We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
ACT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We purchased the romance package which included King room, breakfast, teddy bear, truffles, champagne, buffet breakfast and late check out we also bought an additional night with breakfast at a really great rate. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night. The room was wonderful, we were in a huge corner room beautifully furnished and clean. The bed was firm with plenty of comfortable cushions. The decor at the Grace is beautiful, art deco and so gracious. The christmas trees were up and looked lovely.The location is perfect 15 minutes walk to everywhere. Great shopping on your doorstep and restaurants by the water in Darling Harbour. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast a good selection with healthy options. My only feedback would be to include a fresh fruit juicer, the juice provided was awful. The made to order omelettes were lovely. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. The lap pool, spa and gym looked great and the view from the terrace was lovely a great spot to sit at night and enjoy the breeze.I would definitely return and recommend this hotel. I also liked the Peter Morrisey toiletries, a nice touch.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter. The parking is $45 a day, and not subsidised by the hotel. Try to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear ACTTraveller2009,

It is great to read that you had the opportunity to stay with us and has chosen the Romance Package! We are very pleased to learn that it was a great deal and enjoyed the Premium Corner King room with the complimentary late check out at 2pm.

The Grace Hotel always have special packages or accommodation deals to suits everyone's travel requirements. Please check our website for more details for your next stay with us.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and we do hope we are able to welcome you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    977
    238
    58
    33
See reviews for
248
895
132
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at the Grace for three nights. The location is excellent being in the heart of the CBD and very close to department store shopping.rThere are numerouse good restaurants and bars in this area.

The hotel comprises an old heritage building that has been recently refurbished. The room that we occupied was very large but the bathroom was small. The room only had one small window that faced a couryard.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Due to the number of surrounding restaurants, we did not eat there but did have a few drinks at the bar during happy hour.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for value and prime location. Only real negative is that internet is expensive and not yser friendly. There was no free wifi.

Room Tip: go for their premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 with my partner. Great location - walking distance to train station, darling harbour etc. Having the rooftop pool and spa was an added bonus after a busy day shopping! The staff were all lovely and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a top rung hotel. Nice in every way except for the connectivity. I am trying to travel using wifi to stay connected to save on roaming charges with my iPhone. No problem except that in Australia free wifi has not quite caught on. There is an apple store and a 24 McD a block from this hotel that both have free wifi. (Jet lagged - I loitered in front of the apple store at 3am to use their wifi. No problem! Worked great! Didn't get mugged!). I am not sure what I will do outside of a city. The gauntlet has been thrown. I am now on a mission to find free wifi!

In short, I feel an expensive hotel should provide free wifi at the least. This is important to me and so I give 3 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On previous visits we had always stayed in the Rocks area to have the beautiful harbour views, but this time we needed to be in the heart of the city.

This hotel is perfectly located to access the city CBD. It presents well and refurbishments in the foyer were under way. The staff were friendly and the room was clean, although of course there was no view.

We had breakfast in their dining room and we, along with our invited guests, were treated very well and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating or helpful.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Grace Hotel is located in downtown Sydney, York Street and is only two blocks away from Darling Harbour, about 7 minutes and about 10 - 15 minutes from Circular Quay.
The room we had was spacious with a large bed and also a good bathroom.
Because it is so close to Darling Harbour we went there each night for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very good hotel with a point of difference. The rooms are a generous size, clean, comfortable, central, great breakfast and helpful staff. Personally, I prefer it to the more clinical hotels but I guess this is down to taste. The art deco ambiance is reflected throughout and seems to impart a slower more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#23 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
0.6 mi away
1888 Hotel
1888 Hotel
#5 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#29 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.