We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The York by Swiss-Belhotel to your Saves list
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for days. Nice hotel, helpful staff, clean and the apartment was spacious. WIFI was reasonably priced compared to Melbourne hotel. But WIFI was very slow and we could not have more than one device on it at a time. Which was very inconvenient. Close to the Rocks and easy to locate from other parts of Sydney. For breakfast you had to go to the Travel lodge next door. Their full breakfast at $25 pp. Was terrible. Under cooked sausages and running scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast at the Travel Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear JimmyJackk,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    218
    68
    29
    13
See reviews for
137
167
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Convenient CBD location. Very large rooms with useful kitchen and laundry facilities. Be aware that the hotel is apparently built directly on top of the underground railway line so there is some train noise from early in the morning (about 4.45am).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Philip B,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your time at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you made use of the facilities in the apartment and found our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can accept that a hotel might feel tired and worn but I can't accept a dirty apartment. There was rubbish behind one of the units in the bedroom, a cigarette stub on the balcony and I had the joy of finding someone else's tissue in the complimentary bath robes. Not nice and not acceptable. Stayed for 4 nights so plenty of opportunity to put right but nothing was done. I'm sure you can get cheaper and cleaner in Sydney.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Heather D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the high levels of service that you have come to expect. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with all the team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

To discuss these matters further please contact Christie Love on 02 9210 5000 or email on restysb@swiss-belhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Reviews indicated we would enjoy this hotel, but except for it's excellent location, we found it old and tired, with no services (even the coffee in the foyer cost $2.00). Our room was not very clean with a lot of dust and worn, stained furniture. We would not stay here again. However, the desk staff was always friendly and helpful and we did appreciate their consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear RayDar2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will one day return to The York by Swiss-Belhotel and give us the opportunity to show you that we really can be exceptional in every sense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatemansBay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The York has excellent staff and the location is terrific.
The whole city was booked out for the Fleet Review, the Grand Final and a concert for a boy band. Saturday was $450 & Sunday $300. The York was not the only accommodation to hoist up its rates for this special weekend. Supply and demand.
The room was well appointed and you could cook and do laundry in it. There was noise from adjoining apartments but not enough to keep you awake. Just a few thumps and bumps.
Very handy to the Circular Quay sights, Harbour Bridge and Opera House as well as Wynyard Train station.

Room Tip: Book early, months ahead, and you might get better value for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear longbich,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on your stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is only through comments and recognition such as yours that motivate our team to continually exceed our guest’s expectations in customer service.

We look forwawrd to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spacious, well located, noisy, a bit dirty, pricy
For this price $230 I wouldn’t go back at all

Big apartment, in a very convenient location (Wynyard train station) to visit Sydney CBD

Not very well clean, and the balcony was cover in dirt
There no sound isolation and in a very busy street so it’s very noisy even in the high levels

One tip, ignore the breakfast they provide (for $12) it’s joke and the price is ridiculous for what they give you, either go to the hotel next to it, Starbucks or to the supermarket in Wynyard

Room Tip: very noisy even on high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent value for money and very nice apartment. Perfect for work or leisure. The staff were most accommodating. Great location only short walk to Circular Quay or The King St Wharf/Darling Harbour. Suitable for families. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York by Swiss-Belhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.