We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine without being excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Just fine without being excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was at the Grace Hotel for a week in December 2012. In fact I was there at the same time as the previous poster who struggled with the after hours door. That post is a pretty good example of how one small issue can become the focus for a customer, and to give the hotel 2 out of 5 because of the incident as it is described really is unfair. I have used the after hours door and I really can't see what the problem would have been. You insert your access card and the doors unlock. Just like a million hotels the world over. If the complaint is that you have to open the door yourself, rather than have it open automatically then that's just petty and does not provide a fair and balanced review of the hotel.

Basically,the Grace Hotel is fine. It's clean, comfortable and perfectly located in the Sydney CBD. It is an easy walk to anywhere in the city or Darling Harbour. The building is interesting in itself and does have a certain old world charm but at the same time the rooms are modern and furnished tastefully and comfortably. The roof top spa and pool area is terrific. The blackout curtains in our room are the best I've seen in a hotel. Great for a sleep in!

And the staff are fine. I've seen better staff in other hotels, but there was certainly no rudeness or anything to specifically complain about. Check in was a little slow and I haven't checked out yet so can't comment about that as yet.

All in all it's what a good hotel should be without being a standout in the five star market. There is much to recommend this hotel and little to complain of.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear markjackson100,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Grace Hotel during your Sydney trip and we appreciate the time took to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comment in regards to the after hours door lock very much. And it is great to read your positive excellent feedback about the hotel facilities and service provided. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable one-week stay with us.

Once again thank you for your review and for recommending us to other travellers on TripAdvisor.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    680
    159
    45
    26
See reviews for
136
592
95
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an old style hotel that seems to be caught in the 60s - but unlike many retro hotels that add something quirky that entices people back, this offers very little. From the time that the 5 or so people on the front desk watched as both I and another guest checking in at the same time struggled with the after hours door, it seemed obvious that there is no service ethic here.

The rooms are old and stale. The location on York Street so-so.

For overseas guests travelling to Sydney, we recommend somewhere else....anywhere really.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Jaimeandjohn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

We are disappointed to learn that you have found our hotel location to be so-so and we have fallen short of your high expectations during your stay with us.

We appreciate your time took to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Happy Holidays.

Warm Regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here in October 2012. The staff here was helpful and friendly. My room was very pleasant and although it didn't have a view, it was comfortable and quiet with a nice couch and area to relax. I walked to the harbor, the rocks , shopping and restaurants-perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear singa479,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a feedback on TripAdvisor website.

It is very pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to experience our warmth hospitality. Hopefully we would be able to welcome you back to the Grace Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had stayed at the Grace some time ago and not been terribly impressed with it, but was booked into it again by work recently and had a very different experience of it. This time I was in a much higher room, away from the conference rooms. I found my room to be extremely quiet, spacious and immaculately clean. Check in was significantly delayed by a fire alarm being investigated, but this was of course beyond the hotel's control and the staff were polite and very apologetic for the delay. This stay certainly changed my opinion of the Grace and I would more than happily stay here again, especially when travelling for business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent a long weekend at the Grace. First impressions - great staff, extremely helpful and courteous. Lovely foyer. Room large and well fitted out. Had booked a twin studio and was told we had been upgraded. Certainly spacious with good bathroom (only complaint, towel rail inside shower area?). Beds extremely comfortable. We were offered cheaper breakfasts if we booked and paid the night before which was a bonus - good selection and nice to have your eggs cooked to order. Walk out the door and you are in the centre of the city shopping area. Nice rooftop pool to cool off in after a hot day pounding the pavements. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my 3rd stay at Grace Hotel and once again, the hotel did not disappoint. Check-in/out was prompt and hassle free. The room was reasonably sized and very clean and the decor was thoughtful. The bed was very comfortable.The cleaning staff were excellent, I left early in the morning and attached the "please make up room" sign on the door, and arriving 2 hours later, the room was clean and fresh. If there is something I can suggest to the hotel, it would be the hairdyers attached to the wall in the bathrooms which did not work very well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a king room which was very spacious with a good sized bathroom. The hotel is located in a lovely heritage building and was perfect for our needs. We had a dinner booked on the waterfront at Circular Quay overlooking the Opera House on one side and the Harbour Bridge on the other. We also had a champagne breakfast booked (for our wedding anniversary) at Cockle Bay, Darling Harbour. The hotel is located in between and was an easy walk to both. We parked in a nearby public carpark so it was all nice & easy. The bed was comfy so all good. Needless to say we had a wonderful weekend in the city to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room on a higher level. We were given a room in the centre of the hotel on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.