We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time ......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castlereagh Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 183 hotels in Sydney
Ashmore, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A step back in time ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

There is a special ambience about this hotel the minute you step through the front doors .... you are taken back in time. The large foyer and lobby are quiet and welcoming. Staff were very friendly and happy to assist. Our room was on the 11th floor at the back of the hotel and was quite roomy - with a separate toilet and bathroom. We only ate at the hotel once and our steak was quite tough however the vegetables were exceptional. Bar prices were reasonable. Our room was serviced each day and tea, coffee etc replenished. Conveniently located in the CBD and within walking distance of most major attractions and transport. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    94
    69
    41
    19
See reviews for
25
100
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This Hotel is value for money considering you are located in the heart of the CBD. Check-in was hassle free and the staff were very helpful. We had a Deluxe double for 2 days and the room , although not large but more than enough for our luggage and purpose for our visit. It is an iconic building with a terrific history. We had dinner there on our first day and ordered chargrilled roast rump steak and it was terrific and at a very reasonable cost. We prepaid for breakfast and were not disappointed. Eggs,bacon,sausages,tomato and hashbrowns. Big selection of cereals and our favorite was fresh fruit on skewers. Bar prices are cheaper than any other pub I visited. Our room faced the road on the 8th floor and had no trouble having a good night sleep in very comfortable bed. Airconditioning was superb. Two types of pillows were provided as my wife likes a soft pillow and I like a firmer one. Overall I would come back here in a heartbeat because of it is great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors 8 or above and with a window as we did. Beautiful sunny mornings shining throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic, in the heart of the CBD. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but clean and updated. The bed was extremely comfortable. It was convenient to have parking available in the parked across the street. The rooms were quiet and made for wonderful sleeps.

Room Tip: You could specify a large room, as the one we had was extremely small. But, we were not in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for five days in January. The staff were very helpful and happy to chat, the decor needs some tlc but it does retain the art deco atmosphere reminiscent of when it was built in the 1920s.
Breakfast was good until the last day when eggs and bacon, tomato were too cold to eat but we were refunded .So tell someone if you are not happy and things can happen.

Room Tip: Go for a queen size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Hotel is so convenient, arrive At Town Hall Station & quick walk via Park St exit, clean, spacious, cool with A/C on, dark & reasonably quiet considering the busy street below, we were on 8th floor, it was an extremely hot day.
Bar very well furnished, prices reasonable, Level 2 had an area for dining,limited menu, I think due to time of year, however very pleasant choices & food was good. The 2 ladies seemed aloof, it wasn't busy & I guessthey are not there to entertain but could have been a bit more forthcoming with any info or asked questions as to what were we intending on doing etc to give any hints advice etc.
This area of Sydney is opposite end of the Quay but very near China Town, QVB,Hyde Park, great walks etc

Room Tip: Eigth floor was high enough for low noise impact
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

There is a big difference in the rooms here. Last time I stayed I had a much bigger room and obviously liked it much better. However,if you can look past a poky room and perhaps not the the most luxurious bed, then this is still s very good place. The main strength of this place is the value for money. You pay about a third less here as what you pay for a four star in a similar location. The place has history, charm and attentive service. Its cool and calm. Its pretty much a walk to anywhere in the city or not far from a train or a bus. If you get a little room I would only rate this place 3 stars but a larger room with the old opening windows is a gem. Pretty sure I got the bad room cause I went through "hotwire".

Room Tip: Try and get a larger room facing the street high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

As other reviewers have said, the hotel public rooms are fine and had some character. The location is great and staff were helpful. What else before I get to the point? Oh yes, free wifi throughout the building - a lot better than most places we stayed in Australia.

BUT our bedrooms were very small, shabby and uncomfortable. I would not go back.

Room Tip: Don't go to the Castlereagh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.