We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Short Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Wynyard Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good for a Short Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were staying the night after an EOY event. The room was lovely; clean, neat and well set out to optimise the space. The bathroom scrapes by as adequate, which is what kept me from rating a 4 instead of a 3. The size is fine, but there is a complete lack of counter space and, my pet peeve, the shower wets the floor and toilet seat due to the lack of a sufficient screen. Also, the shower head seems to be of a rainfall design (i.e. no pressure) and the temperature fluctuates continually. Due to the fan (noisy and cannot be turned off) the room was a little on the cool side too. Back to the rest of the room; the queen bed was firm but comfortable, and while I found the pillows perfectly soft, my sister said she felt they were too firm, so it will depend on your personal preference in this case. They supply an iron and board, and there is a safe (which you nearly have to lay on the floor to read the instructions for as it is on the floor of the wardrobe). The room is not very well soundproofed - trucks and sirens very loud (we were on 4th floor), as well as people out in the corridor.

BONUS: if you book via the hotel website on a Tuesday, you can get a slightly cheaper rate and a choice of 2-for-1 breakfast (which is $25pp normally), late check out (midday), a voucher for Krispy Kreme donuts or a voucher for ice cream. We chose the late check out - but don't be surprised if your key cards don't work in the door after normal check out time. We had to go back to reception to get them reprogrammed so we could get in and collect our luggage to check out!

Room Tip: I would suggest something higher up to escape the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear KristyW_79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback.

You have raised some valuable points that we are already looking in to in order to increase guest comfort and your suggestion of booking on a Tuesday is quite right as it is great value for money.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    572
    329
    116
    51
See reviews for
172
499
110
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is actually quite nice--a great location, rooms serviceable and clean. The reason it gets such a low rating it the unavailability of a usable internet connection. It is bad enough that the charge for an internet connection in your room is $22 per 24 hours--but that connection will only work on older computers with a large-sized port. It will not work on a Mac Air, etc. It is not wireless. There is also a computer in the lobby for guest use--for which an exorbitant charge is also made--but it is extremely slow. It is time to join the 21st Century. Had we known that there was for all practical purposes no internet, we would not have stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Theresa W,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel.

We are currently working on ways to improve our internet connect offerings to our guests and hope to have news very soon.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Splendid location within easy walking distance of Darling harbour, Opera House, the Bridge etc and only 200 yards from Wynyard Station.

Room was OK but housekeeping poor - had to phone for clean towels as we'd been left with only one.

Allow 16 minutes to get out of the hotel as that is how long you will have to wait for a lift to arrive.

We didn't eat there as there are so many good value choices at Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Michael H,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure a better service moving forward.

In regards to the lifts, we have completed the upgrade on the equipment which makes it much more efficient and reliable so I am very pleased with the outcome.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Travelodge Wynyard.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am not a lover of city centre hotels as a rule, but oh what a surprise. From the outside it looks like a typical hotel of mid city high rise style, but once inside I got a warm comfy feeling about the place. The staff were helpful and friendly, and gave good advice when asked. Our room was clean and comfortable. Though we spent most of our time sight-seeing in Sydney it was the central location of the hotel that made it all the more easy to get to see The sights, Darling Harbour, The Bride and the Opera House and the Ferry Terminals were all within fairly easy walking distance. Good places to eat in Sydney, like everywhere in Australia, are pretty expensive, but several really good meals in the hotels restaurant were very nice and quite reasonably priced. I did use the gym on the 20 something floor, and with a shower room attached, felt the benefit of the workout before a long flight home.
We were very pleased with this Travelodge and would most certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear MERVIN W,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I found this hotel to be a good choice for a short stay in Sydney CBD.
The location was very good, walking disctance to Rocks/Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the city centre/shopping..
Room was clean, bathroom on the small side but perfectly adequate.
I found the bed & pillows a little uncomfortable, though that is personal choice, others may quite like the bed/pillows.
Check in and check out were very efficient, as traveling on business this was fantastic.
Breakfast was quite good and there was a discount for pre booking the day before, the hot chocolate from coffee machine was brilliant!
The only thing missing from this hotel is a pool - it does have a gym - but you can't ask for everything!
Overall, a pleasant stay for a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear JackiMac,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking your time to leave your comments with us regarding your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, location and you had a good experience with our friendly and knowledgeable Reception Team. Our Housekeeping Team are more than happy to change your pillows if they are not comfy.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Travelodge Wynyard in the near future.

Kind Regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed on the Saturday night of a major music festival in Sydney so it was expected that the price of the nights stay would be drastically increased. I normally wouldn't mind as I had a lot of things planned for our city stay but the hotel was just not worth it! The room had a musky smell that was quite overpowering. The shower was gross, with mold in the grout. On our check out day we went out to get coffee at about 10.00 am (check out is at 11), returning back to our room by 10.30am, to find that our cards no longer had access to our room. We then proceeded to go down to the reception only to get stuck in the elevator for 15 minutes (as something was definitely wrong with it) with another ten people. We then had to get our cards reactivate, go back up to our room (half an hour later mind you) and then come back down and check out! We were annoyed, hot and bothered and just felt ripped off for the price we paid to stay for a single night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear fatpug1117,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Travelodge Wynyard and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to learn that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.

All the issues you experienced have been investigated, and measures have been taken to make good use of your feedback. All department heads, including the Front Desk and the Executive Housekeeper have been involved in this process.

I can guarantee that the Managers, Team and myself strive for the highest of guest satisfaction. It is clear on this occasion we did not achieve our goals. It is clear on this occasion, communication totally broke down and we did not achieve our goals.

Please feel free to contact me on vfaisca@travelodge.com.au to discuss your concerns further.

Again lastly please accept my sincerest apologies for you experience at our hotel.


Kind Regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Wow!! What great staff!!! Everyone smiling, room adequate didn't spend much time in it!!! Usually stay close by but decided to give this hotel a try and we weren't disappointed. Enjoyed the street view even the noise of a Saturday night!!! So close to everything. Glad we asked for a higher floor. We were able to source a Gluten free breakfast which was good. Only complaint was the COLD scrambled eggs on all 3 mornings and the unappetising sausages yuk!!! Rest of breakfast was great.

Room Tip: We requested single beds and followed up with phone call and had read about requesting higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Julie O,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We are very grateful of guest feedback in any instance. The feedback received helps us to achieve our ultimate goal in guest satisfaction.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the location, also I am very pleased to hear that the friendly staff lived up to your expectations.

It appears that we did not meet your expectation during your breakfast experience with us which I and the Head Chef apologize for. We do have the option to order eggs as you want them from the Breakfast Chef which you might prefer on your next stay with us.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Wynyard Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wynyard Sydney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 minutes Free Wi-Fi per day in the Lobby, Restaurant & Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Wynyard Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.