We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Save Saved
You added The York by Swiss-Belhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the York for 10 nights. We had a studio with a corner balcony. The unit had a nice kitchen and a washer and dryer. The unit was attractive. There is also a pool with a hot tub, sauna and a gym. The location was perfect for our stay. It is one block from the Wynard train stop, 2-3 blocks to many bus stops, 5 -6 blocks to the Circular Quay and within walking distance to all major attractions. The desk staff were very courteous and most helpful. We only had two issues with the room. The hot water was so hot it burned us if we were not careful. They have free WiFi in the lobby but charge $12/day for WiFi service in the room. In today's environment that charge seems a bit chintzy, when most hotels provide that service free. Still we recommend the York for an extended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear bcstauffer,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in Sydney soon at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    185
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
118
135
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great, easy check in, and
Helpful staff
Our room was larger then expected and the balcony's were too. The most important thing to me about choosing a good hotel is The kitchen. The York has the best kitchen then any hotel I've ever been in! It was fully equipped, full size fridge, a normal house hold-sized sink and it's spacious! This place is also much cheaper then other hotels when booked for 2+ nights. I am yet to Try out the gym or swimming pool but I am staying here again this week, this hotel is in the top of my list , just above Fraser's Hotel Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear stephanie y,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you back in Sydney soon at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place may not be as new as some but it is so very spacious and comfortable who cares! We stayed for 4 nights and the location is fantastic, so close to trains, buses, ferries and walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and so much more. The big balconies were great as was the large kitchen and lounge/dining areas. Staff were lovely and helpful too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sandy B,

Thank you for your feedback.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel prides ourselves on our helpful staff.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sechelt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Not fancy but clean and a great place to stay in downtown Sydney. Nice big Rooms and very well equipped. Liked the easy access to the bridge and the harbour. Lots of places to eat nearby. Was great having a washer and dryer in the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear tedted92,

Thank you for your feedback.

The York by Swiss-Belhotel prides ourselves on our helpful staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to a cruise from the international cruise terminal. This establishment was a surprise in more ways than one.

The size of the rooms was far beyond what we were expecting and contained not only the bed (of course), but also a lounge suite and a fully fitted out kitchen, making it an apartment rather than the expected hotel room.

The location was perfect for our needs, being midway between the central shopping district of the city, and the cruise terminal, and Darling Harbour. Easy walking distance, no more than 5 to 10 minutes to each.

Check-in and check-out were performed very quickly and efficiently.

The only downside is that the food on offer is a bit on the dear side. and example is the in-room breakfast deal at $12 for one person, and only one is supplied. The on-site restaurant cannot be comented on as we didn't use it.

Overall though, a very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Chris L,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We could reach most of the city attractions from this hotel. Our apartment was on the 11th floor with a nice view. We didn't bother much about the terrace because we didn't have time to sit and hear to the traffic noise, so we kept the door to the terrace closed most of the time. However, it was nice to get some air to refresh the apartment which smelled not so nice whenever we come back to after the A/C was turned off... There was a strange smell there. There were two TV's and vcr and DVD player.

The furniture is old, and shabby, needs to be changed and/or maintained! The carpeting is totally worn out and should be replaced and in the entrance area it would be better with tiles like in the kitchen.

The staff were helpful and friendly and we won't complain about that but there was much hair on the floor of the bathroom and the kitchen when we arrived!

The internet connection was TOO expensive!... in such a hotel I would expect some free internet connection or at least discounted amount of connection.

The dryer doesn't condensate the water drying but sends it out in the bathroom so it felt like steambath in the bathroom with water running down the walls! we told them about that.

The reception told us they were about to start reneovating and it's about time!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We like to stay at the York in Sydney. It's central and provides us with a good base for regrouping after travelling to visit relative in different parts of Australia. It provides in-suite laundry and a well equipt kitchen. The City Rail (trains to airport) is close at hand and it's a short walk to The Rocks and Circular Quay (ferries, Opera House). The rooms have a balcony with table and chairs and the hotel has a very nice pool. Not the choice for those who like luxury. We must comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the Housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York by Swiss-Belhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.