We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The York by Swiss-Belhotel to your Saves list
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent only 1 night at the York and found the rooms comfortable, clean and spacious. However, the road noise is almost at the point of being unbearable.

This might just be a downside to being in an inner city location (which is really very handy) but some double glazing on the windows might be in order. Additionally, I could also hear people in the corridor so felt the walls were quite thin.

So, would I stay here again? If it was a long stay, maybe. However, I feel that there are quieter options in Sydney that have the same facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Sarah_Jane,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel and apologise for the issues you experienced with noise. It is great to read that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We do hope you will choose to stay with The York by Swiss-Belhotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    230
    72
    30
    13
See reviews for
141
176
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have stayed at the The York for work a couple of times now. Rooms are large and clean. I find the inclusion of an ancient stereo in the room to be a bit odd. Showers are good. On my last stay I found the room to be very noisy. Nearest useful shop for getting provisions seems to be Coles in Wynyard Park so not too far. Walking distance to everything you want in Sydney CBD, and ferries/trains very close as well for those longer trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Mandnontour,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel and apologise for the issues you experienced with noise. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and suited your needs and found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We do hope you will choose to stay with The York by Swiss-Belhotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Have just got home from a stay at the York. A spacious apartment with excellent facilities and helpful staff. Balcony view was stunning by day and spectacular by night. A good location, about $14.00 by taxi to Darling Harbour, Convention Centre, Paddy's Market and China Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces entrance to Harbour Bridge, 18th floor had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear 789maria,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. It is great to read that you found your apartment to be spacious and suited your needs and found the location of our hotel to be convenient. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in July with the family (2 adults, 2 kids) in a two-bedroom apartment. We were OK overall with our stay, but there's lots of room for improvement.

On the plus side, the location is fantastic. Seven or eight minutes walk from Circular Quay, the Bridge and the Opera House. Very close to the CBD and shopping areas, and only a minute's walk from Wynyard Station (with trains direct to the airport). You can't ask for more. The rooms were very spacious and the only equipment we missed was a kettle. We were also impressed that the room was fully serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced etc) - in our experience, this is not normal in an apartment-hotel like this one.

Our experience of the staff was mixed. Checkin and checkout staff were excellent - friendly, efficient and professional - and the concierge was very helpful. For most of the rest of the time, the staff behind reception didn't even ackowledge us as we walked past. Similarly the standard of cleaning was mixed - for some reason the apartment was spotless on weekdays but not so at weekends.

On the negative side, the biggest gripe (and it was a big one!) was the complete lack of soundproofing. The roar of traffic from the roads below was quite unbelievable, even though we were on the twenty-somethingth floor, and it continued throughout the night. Other reviewers have mentioned this and said it's not the hotel's fault. Sure, but our room was single-glazed, something I thought had died out in the '80s. If this hotel has any pretensions of grandeur, it needs to address this issue a.s.a.p. Other niggles - the washing machine and dryer turned the bathroom into a steam room, there was no central heating or air conditioning (the main rooms had big old-fashioned rattly machines hanging from the ceiling to do this), and there was a notice in the kitchen asking you to open the balcony door when cooking to avoid activating the fire alarm (Really? Come on...).

Other than the road noise, which was unacceptable, the other niggles are minor and would not be a big deal in an average-quality, average-price hotel. But this place is not cheap. For my money, I expected more. Given the enviable location, if this hotel invested in a refurbishment (that included central heating / cooling and double-glazing all round), it could be an absolute winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear ChristOnATrip,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is disappointing to read of the issues you had with the reception and housekeeping and these comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads and staff members. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck Key, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is not a normal hotel, but rather apartments for rent. We found the location to be perfect for walking around Sydeny. The rooms were very clean, the staff friendly and the view from the room spectatular. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent the weekend in city for a girls weekend away and the hotel was fantastic for our needs!
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, huge lounge area, outdoor settings, kitchen. Very nice city views and walking distance to the rocks


Loved it will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We look foward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Plenty of space in the living area and all the usual mod-cons (washing machine, dryer, dish washer, etc) but the hotel is in need of a little TLC. It looks like it is in the process of being refurbished and the room we had would have benefited a picture or two so it didn't look so spartan. Can't complain about the service - the staff were friendly and very helpful and the location is great ie a short walk from the Rocks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York by Swiss-Belhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.