We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour of an Opera House any good ? It was Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Bennelong Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (City Centre)
1300754002
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #11 of 297 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Operas, Theaters, Architectural Buildings, Ballets
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon’s ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can’t experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour!Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English. Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French and German tours are also available.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A tour of an Opera House any good ? It was Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wasn't particularly looking forward to this tour but loved it ! It took about 1 hour. It was fantastic to see the various halls and learn a little about it's history. The tour guide was enthusiastic and informative. We took a picnic with us and ate in the Botanical Gardens. A lovely day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,405
    1,068
    251
    47
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Iconic Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sydney and the Opera House go together. Our schedule did not allow us to take a tour, but we thoroughly enjoyed walking around the outside, taking pictures and briefly walking through the lobby. A must-see for anyone visiting Sydney.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What I Learned From the Sydney Opera House Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Performances here wait for no man....or President. If you're late, you don't get in until intermission.

Luciano Pavarotti refused to perform in the main hall because the dark purple carpeting reminded him of the inner lining of Italian caskets which was a bad omen to him.

Little tid-bits like this made the tour for me. It's a bit pricey (welcome to Australia) but a must do. The views of the harbor are fantastic. It's sweet to see the performance halls (for those of us who won't make a performance). And the videos on the process of selecting and making this architecturally unusual place are interesting.

The biggest drawback here was the tours lack of organization. Perhaps it's because it was Jan 1st, the day after the huge New Year's event. We arrived for an 11:30am tour (early, as we were told to) and by 11:30am there still were folks for the 11:15 waiting with no one truly directing us. Our tour started about 15 minutes late (after the requisite photos taken by the staff, photos which cost $40AUD). Not a huge deal, of course, but a bit off-putting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worthwhile doing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I haven't set foot inside the Opera House since I was a child! Am so glad we decided to do the 1 hour tour .. it was so interesting and beautiful to see .. we were also lucky enough to be in the main concert hall when the pianist was tuning the piano so could hear the acoustics .. Our guide was lovely and entertaining ... highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“World Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're in Sydney, you must take a tour of the Sydney Opera House and see the incredible views from inside not just the beautiful outside. Better yet, see a show!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.