We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grace Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Grace Hotel Sydney
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

Fine hotel in Sydney
Very centrally located in the CBD
Stayed in Suite on 11th floor, slightly expensive, but had trouble finding reasonable priced accommodation this night in Sydney.
Room was excellent, great bed, flat screen, shower, coffee maker etc
Very quiet room
Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    662
    155
    42
    26
See reviews for
129
571
94
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at the Grace Hotel three times now, and every time has been a wonderful experience that I cannot fault. The staff have always been friendly and professional, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and brilliant facilities (gym, spa, sauna, steam room and indoor heated pool etc). Nothing is a problem at the Grace. Looking forward to staying again next year!! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My second visit to the Grace and both stays have been enjoyable and I cannot make a complaint apart from the fact there is a surcharge when paying by credit card - and who carries around cash to pay for accommodation??? Location is excellent with everything I needed in close proximity - definately my choice when staying in Sydney for business.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Grace based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. In fact, we had arrangements to stay at a different hotel in Sydney a month later at the end of our trip just to try something different (and 5-star). But we liked Grace so much that we cancelled our other reservations and booked the end with Grace before we left the first time. Spacious rooms, great bed, nice amenities, friendly and helpful staff...but best of all was the location. You really could walk from there to so many places in Sydney (great shopping, cafes, restaurants, botanical gardens, Darling Harbour, Sydney Harbour, The Rocks, ferries to Manly Beach, etc.) or you were a block or two away from the subway (to go to Bondi Beach, etc.). We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011 via mobile

A hotel with atmosphere and style, the art deco look is mixed with modern rooms, comfortable beds, a great breakfast and a great central location. There is even a friendly Irish bar attached to relax and plan your next day's adventures with a good pint of the black stuff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Visiting Sydney to inspect a couple of ships one at Circular Quay the other at Barangaroo. I have stayed at the Grace previously and find that it’s hard to find a more central location. It’s very easy to walk down to Darling Harbour and get a ferry round to Circular Quay. There are other really good transport options. There are loads of eating and drinking options on site and around the hotel and I found the Coles Mini-Market on King St very handy. What I like is that this hotel is distinctly Australian in feel and in design. It’s located in a heritage building so there are a few oddities but hey that’s what makes it unique. The Rooms are reasonable size, comfy bed, good size TV, fridge. The bathrooms have baths with shower above. The whole place was very clean and the people working there are really keen to help make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Outside facing - Not Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is my first and last stay at the Grace hotel in Sydney. My review title does say that it's a good hotel and for the quality and size of my 10th floor room, I have to commend the overall standard.

The staff in this hotel were particularly disappointing and both the restaurant for breakfast on the 2nd floor and the cafe in the lobby were disappointing to say the least. The breakfasat on the second floor was an average buffet and one section of the restaurant was tacky and looked as if a range of conference tables had been added to extend seating capacity. I had to see myself to my own seat and didn't have any wait staff offer tea/coffee/clean the table or remove dirty plate services. Overall experience was poor.

I gave the cafe in the lobby an opportunity to redeem the Grace's breakfast standards and I have to admit, again, the food quality was average with my poached eggs overdone, serive non existant and cleanliness and atmosphere of the cafe lacking overall.

Sydney is way to competative market to not delight a captive breakfast audience and as a business traveller, the convenience of having good breakfasrrt facilities is a must.

Room Tip: The room on the 10th floor was large but only offered a shower over bath. Not great for tall individ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#23 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grace Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.