We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great affordable hotel in the heart of Sydney.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Save Saved
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A great affordable hotel in the heart of Sydney.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful experience at the Grace. Although the room I was in was small, it had everything I needed – comfortable bed and very clean. Plus, it was super-quiet, which is probably due to it being an older Art Deco hotel that was built to last! I was in a low-level room with a view of York Street and barely heard any traffic at all.

Probably the best feature of this hotel is the location. Since it’s outside of The Rocks, it’s much cheaper than some other hotels, yet it’s still well within walking distance (10-20 minutes depending on your pace). As a bonus, it’s also within walking distance of Hyde Park and Darling Harbor - you couldn’t pick a better hotel for its geographically central location to all of Sydney’s attractions.

The hotel has a nice selection of restaurants in the local area….everything from McD’s if you’re “frugal” to mid-level Thai and Bavarian and high end steak houses. I chose to opt out of the hotel extras, which I thought were a little high. I’m way too cheap to spend 25 bucks for wifi and 35 for breakfast when I can walk a block to McD’s and get both for under 10 dollars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    579
    137
    39
    24
See reviews for
116
516
85
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Grace in Sydney is in an old building tastefully decorated. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious with great beds.
Dining is fairly standard fare but for a few $ you can get breakfast at nearby cafes.
I would have stayed at this place more than any other hotel and one thing it lacks is personal service. I would have been asked 10 times whether I have stayed before. Reception is sullen, impersonal and very uninspiring.
In case you're wondering why I go back, it is close to work in Sydney and at short notice there is always a good rate on a room. I guess there is a clue about its popularity in the last comment.
Never noticed a tour desk. Gym is ordinary. Pub underneath does a nice meal.
Wish the service was better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our group stayed at the Grace Hotel a few nights and all of us loved it! The rooms are beautiful as was the lobby. We attended a Melbourne Cup party and loved the food and the wait staff! Everything was delicious and we never wanted for anything!

The rooms were beautiful and tasteful. I was wishing for more time! There was also a great pub on the bottom floor that was great!

The Grace Hotel is a wonderful choice and wont break you while you enjoy all that Sydney has to offer. There are many places to stay in Sydney and it can be daunting to try and make a decision but when we go back, we are definitely going to stay at The Grace!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grace Hotel Sydney has a fantastic location as it is close to all major precincts of Sydney, within walking distance (& only a short walking distance) to Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, Circular Quay, Chinatown and more.
This is not a high rise hotel so do not expect those fantastic harbour or city views.
The room was comfortable for our 2 night stay, the king size bed was a dream, like floating on a cloud.
Convenient dining onsite at ground level with the Irish Pub, although we did find the noise of patrons leaving close by pubs/hotels at 3am at little of a distraction, being that you are not high rise and away from street level noise.
Beautifully appointed hotel, excellent customer service and would stay again.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (highest floor is 11) and one that faces outward to the street, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOMERSET
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the quality. Nice to have a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoyed a swim and a jacuzzi. Staff very friendly, especially the concierge guys who were really helpful. Told us where to eat and ordered us a limo at a set price for our trip to the Airport. Close to Darling Harbour, Train Station and everything you need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grace Hotel is in an excellent location. My room was spacious and immaculate. The Hotel was relaxed & sophisticated plus the staff were friendly & helpful. I really liked the Art Deco features. I thought the seafood buffet was very good value - $39 all you can eat & a glass of wine, beer etc

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got a pretty good deal from a hotel-booking website for Grace Hotel.
Located right in the center of Sydney's business district, the hotel is a gem Entering the hotel, you will definitely feel the grandeur of the hotel. They preserve the neo gothic design as it has a historical value and I really liked it.

The room was spacious as it can accommodate extra bed for the 3rd person without cramping out the space inside. I got the 8th floor room, so the noise from busy street and traffic was not a problem at all.

The downside of this place was the hotel's restaurant, The Grace Brasserie. The buffet breakfast menu were not much of a variety. some of the food, such as the congee tasted bland. I mean, when you stay in a four star hotel, you'd expect the restaurant to serve gastronomic food.

But overall, i enjoyed staying at Grace Hotel. Great location & great value if you can find a promotional package!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors so that the noise from the traffic is not a trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.