We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

A very clean room. Typical 3 star- no frills bathroom, no minibar and so on. Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean. Breakfast was reasonably priced with a variety of foods on offer. However the hot food reminded me of school camp breakfasts. Tinned spaghetti with the bacon and scrambled eggs - bland and boring! Also, tinned pineapple offered as seasonal fruit! ( no, it is tinned pineapple, as seasonal fruit is fresh fruit). Check in and out was efficient and cheerful. Overall, this hotel met my needs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was delighted to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be clean and comfortable and that we met your needs for your stay.
Thank you also for your comments in regards to the breakfast buffet, we too believe it is great value for money for the variety we offer on the buffet.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    926
    521
    158
    91
See reviews for
348
699
269
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Comfortable,clean accommodation, excellent value for money. Decent breakfast buffet. Good location. Quiet corner. Nice staff, busy reception but very efficiently handled at all times. Parking close by, not cheap but average for the city. Wifi extra.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was delighted to read that you found Travelodge Sydney to be excellent value for money, with clean and comfortable rooms. I was also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast we have to offer and that you found the team to be helpful during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have mixed feelings about my stay here. Sydney is expensive and so you do get what you can pay for or in this case what you can afford. We stayed in a triple room and on arrival, after a huge wait in line at reception, we were sent to this tiny room. It had three beds so close we could barely stand up between them, let alone put any luggage anywhere. Then we discovered the air con was not working. We rang reception and full credit within second maintenance came up. They agreed it was not working so moved us to another room. Another triple, this time with more space and a better feel about the room. Still a very basic hotel, a good location, a long queue to check out as well, but a comfortable and quiet nights sleep so that was a big plus. The biggest let down was the cleaning, they need to get new cleaners. The bathrooms are pretty disgusting, surface cleaning only seems to happen. Years of dust on the floor tiles and rub you finger anywhere and it will be black. Both rooms were the same. So as I say, mixed feelings. Wouldn't risk a triple again. But did sleep, so that's a plus.

Room Tip: Be very clear what you want when you email so you get the right sized room for your group. Allow ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I agree that Sydney is an expensive place; however I am proud that you found Travelodge Sydney to be good value for money. I’m sorry to hear that your air conditioner was not working to its full potential; however I am pleased that we were able to move you quickly once you alerted us to the problem.
Please accept my sincere apology that the cleanliness was not up to the standard that we strive to achieve, please be assured that I will pass your feedback onto the team.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and the front desk personnel are really efficient and cordial. I felt a little like I was staying in a dorm room however. The room was a bit small for two suitcases to be open and to walk around. That is not necessarily a bad thing; we are just used to staying in more upscale digs. However, the bottom line is that the price is right for this hotel in this very expensive city. We didn't ever eat at the hotel, so I can't give any information with regard to that. I would recommend this hotel with the caveat that don't expect anything but bare bones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be efficient and friendly during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A nice, very clean hotel within walking distances to most tourist attractions. Stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our time in Sydney. 5 minute walk to train station and around 15 to the opera house. Arrived early and they managed to check us in no problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be nice, clean and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a short stay of 3 nights here and it was great. Close to everything. The counter staff knew about everything we asked them. Rooms are clean and renovated. All amenities available in the room which was perfect! The only little hiccup was the taxi they had called to take us to the airport, took a lot longer than expected and we almost missed our flight :( but we made it. Hotel is nice and good location. Will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be in a great location for exploring Sydney, I am sorry that the taxi that we called didn’t arrive on time.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful with directions and any questions you had.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights prior to taking a 14 night cruise out of Sydney. Stayed in Sydney to visit family and to do a little sightseeing. Hotel is in a good location, just down the block from Hyde park and Oxford St which has allot of restaurants and cafes. About a 25-30 min walk to the Opera House / Circular Quay. Hotel was clean. Staff was very helpful. Room was a bit small, but served it's purpose for the amount of time I spent here. WiFi and breakfast are WAY overpriced at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.