We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   389 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Original room was not appropriate and after several days, moved to more suitable room. Notified desk of clothing left behind for them to retrieve, but they advised they already let the room out, so I would have to wait. After two days, they reported no clothing found to recover. Very disheartening after i provided them specific location and description of clothing. Considering alternatives in area from Hilton, Holday Inn and others, felt value for price paid was not quite met.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Felix058, this definitely doesn’t sound like our usual standard of service, accept my apologies for the inconvenience on your stay with us.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    510
    261
    104
    48
See reviews for
211
375
117
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Rydges World Square is in a great location, only a few blocks walk and you are in the Pitt Street Mall where all the major shopping is and also a very short walk to China Town! The staff were all friendly and helpful. On arrival, we were given vouchers for a complimentary drink in the bar which we enjoyed! Our room was only a standard hotel room, which was ok, but next time we stay we will opt for a one bedroom room which hopefully will be a bit bigger! The bed is one of the best beds I have slept on in a hotel - very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks Karinajr007. It’s wonderful to read such a positive review from one of our Senior Contributors.

I hope to welcome you back again soon to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Can't say too much about this place. Fantastic location in Central Sydney. Close to China Town, Paddy's Market, Darling Harbour, the Entertainment Centre, The Powerhouse Museum and not a long walk to Pitt Street Mall.

Check in was a surprising pleasure, the room was fantastic, the shower was the best I have experienced, the lifts are so fast you don't know when you have arrived at your floor, the buffet breakfast is to die for; they even do eggs to your liking and don't make you like you are being an imposition.

There is an endless variety of eateries in the World Square complex that must surely provide for anyone's taste in food. And there is a Cole supermarket in the lower ground floor for those of us that don't want to pay a fortune for the the basic necessities. It's self contained.

Last but not least, if you are intending to stay at Rydges and are flying into Sydney, getting to the Hotel by rail is unbelievable easy. Catch the city bound train to the Museum Station, then follow the sign indicators to the Liverpool Street (station) exit. You should come up at the corner of Elizabeth and Liverpool Streets. Cross Elizabeth then Liverpool (so you are on the left side of Liverpool) and it it no more than a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

Again, can't say too much about this place; it's fantasticc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Muggsy23, such a wonderful review on Rydges World Square.
We are very fortunate to be situated in such a prime location within Sydney’s CBD. It makes it very accessible for our guest to explore the likes of Sydney. As mentioned we are only a short walk from Museum Station and surrounding train stations that are accessible to the Airport link.

It’s wonderful to hear you had the opportunity of dining in Sphere Restaurant for breakfast. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the Chef and his team.

I hope to welcome you back to Rydges World Square on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Rydges World Square has an amazing location, the staff are really friendly and helpful. My Husband and I stayed here for the weekend. We enjoyed complimentary drinks on arrival as we signed up to be a priority member for Rydges and also enjoyed some really good tasting wedges. The Hotel has a really nice bar setting and the rooms are comfortable.
I believe the Hotel is definitely worth it's money and we really enjoyed our stay although we were out a lot, it was still great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I’m glad to hear that Rydges World Square has meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful weekend away with us.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's hard to pin point anything wrong with Rydges World Square, but having stayed in many places, it somehow does leave a lot to be desired for. I suppose it felt a bit run-off-the-mill.

The room was okay and did have a very comfy bed, but looked tired and in need of refurbishment. The gym was in a pretty sad state and didn't really have much choice in terms of equipment. The service was totally fine, but nothing special.

The good bits are:
1. Very convenient and central location. If you don't mind a bit of a walk, the entire central Sydney is at your disposal.
2. Ordered dinner a few times to be brought up to the room. The service was very speedy and the food was great.
3. Considering the location, the price was not extortionate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Virbalas. It’s wonderful to hear positive comments about the services we provide.

We have currently in the process of undergoing a refresh of the lobby area and are confident that our next major project will be a refurbishment of our guest rooms.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at Rydges World Square on an overnight business trip, to check out the hotel and conference facilities.
This is a great CBD hotel, fantastic location and lovely refurbished accommodation rooms.
Close to the airport and a couple of minutes walk to Sydney's famous Pitt Street Mall. Lot's of eateries and shopping within the World Square precinct. Staff are fabulous, and very hands on. The General Manager (John) is great, and he heads up a fabulous team of staff (thanks also to Stephanie for providing assistance & a great knowledge of the hotel and area). It is reassuring to work with a team of staff that are focused on providing great service. I look forward to visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. My team and I do take alot of pride in providing our guests with exceptional service and very it’s rewarding to read such positive comments.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again and I look forward to hosting your Conference and Events in the future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for my friends's birthday. Definitely had a great time.

Location: Very central location @ George street, so its a matter of walking outside the hotel and seeing all the shops. there are also nice restaurants outside.

Room is clean and decent.Got the two double beds which fit 4 people. Willing to stay here again. Happy with the service

Staffs were nice.
Parking costs us $60 the whole night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear you had a great stay at Rydges World Square hotel.

Hope to see you again soon on your next weekend away.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.