We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Apartment in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The York by Swiss-Belhotel to your Saves list
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #56 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Spacious Apartment in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a one night stopover here before heading back home. Spacious apartment with all the facilities one could need and a balcony (overlooking the road). Nicely clean and well furnished, room better than the state of the corridors indicated. Friendly and helpful staff on reception.

Room Tip: The lifts can get a bit busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    201
    63
    28
    13
See reviews for
129
149
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The apartments here are huge! They are definitely places that you can really live in when you're away so perfect if you want to save some money and cook during your stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also good and very large. It was a shame that in the lounge of our two-bedrom apartment that we only had a two-seater sofa and an armchair when the apartment was meant to sleep four people and there was definitely room for another chair or sofa, it actually felt a bit sparse without it. The pool was nice but quite chilly, you're best going in the afternoon when the sun's on it. The apartment has a washing machine and dryer which is great but both were a bit old and falling apart. All in all we would definitely return, it would just be nice if the updated apartments were updated again in some areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were impressed with our spacious apartment on the 22nd floor for the five of us - 3 bedrooms, large living, dining, two bathrooms, laundry, full kitchen and two balconies with good sun and views. There is a pool, spa and gym on the 5th floor. Personel were friendly and efficient and the apartment was well situated for both Circular Quay - 15 mins walk, or Darling harbour -20 mins walk. The hotel was quiet, the beds comfortable, staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, and it was clean and well stocked. There is a supermarket 5 mins away as well as bus and train and plenty of cafes handy for eating out.
We stayed two nights prior to a cruise and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay again for four nights on our return. This time we were in two separate smaller apartments but both were excellent and well worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and your and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived from our 21 hour flight in a woozy state to be greeted by friendly staff in a clean and inviting atrium. Check-in was efficient and helpful. I was amazed at the lovely, large, spotless, deluxe-studio (newly renovated) apartment type accommodations with a fantastic view of the city from our private balcony overlooking Wynyard park from near Jamison street. The studios are sort of on the ends. We enjoyed eating our breakfast with a view on the balcony each morning, and the lovely fresh breezes into our room. I think we were on the 11th or 13th floor - yes they have a 13th floor in Australia! I usually ask for higher up.

The apartment was large with a bedroom area including a large comfy bed, closet space, desk, bedside table with clock, etc., separated from a sitting/diningroom area by a short wall. This was great since one could watch TV at night without bothering someone sleeping too much. There was a flat screen TV with a DVD player, a phone, Ipod dock I believe though didn't use it. The wifi strength and consistency was excellent with a router in the room.

The full kitchen which we did use for breakfast making, included a dishwasher: a special treat that seems to be common in many Australian accommodations. The floor staff was very helpful in finding me a few extra utensils I needed for cooking.

The bathroom was modern and spacious with a large shower. My favourite feature was the washer/dryer: so nice to have clean clothes!
A daily newspaper and maid service were included. A closet held a small safe large enough for my netbook and any other valuables.

Being new to the city and a bit tired on our first day, it was great to be able to eat at the handy Japanese Noodle Bar restaurant in the adjacent part of the building on the ground floor. The servings are very large by our standards, so two could easily split a large bowl of noodles and veggies.

The location of The York is ideal to accessing Wynyard station for trains and buses, or Coles grocery store in the lower subway level via the park entrance, or for walking distance to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, the Rocks or the Botanical Gardens. There was also a friendly church to attend right across the street: St. Philips. We found purchasing the MyMultipass 3 for the week and excellent deal for using all modes of transportation at a very reasonable price. Taking the train to and from the airport was the quickest and most economical option.

Room prices at The York seem to vary, but I happened to get some pretty good rates by booking well in advance through Expedia.ca. We felt it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe studios that are newly renovated, higher up is nicer for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The York. Great two bedroom apartment that allowed plenty of room for the kids to relax.

Prime location to the Wynyard train station so anywhere is near by.

Great service from staff.

Thanks for the great 5 nights.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Recently stayed in a 1 bedroom executive on the 13th floor and were most impressed with the size and level of comfort. Daily housekeeping was fantastic at keeping the apartment spotless and restocking the kitchen and bathroom and reception staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The location is perfect for shopping, business or sightseeing as the CBD is an easy stroll in one direction and the Rocks historic area, Opera House, Bridge and Circular Quay a 10 minute stroll in the other direction. The train station is literally a 1 minute walk to connect you to the rest of Sydney and its suburbs. There are many great restaurants and cafes in the vicinity to suit all budgets. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the York many times over the years we were not disappointed at all. I must admit having read some of the reviews I was wondering if we were actually in the same apartments as those being reviewed.
On our arrival the reception staff were quick and efficient and allocated us a deluxe one bedroom apartment on the seventh floor. The apartment faced out towards the old church and harbour and was one of the larger ones. Kitchen had everything required, plenty of utensils, plates etc. there was a large four seater dining table adjacent the kitchen units and in the corner a good sized writing desk, very handy for working on the computer. The living area was a good size with Settee and two arm chairs and a decent TV with satellite programs.
There was a separate room for the toilet and another for the shower, bath and laundry.
The bedroom was large with plenty of storage space and a safe.
Pool area was good and included a large spa and sauna.
The apartments were clean and serviced daily.
Finally location - next to Wynyard station for transport plus supermarkets in the station. Easy access to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House and Darling Harbour.
Will I return - yes and have done many times.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Greetings Maxim3m,

We appreciate your continuous support, being a regular guest of ours we definitely look forward to each of your stays.
As you may know, we have multiple room types available hence the experience of the stay is always enhanced with our Deluxe refurbished apartments.
The process of refurbishing our Standard type apartments is gradually bringing the quantity of Deluxe apartments up.

Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street, it does make the day more productive.

We look forward to your future stays in our serviced apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York by Swiss-Belhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.