We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other reviews say it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Wynyard Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Other reviews say it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Great location, decent rooms, clean, comfy. Location location location. 10 mins to Rocks, Circular Quay, 5mins to shopping, Wynyard bus/train station immediately next door, 15mins to Darling Harbour. I cannot add to what others have said.

Two slight niggles - the right most lift of the three is troublesome! And the lobby smells of the fried foods from the kitchen. We had breakfast once but there are better and cheaper alternatives within 5 minutes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    572
    329
    116
    51
See reviews for
172
499
110
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed there for 4 nites n its very convenient as it is just 100 meters or less to the nearest train station n there are eateries at the station n ard it. We got the 7-days pass for train/bus/ferry which even includes the route to Blue Mountains.
Room was clean n tidy whenever we requested it. Only complaint was the receptionist at the counter when we checked in. The lady at the desk at that time wasn't friendly and don't carry a smile when we asked for directions to a place.
But the ones who was on the duty at nite were really good. We asked for recommendations on the local clubs. She gave us more than enough choices n directions to get there too.
The hotel let us kept our luggages for free after we checked out as our flight was at late evening.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights last month on our round Australia trip. It was good value for money.

We were on the 15th floor so got quite a good view of the Sydney skyline from the room.

The room itself was bigger than what I was expecting and there was plenty of room for our luggage. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but we coped.

A slight tip - we booked the room for the previous night even though we didn't arrive in Sydney until 5am. It meant we got into our room straight away and were able to go freshen up before starting to sightsee in Sydney.

We didn't do breakfast at the hotel - used either the Starbucks (that was opposite the hotel) or the coffee bar that was in Wynyard station. We did do dinner and it wasn't too bad for what you paid.

The train station is literally about 2 mins away from the hotel but beware though that the exit for York Street is only via an escallator so if you've got lots of luggage that may be a bit awkward.

  • Liked — Its location to the railway station and the access that gave you
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Great location to explore Sydney.

The room was nicely upgraded and had room service one evening which was good quality.

We had room only basis but went down for breakfast one morning which was nice again but a little rushed.

The underground stop is literally 2-mins walk away from the hotel so we decided to get it on the way back to the airport which was perfect - quick and cheap!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Getting There: While a taxi is the quickest means to get to the hotel, I would strongly recommend (especially for those traveling solo) taking instead the subway, which will be about one-quarter of the cost of a taxi (including return). The subway stops at both the international and domestic terminals of the airport. Take it to the Wynyard Station and exit on York Street. Look to your left; the hotel is on the very next block, about 100 meters away. (It took me, from the time my plane landed in Sydney to the time I arrived at the hotel, exactly one hour; that included the time during which I had to wait to get my bags as the carousel.)

Rooms: My room was fairly large. The bed was comfortable, and there was a fair amount of storage space. I had a refrigerator but no microwave.

The staff at the Travelodge is very courteous and more than willing to answer questions and provide assistance to patrons.

Fun: The Travelodge is in the heart of Sydney. It is about a 10-minute walk from Circular Quay and Sydney Tower, and 20-25 minutes from the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Circular Quay where the Sydney Opera House is located; it is also where one can catch the harbor ferries.

Food: There is a restaurant at the hotel. Breakfast runs $20 (Australian) for the continental buffet and $25 for the hot buffet. Dinner will cost about $17-25 per entrée. If you are on a tight budget or want to eat away from the hotel, there are numerous restaurants and bakeries nearby. I found several bakeries at Wynyard Station, and there is even a grocery store there. One can go through the station into one of the downtown shopping markets. For those looking for a quick cup of coffee or snack, Starbuck’s is located across the street from the hotel. (Head toward Wynyard Station on York Street; you can’t miss it.)

Fitness: Sydney is an easy city to walk around. If you are looking for a gym, the hotel does have a fitness center, located on the 21st (top) floor. It has an elliptical machine, treadmill, bike, rowing machine, and dumbbells up to 10 kg.

Internet: While there is internet access in the room, it is pricey. On the lobby floor are three computers that offer internet at the cost of $1 for 20 minutes time. One can also print material off at 20 cents a page.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — Price of breakfast.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Well located to CBD, Rocks, Darling Harbour and Chinatown, if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk.
Rooms are clean and recently renovated, slight traffic noise from street.
Really safe location (ie. no noisy pubs) and less than 100 metres to Wynyard underground station (trains direct to Airport), but nearest alternative restaurants 10-15 minutes walk.
Definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Easy location
  • Disliked — No nearby restaurants
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

Even though I had emailed the hotel several weeks in advance to request an early check in, unfortunately when we arrived, tired and jet lagged at 8am on a Sunday morning, we were told that we wouldn't be able to check in til 2pm.

Luckily we were able to leave our luggage there so off we went to kill some time by going to the cinema. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel so its location is ideal. For longer trips, the train station is just a few doors down.

Our room was right next to the lifts which were quite noisy - at night time especially. Breakfast is served on the ground floor and the choice was good. There's 3 coin-operated internet points in the lobby too.

Any time we walked through the lobby it always seemed to be thronged with people so we had very little interaction with the reception staff.

All in all, even though the location was good, if I was to return to Sydney, I think I'd investigate other hotels. Our travel agent had another hotel for a similar price in the heart of The Rocks [an area that's well worth a visit] so I think next time we'd stay there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Wynyard Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wynyard Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 minutes Free Wi-Fi per day in the Lobby, Restaurant & Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Wynyard Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.