We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff and free wifi too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Library of New South Wales

State Library of New South Wales
Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
61 2 9273 1414
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #44 of 239 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff and free wifi too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

On my recent visit back to Australia I decided to explore further an ancestor with connections to 19th century military in Tasmania. The staff at the State Library could not have been more helpful to this visitor. And the air conditioning is excellent while the wifi is free. I have visited on nearly all my visits to the city and I see the cafe (a good one) has expanded at the expense of what was an excellent bookshop: a sign of the times, perhaps.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Not just a library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Decided to take the free guided tour out of curiosity. Libraries are usually quiet places this bucks the trend it encourages technology and has a floor dedicated to the use of laptops with free wi- fi and plenty of power outlets. The library consists of two parts old and new. The marble in the old section is all Australian and the wood carving intricate. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and proud of this lovely building and all the treasures it holds. Also has exhibitions which are changed on a regular basis. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Books and much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The State Library of New South Wales. It is located on Macquarie St. (One of the many main streets in Australia names Macquarie, after the colonial Governor of New South Wales.). It is the oldest library in Australia and was built in 1826. When I was there they had a great fashion photography exhibit, but if you are walking by, just pop in and see the grand splendor of the building. For more info an photos of Sydney go to http://travelwellflysafe.com/2013/11/17/things-i-have-learned-in-sydney-australia/

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
서울특별시, 대한민국
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fashion exhibition - special one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was on my way to St. Mary's Cathedral and I found this public library. There is on going exhibition regarding fashion. That was great and full of fashion and models' life from the birth of fashion, in Europe. I could also look at the first feminism through the fashion work. very interesting and wonderful world that I had never thought.. This library seems hold some free at the same time wonderful exhibition from time to time. I loved the words at the entrance, on my left side wall.... anyway, to have a look at the place where people read books is quite interesting to.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Must do for locals and tourists alike !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited with kids (9-11 yo). This place is fantastic ! Free quided tours daily at 10.30 am, which was most informative and visually impressive. Great collection of books, rich history , wonderful overall atmosphere. The tour was great for adults , a little too complex for younger kids. There are computers with free wifi at the coffee shop. The current exhibition on Sydney's homeless in the foyer,so beautifully done!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Library of New South Wales also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to State Library of New South Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Library of New South Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.