We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in November and were very pleased with our choice. The room was a reasonable size with a superbly comfortable bed. The staff were all very helpful and courteous especially Kirk,the concierge who was extremely helpful. The hotel is in a fantastic location as it is so easy to walk to Darling Harbour, the Rocks and Circular Quay. After a long day it was lovely to use the pool, jacuzzi and sauna ,situated at roof level, there is also a small sun terrace with loungers.would definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    662
    155
    42
    26
See reviews for
129
570
93
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed 3nights, beautiful hotel, art deco exterior, lobby still holds the old world charm, rooms have been modernized. Beds nice and comfy, huge bath tub, everything spotlessly clean. Staff more than helpful. Within walking distance to mall, DJs, Myers QVB and darling harbour. Will stay again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend after a mid week business trip. So close to everything one needs to do in downtown Sydney. Had a room on the 11th floor, clean and tidy and best of all quiet! Staff very friendly and best of all arranging a late check out on the Sunday was no problem. Will definately stay at the Grace again on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very Frustrating, If you try and contact The Grace Hotel Direct to try and sort out their deals they have through a third party which advertise 2 night deals, but then wont allow you to book the 2 nights. The Hotel is not at all helpful, but take you through a ridicules and very antiquated system of sending a form out for you to fill in, then you have to print it out, fill it in then scan it and send it through an email back to them. A time consuming process. Just take the credit card details like all other hotels and on arrival take a imprint of the credit card.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear cathy g,

Thank you for writing your feedback regarding the booking experience that you had recently with the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

I am very sorry to read what you have encountered whilst trying to make a room reservation. I have followed up this issue with our Reservations Associates.

It looks like you were trying to book a special deal through wotif.com for a two-nights stay and unfortunately the second night that you were trying to book for was unavailable. However the hotel was willing to make the reservations directly for you over the telephone by honouring the 3rd party website deal (discounted room rate with breakfast included). This also means the same terms and conditions will apply for the phone booking which means it needs to be prepaid in advance and no refunds or cancellations will be allowed.

In order to have the booking prepaid in advance, the Grace Hotel requires our guests to fill out a chargeback form to authorise us charging the guest's credit card. This form and other documentations required are part of the hotel policy to prevent any credit card fraudulent.

Usually as part of our normal telephone booking, a credit card number is required to guarantee the reservations only and the payment will be processed upon guest's departure.

I hope this explanation helps to assist better understanding of our hotel process and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration that we may have caused you.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on a 24 hour layover on our way to Asia. What a pleasure! We were bumped up with a room upgrade and our suite was beautiful. The staff were very friendly. For such a short trip it was great to be within walking distance of Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The room service breakfast was delicious too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear lilypetals,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grace Hotel and it is very pleasant to read that you have enjoyed your short stay with us and liked our Room Service Breafast.

Hope the rest of your Asia trip was memorable as well. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney for your next trip.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a business conference nearby. The Grace is ideally located in the center of Sydney and within walking distance to most areas. It's also close to train stations. I was in a corner room on the 11th floor with a nice firm bed (but soft pillows). The shower (in the bath) had good water pressure and nice hot water. No newspaper was offered or delivered, however you could pick on up from reception in the morning.

My room had a nice sized LCD TV but it had a remote that didn't have a Sleep function. Breakfast, as with all hotels, was overpriced ($25), you can get a better breakfast for way cheaper in any of the nearby cafes.

Checkout wasn't exactly painless, only 1 and then 2 staff on at 8am in the morning made for a line of up to 7 people waiting to check out..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear caggsMelbourne,

Thank you for reviewing the Grace Hotel on TripAdvisor. It is through this type of continuous feedback that we can improve our services and products offer to our guests.

The Grace Brasserie has full buffet breakfast for AUD 32 per person however we also offer guests Prepaid breakfast voucher for AUD 22 per person organised with Reception the night before.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings during your stay with us and we will take on board your constructive feedback.

Once again, thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As I travel to Sydney a lot on business, I have stayed in a heap of hotels. The Grace is very well located, on the corner of Kings and York in the middle of the city. Lots of cafes and shops in the vicinity and close to public transport. The hotel is quite old, however the rooms are comfortable and the staff very friendly. My only complaint was the hygiene of the bathroom, looks like the floor has not been cleaned properly and there was a long hair on the floor. Otherwise it's a nice comfortable place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Janice G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Grace Hotel Sydney for your business trip and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be located in a superb spot in the city CBD.

However we are very sorry to learn that the cleanliness in the bathroom has not been up to the highest standard that we normally set. This feedback will certainly be shared with our Executive Housekeeper and ensuring all rooms are cleaned properly to be in a prestine condition for guest's arrival.

Once again, we appreciate the time took to write a feedback on your recent trip. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.