We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tour of an Opera House any good ? It was Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Bennelong Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9250 7111
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$29*
and up
Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 548 things to do in Sydney
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon’s ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can’t experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour!Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English. Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French and German tours are also available.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A tour of an Opera House any good ? It was Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I wasn't particularly looking forward to this tour but loved it ! It took about 1 hour. It was fantastic to see the various halls and learn a little about it's history. The tour guide was enthusiastic and informative. We took a picnic with us and ate in the Botanical Gardens. A lovely day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,027
    1,536
    372
    70
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Iconic Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Sydney and the Opera House go together. Our schedule did not allow us to take a tour, but we thoroughly enjoyed walking around the outside, taking pictures and briefly walking through the lobby. A must-see for anyone visiting Sydney.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What I Learned From the Sydney Opera House Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Performances here wait for no man....or President. If you're late, you don't get in until intermission.

Luciano Pavarotti refused to perform in the main hall because the dark purple carpeting reminded him of the inner lining of Italian caskets which was a bad omen to him.

Little tid-bits like this made the tour for me. It's a bit pricey (welcome to Australia) but a must do. The views of the harbor are fantastic. It's sweet to see the performance halls (for those of us who won't make a performance). And the videos on the process of selecting and making this architecturally unusual place are interesting.

The biggest drawback here was the tours lack of organization. Perhaps it's because it was Jan 1st, the day after the huge New Year's event. We arrived for an 11:30am tour (early, as we were told to) and by 11:30am there still were folks for the 11:15 waiting with no one truly directing us. Our tour started about 15 minutes late (after the requisite photos taken by the staff, photos which cost $40AUD). Not a huge deal, of course, but a bit off-putting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthwhile doing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I haven't set foot inside the Opera House since I was a child! Am so glad we decided to do the 1 hour tour .. it was so interesting and beautiful to see .. we were also lucky enough to be in the main concert hall when the pianist was tuning the piano so could hear the acoustics .. Our guide was lovely and entertaining ... highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you're in Sydney, you must take a tour of the Sydney Opera House and see the incredible views from inside not just the beautiful outside. Better yet, see a show!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.