We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

perfect location, excellent service coming from the staff, definitely a good value for money. very accessible and right in the heart of the business. i myself strongly recommend this place if you're looking for a place to stay at in sydney :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    977
    238
    58
    33
See reviews for
248
895
132
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Sydney for 12 years or so, we returned as visitors for the first time for Australia Day long weekend. We chose to stay at Grace Hotel due to it's central location, good value rate and it looking well presented on their website. On arrival we were impressed with the impressive lobby area. Very open, art deco, clean and almost opulent. We received a warm welcome and the reception staff during our three night stay were generally very friendly and helpful. The hotel hand a impressive grand feel in many ways. The wide bright corridors and art deco touches adding a nice feel. Our room also was very large, clean with what appeared to be a fairly fresh fit out. It would have been no more than a superior queen and was very comfortable (and quiet) considering the location. The roof area had space and loungers to soak up some sun, with what looked like a well equipped gym, lap pool and plunge pool. We wouldn't hesitate in staying at (or recommending) the Grace Hotel to friends or family.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I chose to stay at the Grace Hotel for my recent visit to Sydney as I was very happy with my previous stay. The location is central and the service excellent. Staff went out of their way to fulfill any request I made.

Room Tip: Inside corner suites are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location and has an excellent fitness centre/terrace on the top floor. We booked last minute through booking.com and got a good price on our pleasant and spacious room. The staff were very helpful in allowing us to use the fitness centre to shower when we had checked out and came back to pick up our bags soaking wet after being caught in the recent storm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in early November, 2012, en route to Hawaii. It is a lovely old hotel, and the room we had was fine - probably one of the biggest hotel rooms I have stayed in, nice views onto the street, with big windows. Nice toiletries, comfortable beds. My partner and I arrived quite late into Sydney, and felt like a nice quiet drink in a bar, only to discover that the hotel has a rowdy, packed Irish pub (not that we mind a rowdy Irish pub now and then). The hotel has a cafe for breakfast, but you are in a lovely part of the Sydney CBD to explore. Overall, a nice stay, but lacks some things, and for $240 with no inclusions, would probably stay elsewhere.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My third time here- great character and fittings as hotel was an old art deco office building. very helpful staff. Quiet rooms with stylish things from lamps to bathroom handles. Also has 6 lifts so always a short wait for one. In-bedroom brekkie of eggs and bacon better than most hotel restuarants. would go back tomorrow- very centrally located so I was able to walk to Circular Quay and Art Gallery.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are handsome, clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location was great, but the room I stayed in resembled a Best Western in a country town. The bathroom was also only a 3 star. Very dated and in need of an update. The mini bar was also not restocked so I had to call down twice for bottled water.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#23 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
0.6 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#5 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#29 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.