We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but poor upkeep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel to your Saves list
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   389 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service but poor upkeep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Greeted with a smile and efficient service I was very pleased with the staff - they were friendly and effective and made the experience great. What was not up to standards was the hotel rooms and the foyer area. For the location I assume there is a lot of foot traffic, therefore the place looks run down, the rooms and lobby have a deep dank stench - which becomes bearable after a few days I suppose. Otherwise location is good.

Rooms leave a lot to be desired and are plain jane. The bare basics and ok if youre out most of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It’s great to hear our customer service was exceptional on your stay here with us.

We have commenced our refurbishment program and the foyer is part of our next project, followed by our guest rooms.

I hope we can welcome you back again to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    577
    281
    106
    50
See reviews for
235
426
124
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rydges was a satisfactory business hotel. The staff at reception were very helpful and managed to get me into my room early, but the room itself was pretty tired looking and in need of a face lift. It was also very dark and felt a bit like a cave.

The food was fine but the dining area had a pretty depressing atmosphere - not somewhere I would like to meet for business.

For a business hotel, the wifi was extortionate at $22 a night.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1843 which faced an alleyway and was very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We have commenced our refurbishment program and recently completed the Gymnasium and Conference and Events venue. Shortly we will be completing a refresh of the foyer followed by guest rooms.

I hope to see you again soon at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited for a weekend and found Rydges World Square to be an adequate base for our time in Sydney. While the staff were courteous enough, it certainly isn't a 'home away from home'and you do feel a bit like a number in the system in such a large hotel.

The monorail station is close by, as well as Museum train station, the bus route or its a short walk to major city shops. Hyde Park is only a block away.

Even though we were 10 floors up, we could still hear a lot of street noise on the Saturday night - until about 3am! Take earplugs if you're staying in the city!!

One tip - We found a cafe just outside the hotel, where we had a delicious breakfast for half the price the hotel were charging. There are also lots of restaurants down Liverpool Street for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review MumTheOrganiser. I’m glad our central location was convenient for you stay.

I hope to welcome you back again on your next trip down to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with our weekend stay at Rydges. The location simply cannot be beaten.The beds are typically Rydges awesome. Not particularly cheap, especially for parking, but overall a pretty good place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you Big_Red_Bronco for your review. It’s great to hear another great comment on our Rydges Dream beds.

I hope to see you again soon at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the 'not fully renovated' hotels left in Sydney CBD and hence it has that very old/used feel to it. The location is great - walking distance from Hyde Park and tons of eating joints on street level, right next to mono rail stop (for few more weeks). However the hotel amenities are average at the best. I had a room on 20th floor, and hence it was quite. However the bathroom was very rudimentary with a separate shower and bath tub. The shower was very inconvenient to use because of a small area and very oddly placed shower knob (move a little and the knob will close). I don't like ultra soft beds where you 'sink' in and hence I didn't like the bed.

In all it is a hotel one can pick for location, relatively cheaper price in CBD and if you want to use the room only as a place to spend night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Rydges World Square has recently undergone a tremendous refurbishment of our Conferencing and Events Centre. We are currently planning on refurbishing the accommodation side of the hotel as of 2014.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel suited us.
We arrived at 6.00am. I had told the hotel that this would be the case. When we arrived, they had everything ready for us. we went straight to our room, had a shower, a nap and then were ready to start for the day's work.
The hotel is close to restaurants, and chinatown. It is just a hop and a skip away from darling harbour. The hotel is also above a supermarket. Post office and bank are within the complex
The staff were courteous.
Only criticism- CNN was available, skynews was available but where was ABC24?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Another great comment on our central location of Sydney’s CBD precinct. I’m glad we were able to accommodate your early check in and everything ran smoothly.

I hope you choose to stay at Rydges World Square again on your next stay in Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this Hotel overnight in late February.
We arrived exceptionally early after a quicker than expected disembarkation from a cruise but were welcomed, told to leave our luggage and then called only 30 minutes later to be told the room was ready - all before 9.30am!
The Hotel was perfectly situated for the sightseeing we had planned - either by walking, the train or the monorail system and the staff were more than happy to help with maps and directions.
Our package included a late checkout and breakfast in the on-site restaurant. The restaurant was quite busy but the food was tasty, well presented and frequently refreshed.
The room was nicely decorated & impeccably clean with a comfy king-size bed, good quality linens and all the expected conveniences. The bathroom was modern,spacious, had ample toiletries and included a bathtub which would be nice for a longer stay. The room we were allocated didn't have a terribly nice view - an alleyway- but realistically that is of little importance for such a short stay. As with all the staff we had contact with, Housekeeping were very helpful - there was a small problem with the hairdryer but they almost immediately sent someone to the room with a replacement & an apology.
We have stayed at this property before, in a different Tower, a few years ago and this time we noted a number of improvements which made for a very comfortable stay. This property was definitely value for money due to it's position and it's modern, tasteful ammenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. It’s great that we were able to arrange an early check in for you. We do pride ourselves on our central and convenient location and i hope you had to see what Sydney has to offer.

Overall it sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.