! There was also a great pub on the bottom floor that was great!

The Grace Hotel is a wonderful choice and wont break you while you enjoy all that Sydney has to offer. There are many places to stay in Sydney and it can be daunting to try and make a decision but when we go back, we are definitely going to stay at The Grace!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grace Hotel Sydney has a fantastic location as it is close to all major precincts of Sydney, within walking distance (& only a short walking distance) to Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, Circular Quay, Chinatown and more.
This is not a high rise hotel so do not expect those fantastic harbour or city views.
The room was comfortable for our 2 night stay, the king size bed was a dream, like floating on a cloud.
Convenient dining onsite at ground level with the Irish Pub, although we did find the noise of patrons leaving close by pubs/hotels at 3am at little of a distraction, being that you are not high rise and away from street level noise.
Beautifully appointed hotel, excellent customer service and would stay again.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (highest floor is 11) and one that faces outward to the street, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Mercure Sydney
#53 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,958 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing