We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location; nice accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Augusta, GA
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 223 cities Reviews in 223 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Excellent location; nice accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and the front desk personnel are really efficient and cordial. I felt a little like I was staying in a dorm room however. The room was a bit small for two suitcases to be open and to walk around. That is not necessarily a bad thing; we are just used to staying in more upscale digs. However, the bottom line is that the price is right for this hotel in this very expensive city. We didn't ever eat at the hotel, so I can't give any information with regard to that. I would recommend this hotel with the caveat that don't expect anything but bare bones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be efficient and friendly during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    1,064
    607
    198
    108
See reviews for
417
814
322
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A nice, very clean hotel within walking distances to most tourist attractions. Stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed our time in Sydney. 5 minute walk to train station and around 15 to the opera house. Arrived early and they managed to check us in no problem.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be nice, clean and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a short stay of 3 nights here and it was great. Close to everything. The counter staff knew about everything we asked them. Rooms are clean and renovated. All amenities available in the room which was perfect! The only little hiccup was the taxi they had called to take us to the airport, took a lot longer than expected and we almost missed our flight :( but we made it. Hotel is nice and good location. Will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be in a great location for exploring Sydney, I am sorry that the taxi that we called didn’t arrive on time.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful with directions and any questions you had.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights prior to taking a 14 night cruise out of Sydney. Stayed in Sydney to visit family and to do a little sightseeing. Hotel is in a good location, just down the block from Hyde park and Oxford St which has allot of restaurants and cafes. About a 25-30 min walk to the Opera House / Circular Quay. Hotel was clean. Staff was very helpful. Room was a bit small, but served it's purpose for the amount of time I spent here. WiFi and breakfast are WAY overpriced at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked a total of 4 rooms for our recent stay. The price per night here was the most reasonable we could find for our particular dates. We have also stayed at Travelodge Wynyard.
The hotel itself is clean, well maintained and located close to all the things you would want to walk to in the city OR there is Museum Train Station about a 3 minute walk from the hotel making this an ideal place to base yourself. World Square shopping centre is a short stroll so to are many places to eat and a large IGA in Oxford street. We walked to Darling Harbour, China Town, George street as far as Westfield shopping centre. You could walk to Circular Quay etc but the short train trip is worth the couple of dollars. Basically most things including the Museum, Hyde park etc are walking distance.
As for the rooms all had good quality linen, and everything was clean and comfortable. There is a microwave which is a bonus as not many hotels have this. Tea, coffee, fridge, kettle are all clean and functioning. The bathroom is not large however plenty of hot water, and a corner shower with a shower curtain that does allow for a bit of water to escape onto the floor. Shampoo, conditioner, soap, shower cap are provided but the size of the shampoo and conditioner is only adequate for one person. Some of us had the buffet breakfast which is cheaper if you pay on arrival OR make your booking via the website on a tuesday where you pay for one and get one free.
We booked via an online booking agent as we had a discount voucher to use. I suggest checking prices both direct and with online agents when considering staying here. Overall we would stay here again or at the Travelodge Wynyard as I also liked the location. After we booked with an online agent I phoned the hotel and asked for our rooms to be on the same floor. Staff happily obliged.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be great value for money, clean, well maintained and in great location for exploring Sydney and that you appreciated the facilities that the rooms have to offer.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Arrived very early in the morning but couldn't get into the room until 2p.m so had to go for a walk. The reception were very helpful and quite quick with dealing with any queries. The room was clean and we were surprised at the facilities on offer. Everything except the kitchen sink. There was even a safe which was free! The view from the room wasn't up to much, but we didn't mind as we were only there for 4days. We went room only but you can buy breakfast from the restaurant in the morning. The walk to Circular Key takes about 25mins. But once down there you can catch the boats to all the main attractions. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be in great location for exploring Sydney and that you appreciated the facilities that the rooms have to offer.
I am delighted that you found the team to be helpful during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel is not flash, but it is very clean and quiet. We had a twin room wiith comfortable beds/pillows, clean bathroom and quiet airconditioner. Reception was efficient and helpful with check-in and check-out. Note, as storing bags in the morning is very popular, make sure you have something bright to identify your bag, as it took us a while to locate our bags when the airbus arrived to pick us up. The hotel is located on Wentworth Avenue. It is within walking distance of Belmore Park, Hyde Park, Capitol Theatre, Market City (Paddy's Markets), China Town, Pitt Street Mall, train station and is between stops 3-and-4 for the Hop-on Hop-off bus. We did not dine in the in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at Travelodge.
I was pleased that you found the hotel to be clean, queit and in a great location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be efficient and helpful during your stay, the team and I pride ourselves on customer service so I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.