We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geoff and Ana from Adelaide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Wynyard Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide
1 review
“Geoff and Ana from Adelaide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We loved the location - so convenient to the train station and certainly well positioned for dining at Darling Harbour, shopping on George and Pitt Streets, and sightseeing at Circular Quay. Unfortunately I spent four of my eight day stay in hospital, and during this time the reception staff were of great assistance to my wife, who was virtually alone in a strange city. We found the room with its balcony and queen bed very clean comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Geoffrey A,
The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Wynyard in the near future.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    776
    465
    144
    66
See reviews for
275
641
166
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed for consecutive nights here recently during our first ever visit to Australia, and how we wish we had chosen somewhere else! The one good thing was the location, only about ten minutes from Sydney Harbour Bridge etc. The front desk staff leave an awful lot to be desired, as their lack of welcome and eye contact is embarrasing. The ground level of the hotel is modern enough, but when you get out of the lift at your chosen corridor, its a different story. The corridors are dark and dreary and badly in need of renovation, as are the rooms. The beds are as hard as rocks, and not at all comfortable, and their housekeeping leaves an awful lot to be desired - And someone please tell the housekeeping staff that a handtowel is required to dry ones hands, not a large bath towel. For each night we stayed, every day we had to ring down for a hand towel, which got a bit tiresome. The hotel is not cheap by any means, overpriced for what they are offering if anything, and on top of that, they charge for the wi fi, surely this should be offered complimentary as part of standard service. After all, they are charging enough! During our stay, we found the front desk staff to be lazy, uninterested, unfriendly, and with a 'couldnt be bothered' attitude. After checking out, we left our bags, so as we could collect them later on, and when we came back to collect them, the receptionist who went to open the luggage bay, barely looked up, just took the ticket, and not one word was spoken. Like a robot! We actually left the hotel a day early, and checked in to 'The Menzies' hotel across the road, where the staff were so welcoming, and the hotel fabulous, and only for a few quid extra. Travelodge wynyard could definately learn a thing or ten from them. Pull up your socks Travelodge, because you are letting Sydney down if this is what tourists are experiencing, and out of all the hotels we stayed at during our month visit around Oz, you are trailing behind them all by a mile............Definately won't be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from you recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.
I was concerned to read of the problems you experienced during your stay. Please accept my apologies.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me directly in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me on 02 9274 1222.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel. It advertises itself as a 4* but only during the 90's! Could JUST pass for a 3* now. Very very basic rooms and in desperate need of a renovation, that being said you can't knock the location. I'd choose somewhere else near darling harbour if you can.......

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Greenybne,
Thank you for your recent review. We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We always choose this hotel when in Sydney. has been fully renovated in modern design. Great location - half way between the Rocks area and Circular Quay and the main shopping streets of Sydney itself. Easy walking but requires about half hour to Darling Harbour and our favourite food hangout, The Sydney Fish markets. We arrive at the airport, then catch the train to Wynyard, exit to York Street, and the Travelodge is right outside! Perfect!

Room Tip: Perfect location - right next to train station from Airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Jenny308,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Wynyard, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your positive comments.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The receptionist managed to check me in without once making eye contact, after making me wait over 10 minutes despite being the only person in reception.

The (allegedly non-smoking) room she put me in STANK of smoke. I mean STANK like a New Orleans bar on a Sunday morning. I had to battle to be moved to another room.

The bathroom was unclean (nothing worse than seeing someone else's hair plastered to the shower walls.)

Room service food was good - but I was slapped with an extra $5 surcharge on check out (no mention of this in the menu) for the honour of having room service actually delivered to my room: "it's normally served in the restaurant". Ok then.

I feel like I need a holiday to get over staying in this dark, dirty, unfriendly place.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere. This place will ruin your trip to Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Victoria J,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.

I was concerned to read of the problems you experienced with your room, we are a non smoking hotel so I have passed your feedback into our Houskeeping Manager to follow up. Please accept my apologies.
With regards to the $5 service charge for your room service this is advertised on your in room menu and is a standard surcharge to hotels world wide, I am sorry to hear you were not aware of this prior to ordering.

If you would like to discuss your stay with me directly in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me on 9274 1222.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April/May 2011, check in was hassle free. The room was a little "Shabby" and in need of refurbishment, especially the bathroom however this did not spoil our stay, when rooms are being used they can't be kept "as new" for ever, we were out and about exploring and didn't need lots of amenities. Staff were helpful. We were overlooked by the neighbouring building, so kept the louvres closed.

Great location, close to the Wynyard Railway Station and a short walk to the shops & cafes along with the Harbour & Bridge. Great value for money,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear YorkshireLass004,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
It was great to read you loved our location and the helpful staff and we hope you will stay here again next time you are in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Travelodeg Wynyard on 2 different occassions, the latest stay was 3 days ending on Good Friday.As a base to explore the central district of Sydney it's great. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and reasonably priced.

Wynyard train station is minutes away and allowed us to get to the horse races and had we packed a bit lighter could have taken us to the airport. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and never seemed put out by any request made by guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Keith C,
Thank you for your recent review of Travelodge Wynyard. We always appreciate guest feedback and I will share yours with our team. I am pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Wynyard Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Wynyard Sydney

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Wynyard Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 minutes Free Wi-Fi per day in the Lobby, Restaurant & Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Wynyard Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Wynyard Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.