We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The York by Swiss-Belhotel to your Saves list
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

stayed three nights, one bedroom and was upgraded (lucky) to deluxe and ended up with balcony facing the harbour bridge entrance - great place to stay - good apartments with supermarket close by (ask where it is as it is underground close by at the railway station); very comfortable and great for business - you can have a small business meeting in the room. Front of desk staff not so good - too inexperienced but that's ok, just do not ask for much. One group was being provided with directions and were told to go to the showground but were being told the directions to olympic park - which is west while the showground is east - all while I was waiting and waiting and waiting to check out!!! young staff chatting to other young people about concerts etc - but alas while been given wrong directions. BUT - the York is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: get a view! and a balcony as it is worth it to sit outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear rust-never-sleeps

Your feedback has been passed onto the housefront office department heads who have reviewed your comments with the relevant staff members.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    230
    71
    30
    13
See reviews for
141
176
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Unfortunately I emailed the hotel twice since returning home to share our experience but I have not received a response. We had a two bedroom refurbished executive suite. I specifcally enquired about the refurbished part prior to our trip as the pics looked dated and not all reviews were great, i was assured that these rooms were refurbished. When we walked in the room there was a huge stain on the carpet and the carpet was stained and very worn thru out, the carpet was wet and stained in the den. The whole unit had a strange smell to it and although it was supposed to be non smokong there were cigarette burns on the bathroom sink. The windows were very old and hard to open, the appliances were old and tempermental, especially the washer and dryer! Housekeeping was average at best.I asked for a late check out on the last day and was given until 10:30 (late check out????) This was the tail end of a three week vacation thru out NZ and Australia and quite a disappointment. I wish the hotel had the courtesy to respond to my concerns

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the York for 10 nights. We had a studio with a corner balcony. The unit had a nice kitchen and a washer and dryer. The unit was attractive. There is also a pool with a hot tub, sauna and a gym. The location was perfect for our stay. It is one block from the Wynard train stop, 2-3 blocks to many bus stops, 5 -6 blocks to the Circular Quay and within walking distance to all major attractions. The desk staff were very courteous and most helpful. We only had two issues with the room. The hot water was so hot it burned us if we were not careful. They have free WiFi in the lobby but charge $12/day for WiFi service in the room. In today's environment that charge seems a bit chintzy, when most hotels provide that service free. Still we recommend the York for an extended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear bcstauffer,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Sydney soon at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was great, easy check in, and
Helpful staff
Our room was larger then expected and the balcony's were too. The most important thing to me about choosing a good hotel is The kitchen. The York has the best kitchen then any hotel I've ever been in! It was fully equipped, full size fridge, a normal house hold-sized sink and it's spacious! This place is also much cheaper then other hotels when booked for 2+ nights. I am yet to Try out the gym or swimming pool but I am staying here again this week, this hotel is in the top of my list , just above Fraser's Hotel Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear stephanie y,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back in Sydney soon at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place may not be as new as some but it is so very spacious and comfortable who cares! We stayed for 4 nights and the location is fantastic, so close to trains, buses, ferries and walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and so much more. The big balconies were great as was the large kitchen and lounge/dining areas. Staff were lovely and helpful too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

Thank you for your feedback.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel prides ourselves on our helpful staff.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sechelt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Not fancy but clean and a great place to stay in downtown Sydney. Nice big Rooms and very well equipped. Liked the easy access to the bridge and the harbour. Lots of places to eat nearby. Was great having a washer and dryer in the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear tedted92,

Thank you for your feedback.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel prides ourselves on our helpful staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise from the international cruise terminal. This establishment was a surprise in more ways than one.

The size of the rooms was far beyond what we were expecting and contained not only the bed (of course), but also a lounge suite and a fully fitted out kitchen, making it an apartment rather than the expected hotel room.

The location was perfect for our needs, being midway between the central shopping district of the city, and the cruise terminal, and Darling Harbour. Easy walking distance, no more than 5 to 10 minutes to each.

Check-in and check-out were performed very quickly and efficiently.

The only downside is that the food on offer is a bit on the dear side. and example is the in-room breakfast deal at $12 for one person, and only one is supplied. The on-site restaurant cannot be comented on as we didn't use it.

Overall though, a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York by Swiss-Belhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.