We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lobby - Awful rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castlereagh Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lobby - Awful rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I thought I would book a nice 4 star hotel for the last leg of our holiday and go out in style!
How disappointing......
The lobby area is magnificent, but when you see the standard double room my heart sank. We had two cases and a couple of bags. One had to go on the table the others on the floor, which meant jumping over it each time as that took up the space between the wall and bed. There was about a 12 inch gap between the end of the bed and the toilet sliding door. I must have banged my leg 3 or 4 times trying to negotiate around the room.
The toilet has a sliding door that doesn't fit very well. Come in main door and you can see if anyone is in there. The door also had a habit of coming off it's runner and locking you in.
We fancied a cup of tea and tried to find a plug for the kettle? We ended up with the kettle on the floor as this was the only place it could be plugged in.
I complained about the issues and they gave me keys to 2 other rooms. They were identical, so it wasn't like I had just been given "the duff room".
If you take a look at the web site it all looks wonderful, but note that there are no pictures for a standard double room.... No wonder.

Room Tip: Do not pick a Standard Double room. Can't swing a cat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    109
    71
    40
    22
See reviews for
31
112
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Positive things first: great location in the heart of the CBD. Rates are very reasonable given location. Across the road you would spend $700 per night. Decor very Edwardian and beautiful if you are into old hotels and museums especially if you are a Mason and this is the Mason's lodge!
Negative things: Staff need to go to the same smile school the flight attendants go to.
The restaurtant is magnificent to look at if you are lucky enough to get in without there being hords of attendies for some function. The food is mediocre but there are fantastic restaurants just outside the front door.
Now the very negative: The rooms are little more than a broom cupboard and Fawlty has ensured you cannot look out of the windows which are welded shut and opaque.
I would be lucky to wash my daugter's pet mouse in the shower, there is virtually no stream of water and the it takes ages to respond to the taps commands, almost like there is someone in the dungeon reading a print out of what water temperature you would like then adjusting the boiler but not very effecively.
Good for shopping or business in the CBD, and soft on the wallet but try and avoid sleeping there too often or showering and probably best not to try engage the staff with any converstion or requests and avoid food and drink there.

Room Tip: Ask about size of rooms and windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the places one would want to visit in the city centre, so perfect in that respect. It is also an historic building with a great deal of character and charm. But, while the public areas seem to have been well maintained and are quite impressive, our room (assuming it was typical) was somewhat disappointing. The vomit-inducing 1980s mustard yellow paint suggested the room hadn't had a facelift in a couple of decades and the room was cramped, with no drawer space to put clothes. However, the bed was comfortable, and the shower hot with good water flow, so we can't complain too much for the price. Staff were very helpful and friendly too, which is a big plus. Overall, reasonably good for the price, but certainly not 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The pluses are that it's a good location and a relatively cheap price. The check in staff were pleasant and the room was very clean. However, you definitely get what you pay for. My room was tiny. I could barely fit between the base of the bed and the wall. The very small bathroom is behind a dated sliding door and the bathroom fixtures are also dated and the paint work is chipped. The lifts are in an "original" condition and very slow. I don't think it's a four star hotel..I stayed in better 3 star hotels in Vietnam!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and could not have had better value for the price.

The room decor was a little "tired", but I suppose it really fits with genre of this place. I would certainly not call it "Boutique", that to me, conjures up a place with a modern vibe and all mod cons, even in a period setting. No, this place, to me, is just ......old.

The fittings, the decor, the ambience, well just about everything .....old.

But that's not to say it's bad, on the contrary, it's great, giving a wonderfully extravagant feeling to your stay, even though you are not paying "top dollar".

Not only was our room old, it was very small, and no views except for the walls of the adjacent tall buildings, so a little claustrophobic too. No street noise though.

Location is exceptionally good, putting you within a short walk to the trains and the mono-rail, and not too long a walk to all the cities attractions, it really is excellent.

Relaxing in the bar and lounge was nice, service was very good and their food, though very limited for a down town hotel, was passable.

Overall ................ You cannot better this place for value in the area it is set, it's location is simply brilliant. Service was excellent. Let downs were the food and the room, but considering you are not staying in the room all day and you can eat all over Sydney, that's no excuse to not take full advantage of this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Your opinion on the Castlereagh Boutique Hotel will almost certainly depend on what you are in Sydney for.

For me I was looking for a good value hotel, as close to the "action" as I could get within my price range . Having been to Sydney previously and been somewhat out in the sticks (a good half an hour's walk from the Harbour front) I was looking for something closer and this more than fit the bill. Even with traffic lights/crossings against you it was about a fifteen minute walk from the Hotel to the Circular Quay and around ten minutes to Darling Harbour. And I don't walk fast.

Around the hotel there are a number of good bars, restaurants and fast food/food court venues which meant that if I didn't fancy a late evening walk anywhere I didn't have far to go.

The hotel itself has a somewhat disguised entrance but swiftly open up in to a lovely reception area. As some other reviewers have mentioned this does not necessarily extend to the rooms themselves. For me, on my own, the room was more than serviceable, and was clean and tidy. There was very little natural light and the "view" from the window was the brick wall of the adjacent building. Again I must stress that this didn't bother me in the slightest but other travelers may be disappointed by this. The room was small but more than large enough for my needs and included a built-in wardrobe (with room for my suitcase), a Television and a fridge. There was also an easy to work air-conditioning system. The separate bathroom was shower only but this was always hot and always powerful. It was disappointing that you had to pay for the in-room safe.

There was very little noise that travelled from the busy streets, although I was on the ninth floor. What noise there was came from building work a few doors down but it's not the hotel's fault that they started work at 8am on a Sunday morning! I didn't hear anything from the local bars etc.

The Castlereagh more than met my needs as a station to explore Sydney from. In terms of value for money it simply cannot be beaten in the area it's in, costing a great deal less than comparable hotels that I also considered. Some may want a little more "luxury" and that's fine. But if you're looking for a well located Sydney hotel on a budget, the Castlereagh has everything you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wonderful location a short walk from most of the downtown attractions. Fantastic old world style service. If you don't like boxy cube hotel rooms you very well may feel at ease here. Breakfast is not to be missed. Discounted parking within a block is convenient but a trifle expensive. On the short list of places " worth returning "

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.